Finding Aids: PVAMU Special Collections and Archives : The Marion Henry Research Reports Collection

Creator: Marion Henry

Title of Collection: The Marion Henry Research Reports Collection

Dates: 1983-2011

Extent: 12.50 Linear Feet (12 boxes)

Abstract: Marion Henry served PVAMU in many capacities since joining the staff in 1956. The collection consists of his Master Seminar Class Research Reports only.

Biographical Note: 

Marion Henry served PVAMU in many capacities since joining the staff in 1956, including as athletic director. Born on March 23, 1927, to Dewey Henry and Mary Lee Benson in Dallas, Texas, he earned his bachelor’s degree from Southern University and A&M College, and he completed his master’s degree at Bradley University. He also earned a Ph.D. from Syracuse University. Among memberships in many organizations, Henry was a proud member of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. for 62 years.

Marion Henry married Mary Delores Grant in New Orleans, Louisiana in October 1953, and he was affiliated with the PVAMU athletic department for over 46 years. In the early 1960s, he served as the athletic motion picture photographer in the filming of the school's only NAIA title game appearance against St. John's in Sacramento, California, and he also served as the public announcer and chief finish judge for track and field events. He was athletic director from 1972 to 1983 and twice won the honor of Southwestern Athletic Conference Athletic Director of the Year. He also served on various NCAA and SWAC committees, including the SWAC's 75th Anniversary Planning Committee in 1995. Some of his most significant accomplishments during his tenure included negotiating the current State Fair Classic with Grambling State, renovating the Blackshear Field press box and concession stand, chairing the first NCAA college football doubleheader at Rice Stadium, and organizing the first college basketball doubleheader at the Houston Summit.

Henry was also a powerful influence on the Whitlowe R. Green College of Education. He was Director of the Learning Resource Center, head of the department of curriculum, and head of educational media and technology. In 2011, he was selected as a member of the inaugural class of the Chancellor’s Academy of Teacher Educators, a Texas A&M University System initiative acknowledging teaching excellence.

Indeed, his impact was felt by every student who crossed the stage at graduation. He served as Chairman of the Commencement Committee for more than 50 years, even serving as the Commencement Marshall for nearly three decades. He told 1876 magazine that one of his greatest honors was helping develop the University Mace, Medallion, and Podium in 1983. In 1995, Henry was honored with a street bearing his name, Marion Henry Drive, which runs alongside the famed William “Billy” J. Nicks, Sr. Fieldhouse and leads to the football stadium, Blackshear Field. He was also inducted into the Southwestern Athletic Conference Hall-of-Fame. Marion Henry died on June 3, 2012, and he was buried in Prairie View Memorial Gardens Cemetery.

Marion Henry Research Reports: Henry taught the College of Education’s Master’s Seminar course, which required students to write a research report to complete their degree program.

Sources: none.

Arrangement: The collection is arranged in chronological order by publication date.

Identification: MSS0002

Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University

compiled by Sabrina Francis & Evelyn Davis, June 2024