Finding Aids: PVAMU Special Collections and Archives : William Cullen David Papers

The William Cullen David Papers document his work in the Cooperative Extension Service in Texas from 1943-1951. The collection contains meeting minutes, agricultural and crop reports, appointment books, and travel ledgers, but much of the collection is correspondence with agricultural extension agents.

Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.

Identification: UA 0008

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.

Language: English

Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University

Preferred Citation: William Cullen David Papers. UA 0008. Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.

4-H clubs—Texas

David, William Cullen,1896-1971

Farming –Texas

Agricultural extension work—Texas

Prairie View University. Agricultural Extension Service

Correspondence--1940-1950

Agricultural extension workers—Texas--20th Century

Series 1               Correspondence, 1943- 1951

Box       Folder

1             1             Correspondence, January 14- March 31, 1943

1             2             Correspondence, April 1- 29, 1943

1             3             Correspondence, May 5- 31, 1943

1             4             Correspondence, June 3- 18, 1943

1             5             Correspondence, April 14- 28, 1944

1             6             Correspondence, January 1-March 8, 1945

1             7             Correspondence, June 21-July 29, 1943

1             8             Correspondence, August 2- 31, 1943

1             9             Correspondence, September 1- October 8, 1943

1             10           Correspondence, October 11- October 30, 1943

1             11           Correspondence, November 2- December 28,1943

1             12           Correspondence, January 3-19, 1944

1             13           Correspondence, January 20-31,1944

1             14           Correspondence, February 1-29, 1944

1             15           Correspondence, March 1-31, 1944

1             16           Correspondence, April 1-12, 1944

1             17           Correspondence, May 4-27,1944

1             18           Correspondence, June 2-30, 1944

1             19           Correspondence, July 2-31,1944

1             20           Correspondence, August 1-31,1944

1             21           Correspondence, September 1- December 8, 1944

1             22           Correspondence, April 5-26,1945

1             23           Correspondence, May 2-21,1945

1             24           Correspondence, June 6-26, 1945

1             25           Correspondence, August 2-September 19,1945

1             26           Correspondence, November 2-December 27, 1945

1             27           Correspondence, October 4-30, 1945

1             28           Correspondence, January 3- April 24, 1946

1             29           Correspondence, May 3- June 22, 1946

1             30           Correspondence, July 9- August 23, 1946

1             31           Correspondence, September 4- December 10, 1946

1             32           Correspondence, December 11-December 31, 1946

1             33           Correspondence, January 1-9, 1947

1             34           Correspondence, January 10-18,1947

1             35           Correspondence, January 21-31, 1947

1             36           Correspondence, February 1-10,1947

1             37           Correspondence, February 11-19,1947

2             1             Correspondence, February 20-28, 1947

2             2             Correspondence, May 1-14, 1947

2             3             Correspondence, May 15-19, 1947

2            4            Correspondence, March 20-31, 1947

2            5            Correspondence, April 1-10, 1947

2            6            Correspondence, April 11-18, 1947

2            7            Correspondence, April 19-30, 1947

2            8            Correspondence, May 1-10, 1947

2            9            Correspondence, May 13-19, 1947     

2            10          Correspondence, May 20-31, 1947

2            11          Correspondence, June 2 –30, 1947

2            12          Correspondence, June 2-19, 1947

2            13          Correspondence, July 21-31, 1947

2            14          Correspondence, August 1-12, 1947

2            15          Correspondence, August 13-21, 1947

2            16          Correspondence, August 22-31, 1947

2            17          Correspondence, September 2-12, 1947

2            18          Correspondence, September 15-30, 1947

2            19          Correspondence, October 1-10, 1947

2            20          Correspondence, October 11-31, 1947

2            21          Correspondence, November 3-29, 1947

3           1             Correspondence, December 1-10, 1947 

3           2             Correspondence, December 11-31, 1947

3           3             Correspondence, January 2-15, 1948

3           4             Correspondence, January 16-31, 1948

3           5             Correspondence, February 2-28, 1948

3           6             Correspondence, March 1-15, 1948

3           7             Correspondence, March 16-31, 1948

3           8             Correspondence, April 1-30, 1948

3           9             Correspondence, May 3-14, 1948

3           10           Correspondence, May 18-20, 1948

3           11           Correspondence, May 2-31, 1948

3           12           Correspondence, June 1-10, 1948

3           13           Correspondence, June 1-30, 1948

3           14           Correspondence, July 1-21, 1948

3           15           Correspondence, July 13-31, 1948

3           16           Correspondence, August 1-13, 1948

3           17           Correspondence, August 7-10, 1948

3           18           Correspondence, August 11-31, 1948

3           19           Correspondence, September 14-20, 1948

3           20           Correspondence, September 21-30, 1948

3           21           Correspondence, October 1-13, 1948

3           22           Correspondence, October 14-30, 1948

3           23           Correspondence, November 1-10, 1948

3           24           Correspondence, November 11-19, 1948

3           25           Correspondence, November 22-30, 1948

3           26           Correspondence, December 1-15, 1948

3           27           Correspondence, January-December 1949

4           1             Correspondence, January 2-25, 1950

4           2             Correspondence, February 2-July 1, 1950

4           3             Correspondence, August 4-19, 1950

4           4             Correspondence, August 20-31, 1950

4           5             Correspondence, September 1-November 8, 1950

4           6             Correspondence, November 14-29, 1950

4           7             Correspondence, December1-7, 1950

4           8             Correspondence, December 8-24, 1950

4           9             Correspondence, January 3-31, 1951

4           10           Correspondence, February 3-13, 1951

4           11           Correspondence, February 17-26, 1951

4           12           Correspondence, March 1-21, 1951

4           13           Correspondence, March 22-29, 1951

4           14           Correspondence, April 3-25, 1951

4           15           Correspondence, April 26, 1951

4           16           Correspondence, April 27-May 4, 1951
 

Series 2               Cooperative Extension, 1940-1953

The cooperative extension series contains meeting minutes, memorandums, reports, agricultural and farm reports and publications, travel notes, and appointment books from the 1940s to 1950s.

Box        Folder

4           17           Turkey Steaks a New Meat Delicacy Progress report, 1947

4           18           Farmers Conference Week Tuskegee Institute, January 15, 1948

4           19           Instructions for Making Monthly Reports, February 25, 1948

4           20           4-H Club Conservation Camp Program, August 15-18, 1948

4           21           Letter with the County Agricultural List, October 22, 1948

4           22           Leave of Opal H. Washington, December 1-15, 1948

4           23           Success stories of Negro 4-H Club Boys & Girls, December 7, 1948

4           24           Annual Housing Conference, April 19-20, 1948

4           25           Succinct Statement on Negro Extension Work, 1948-49

4           26           Workshops About Extension Program Planning, 1948

4           27           Letter Relating to Houston Fat Stock Show, January 8, 1949

4           28           187th Series of Negro Extension Service Programs, July 14, 1949

4           29           National Vegetable Week and Suggestions for Promotions, August 11, 1949

4           30           Factory Inspection Labeling of Canned Fruits & Vegetables, 1949

4           31           Farm & Family Life on the Texas Negro Veteran, undated material

4           32           The Participation of Government Agencies in Nutrition Programs, 1949

4           33           Sweet Corn Variety Trials Progress Report, 1949-51

4           34           Yield & Chemical Composition of Crops Grown for Storage, 1949-51

4           35           Institute for Latin American Home Extension Workers, January 22, 1953

4           36           50th Anniversary of Country Agent System, January 22, 1953

4           37           50 Years of Extension Work gets Resolution, January 29, 1953

4           38           Farm Family at Mid Century, February 5, 1953

4           39           Governor Shivers Proclaims Farm Demonstration Day, February 12, 1953

4           40           Scholarship Award During Fiftieth Anniversary for Extension, February 12, 1953

4           41           First Farm Demonstration Held, March 12, 1953

4           42           Cotton Producers' Study of Present Planting, March 26, 1953

4           43           Anniversary of the Extension Method of Teaching, February 26, 1953

4           44           Farm Cooperatives Continue to Make Progress, February 26, 1953

4           45           Extension Recreation, February 26, 1953

4           46           Vegetables and Fruit Institute Release, February 26, 1953

4           47           Negro Expansion Field Agent Promoted to National Leader, September 7, 1953

4           48           50-year Farm Demonstration Field, 1953

4           49           Chemical Composition of Cotton Seed of Varieties Grown, 1953

5             1            Texas Agricultural Experiment Station, Cotton Report for the Blackland Experiment Station, College Station, Texas, 1953

5             2            Agricultural Experiment Station, Germination and Growth of bitterweed from seed matured on plants killed with herbicides, College Station, Texas, 1953

5             3            Agricultural Experiment Station, Hay Curing and handling studies, Beaumont, Texas, 1951-1953

5             4            Agricultural Experiment Station, Effect of fertilizer treatments on yield and earthworm damage of fall-planted sweet corn, 1953

5             5            Agricultural Experiment Station, Marketing Practices of East Texas tomato growers College Station, Texas, 1953

5             6            Agricultural Experiment Station, Pre, and Post emergence chemical treatment combinations in weeding cotton, College Station, Texas, 1953

5             7            Agricultural Experiment Station, Bin drying of Rice at Beaumont, College Station, 1953

5             8            Agricultural Experiment Station, Pre-emergence treatments for weed control in Cantaloupes, College, Station, 1953

5             9            Tuskegee Institute Negro Farmers Conference, 49th, Resolution, Tuskegee, Alabama, January 1950

5            10           Tuskegee Institute. Division of Public Relations. Tuskegee Institute its origin and  Development

5             11           Evans, Edward Bertram. Memorandum to all Employees of Prairie View A&M College Prairie View, Texas; August 10, 1950

5             12          Hearn, Maurine. Letter to Extension Service Workers, College Station, Texas, September 11, 1950

5            13           Hearn, Maurine. Letter to Extension Service Workers, College Station, Texas, September 25, 1950

5             14           Adam, D. Memorandum to G.G. Gibson, Texas Radio Round Ups, College Station, Texas , 1950

5             15           Texas Agricultural Extension Service. Annual Report for Texas A&M College system College Station, Texas, 1950

5            16           Agricultural Experiment Station. Corn-Green Manure-fertilizer tests at Prairie View College Station, Texas, 1950-1953

5            17           U.S. Dept. of Agriculture. Forest Service. Memorandum concerning Increases of Tree planting on Private Lands, Washington, 1951

5            18           U.S. Department of Agriculture. How Supervised Credit Programs Help Negro Families Farm Better, Washington D.C., 1950

5            19          Agricultural Extension Service. What You should know about Texas Agricultural Extension Service, A Guide for Extension Service Workers, College Station, Texas, 1950

5            20           Agriculture Experiment Station, Clover Variety at Kirbyville, College Station, Texas,

                              1950-1951

5            21           Agricultural Experiment Station, Cost of Handling Texas citrus, fresh and processed,

                              1950-1951

5            22           Agricultural Experiment Station, Effect of Legumes, Nitrogen, and Raw Systems on the

                              Yield of Corn on Miller Clay Soil, 1950-1951

5            23           Agriculture experiment station, Legume tests at Kirbyville and Cleveland; 1950-1951

5            24           Agricultural experiment station, the yield of crops grown for forage at Mt. Pleasant, 1950-1951  

5            25            Agricultural Experiment station, yields of legumes as green manure crops at Kirbyville and Cleveland, 1950-1951  

5            26            Tuskegee Institute. George Washington Carver Foundation, Annual Report, Tuskegee, Alabama, 1950-1951

5            27            United States Department of Agriculture. Production and Marketing Administration.Success stories of Negro Farmers, Little Rock, Arkansas, 1950

5            28            Evans, Edward Bertram, Circular Letter to Faculty and Staff. 22nd Educational

                               Conference “Negro Business”, January 2, 1951

5            29            U.S. Dept. of Agriculture Extension Service. Administrators Memorandum concerning Edward W. Alton accepting the position of Executive Director of the National 4-H club Foundation of America, January 5, 1951

5            30            U.S. Dept. of Agriculture Extension Service. Office of Information. Press Service. Weir, who rose from seed weigher to important USDA post, retires. Release, Washington, D.C., January 8, 1951

5            31            U.S. Agricultural Research Administration. Engineering Research improves cattle shades. Release, Washington, D.C., January 11, 1951

5            32           U.S. Dept. of Agriculture. Office of Information. Press Service. Agricultural News (Negro Farmers) Release, Washington D.C., January 15, 1951

5            33           U.S. Dept. of Agriculture. Forest Service. Memorandum concerning Chief Forester Annual Report, Washington, D.C., January 15, 1951

5            34            U.S. Dept. of Agriculture. Forest Service. Memorandum concerning payments to the  States in which the National Forests are situated; January 17, 1951

5            35            U.S. Dept. of Agricultural. Soil Conservation Service. Memorandum concerning importance of Soil Conservation to National Defense, January 23, 1951

5            36            U.S. Dept. of Agriculture. Forest Service. Memorandum Concerning Logging Book providing answers to inexperienced woodmen, Washington, D.C., January 26, 1951

5            37           U.S. Dept. of Agriculture. Office of Information. Press Service. 425,000 rural coloreds families aided through an extension program, Washington D.C., January 29, 1951

5            38           High-Level Production Guide for Major Spring planted Crops, February 2, 1951

5            39           Former Cropper now operates 1,700 Acres, February 5, 1951

5            40           Express of Gardening and Home Food Program, February 6, 1951

5            41           Hoblitzell Agriculture Award, February 7, 1951

5            42           Rural Power Systems financed, February 8, 1951

5            43           Farm Prices in the Price Control Picture, February 9, 1951

5            44          Co-op Gin in All-Colored Texas Community, February 12, 1951,

5            45          Dates for Regional 4-H Camp for Negro farm boys & girls, February 14, 1951

5            46          Price Supports Announced for Crops, February 15, 1951

5             47          Farmer who is now among largest negro Cattle raisers, February 19, 1951

5            48          Farmer ups income to 20,000 by balancing cropping, February 26, 1951

5            49          Letter to William C. David, February 27, 1951

5            50          An Increase of farm grain storage facilities, March 15, 1951

5            51          Haiti awards agriculture silver medallion Diploma, March 5, 1951

5            52          Liberian Poultry production may soon catch up to demand, March 5, 1951

5            53          Sharecropper youths among 325,000 to observe National 4-H club week, March 5, 1951

5            54          Cropper who became owner through FHA now raising live-stock, March 12, 1951

5            55          Former Tenant now grosses 50,000 annually off of 1,000 acres, March 19, 1951

5            56          Farmers step up Pasture improvement to increase population, March 26, 1951

5            57          Farmer to double his cotton acreage, April 16, 1951

5            58         At 60, $10,000 a year farmer plans to expand production, April 9, 1951

5            59         Need for high yields on increased feed grain acreage, April 17, 1951

5            60         Highest PMA award & honorary degree goes to Davis, April 23, 1951

5            61         USDA home economist points to the role of farm women, April 23, 1951

5            62         Food Prices & Farm Returns, April 24, 1951

5            63         Farm Family increases holdings 30 from FHA Lift, May 7, 1951

5            64         Cattle and Hog exhibited at the annual show by Alabama youths, May 14, 1951

5            65         Dawson assisting in the equalization of Federal Funds, May 16, 1951

5            66         Former Debt-Ridden shares, May 28, 1951

5            67         Group of young farmers in Florida buy 2,000-acre tract, June 11, 1951

5            68         4-H Tractor driving Champion-Delegated to regional camp, July 23, 1951

5            69         Negro Extension supervisors to study mobilization, June 11, 1951

5            70         Loyalty Oath, to all personnel of Texas A&M College, July 27, 1951

5            71        USDA Specialist assigned to Liberia; July 30, 1951

5            72        Memorandum to all District Agents; July 31, 1951

5            73        Veteran growing into cattle farming; August 6, 1951

5            74        Negro Participation in the State Fair of Texas; August 7, 1951

5            75        125 Top Farm youth to attend regional 4-H camp in Arkansas; August 13, 1951

5            76        Reception in Honor of Dr. W.R. Banks; August 20, 1951

6              1        Rules and regulations governing student employment, August 31, 1951

6              2        Services in Negro land- Grant colleges & associated institutions, August 26, 1951,

                           September 14, 1951

6              3        Governor Shivers Proclaiming Negro Achievement Day, September 7-12, 1951

6              4        Conference of Presidents of Negro Land Grants colleges notifications, September 18, 1951

6              5        The Inauguration of Dr. Lanier TSU's first President, September 28, 1951 

6              6         4-H Boys and Girls collect scrap metal for mobilization drive, October 15, 1951

6              7         performances for stalk cutting shedders, March 3, 1952

6              8         Slaughter calf productions in the Brazos River Valley, August 2, 1952

6              9          Farmers meeting need for more acres, November 5, 1951

6             10          PV Garden Club Christmas brighten up Notification, November 9, 1951

6             11          Dairy show in Alabama reflects the need for higher milk production, November 12, 1951

6             12          Rent payments by employees, November 5, 1951

6             13          Annual Faculty Dinner Notification, November 30, 1951

6             14          Rations for Fattening Steers, August 9, 1952

6             15          Distribution of Fertilizer Sales in Texas, February 28, 1952

6             16          Local Cooperative progress report 1411, October 28, 1951

6             17          Cottony Cushion scale progress report, June 18, 1952

6             18          Green manure crop progress report, September 25, 1952

6             19          Cotton grown on Black Clay Progress Report, May 1, 1952

6             20          Texas Farm & ranch land prices, July 31, 1952

6             21          Effect on pasture vegetation progress report 1479, August 2, 1952

6             22          Trails with Castor beans in Texas, progress report 1455, April 19, 1952

6             23          Farm employment decline, indicates increase mechanization, March 26, 1951

6             24          information on the model balanced farmer, January 22, 1951

6             25          Attitudes towards old age and survivors' insurance programs, May 27, 1953

6             26          Berseem clover for forage and seed productions report 1495, September 3, 1952

6             27          Bullworm control on cotton progress report 1445, March 7, 1952

6             28          Cattle feeding studies at the Spur Station, September 30, 1952

6             29          Broomcorn production in south Texas, report 1468, June 17, 1952

6             30          Chemical control of crabgrass progress report 1450, March 21, 1952

6             31          Chemical controls of Johnsongrass progress report, 1430, January 16, 1952

6             32          Citrus Nursery Tree Program in South Texas, report 1477, July 19, 1952

6             33          Clover variety Tests, Progress report 1497, September 25, 1952

6             34          Common, sweet, & Tift Sudan for pasturage, Progress report 1467, June 16, 1952

6             35          Control of onion thrips in the winter progress report 1500, October 9, 1952

6             36          Control of spider mites on cotton, progress report 1431, January 23, 1952

6             37          Control of spider mites on cotton, progress report 1476, July 14, 1952

6             38          Clovers and Dalli grass volunteer, Progress report 1435, February 1, 1952

6             39          Cool Season grasses for North Central Texas, Progress report 1456, May 1, 1952 

6             40          cotton variety tests in Wharton country report 1436, February 9, 1952

6             41          Grasses increase after posting oak control, Progress report 1448, 1952

6             42          Distribution of fertilizer sales, report 1498, September 26, 1952

6             43          Dried Skim milk in the ration for dairy calves, Progress report, August 4, 1952

6             44          Effect of different nitrogen fertilizers on green wrap tomatoes, December 19, 1952

6             45          Effect of fertilizers on pasture forage at Nacogdoches, Progress report, August 30, 1952

6             46          Effect of fertilizers on corn in Nacogdoches, report 1452, March 26, 1952

6             47          Effect of Plowing under Legumes on Cotton & Corn, Progress report 1521, December 16, 1952

6             48          Effect of 2,4,5 – T on young cotton plants, report 1464, May 24, 1952

6             49          Effects of Borascu and Sodium Chlorate on bindweed, Progress report 1523,  December 20, 1952

6             50          Effect of Legume and Nitrogen on Corn, report 1439, February 15, 1952

6             51          Farm leases on irrigated farms, Progress reports 1434, February 1, 1952

6             52          Feed reserves-drought insurance for beef producers, report 1471, June 18, 1952

6             53          Feed reserves for wintering ewes on central Texas farms, June 18, 1952

6             54          Goliad barely, progress report 1426, January 7, 1952

6             55          Forage crop tests on the Black-land experiment station, March 2, 1953

6             56          Grape rootstocks for Southwest Texas report, July 17, 1952

6             57          Importance of Bees in sweet clover seed production, May 1, 1952

6             58          Influence of Fertilizers & Lime on Rice, March 1, 1952

6             59          Cleaning of steel sanitary milk processing lines, June 20, 1952

6             60          Insecticidal Control of Greenbugs, February 12, 1952

Box       Folder

6             61          Men & Machines in the cotton harvest, October 12, 1952

6             62          Mounting of press wheel-rollers and spray nozzles, December 13, 1952

6             63          Peanut picker for small plot work, December 2, 1952

6             64          Phosphoric acid and protein content of warm season grasses, January 8, 1952

6             65          A simple wind Auguste for use of agricultural spraying, May 27, 1952

6             66          Refrigerated storage for sweet potatoes, April 10, 1952

6             67          Warm Season Grasses at Kirbyville, Progress report, March 22, 1952

6             68          Range management studies on the ranch experiment station, March 15, 1952

6             69          Quality & quantity of bitterweed killed with herbicide, March 8, 1952      

6             70           Mechanical harvesting of cotton, January 24, 1952

6             71           Local cooperatives, Progress report, October 28, 1951

6             72           Mechanical harvesting of cotton in Texas, March 8, 1951

6             73           Recruitment of Cotton Harvest Workers, October 13, 1951

6             74           Forty-sixth annual farmers' short course, August 23-26, 1953

6             75           Objectives of the Texas Agricultural Extension services, undated material

6              76          Agriculturalist who quit the post to return to farm grosses, undated material

6             77           Techniques in preparing information releases, Circular specialists, undated material, January 15, 1947

6             78          Tuskegee Institute periodicals, undated materials, August 24, 1912

6             79           Life Insurance Protection of farmer operated families, January 14, 1953

6             80            Mechanical harvesting of cotton, January 9, 1953

6             81           Grass strain tests progress report, January 2, 1953

6             82            small grains variety tests at the Blackland experiment station, October 16, 1952

6             83            Testing fungicides on squash, September 17, 1952

6             84            Sources of cotton labor, August 29, 1952

6             85            Southern Corn rootworm control, June 26, 1952

7             1             Correspondence, May 5-14, 1951

7             2             Correspondence, May 15-22, 1951

7             3             Correspondence, May 23-31, 1951

7             4             Correspondence, June 1-8, 1951

7             5             Correspondence, June 12-26, 1951

7             6             Correspondence, June 27-July 10, 1951

7             7             Correspondence, July 11-31, 1951

7             8             Correspondence, August 1-20, 1951

7             9             Correspondence, August 20-31, 1951

7             10           Correspondence, September 1-18, 1951

7             11           Correspondence, September 20-29, 1951

7             12           Correspondence, October 1-10, 1951

7             13           Correspondence, October 11-30, 1951

7             14           Correspondence, November 1-19, 1951

7             15           Correspondence, November 21-30, 1951

7             16           Correspondence, December 1-20, 1951

7             17           Correspondence, January 8-July 26, 1952

7             18           Correspondence, 1953

7             19           Correspondence, 1954

7             20           Correspondence, 1957

7             21           Correspondence, 1959

7             22           Correspondence, Plan of work for Madison County, Texas; 1937

7            23         Correspondence, Practical Methods for Town & Rural Pastors; May 24-29, 1937

7            24         Correspondence, Radio discussion on 4-H Club Program; February 5, 1938

7            25         Correspondence, Memorandum 2nd Ministers’ Institute; March 27-June 3, 1938

7            26        Correspondence, Faculty Symposium, Report of Findings Committee; September 9, 1940

7            27        Correspondence, The Negro & National Defense Address; October 1940

7            28        Correspondence, Delinquent tax contract in Texas Counties; 1940

7            29        Correspondence, Agriculture Defense Boards in each state and county; June 8, 1941

7            30        Correspondence, Minutes of meetings; August 12-13, 1941

7            31        Correspondence, Reduction of Non-Defense Appropriations under consideration; October 2, 1941

7            32         Correspondence, Plans & Suggestions for Defense Councils; November 11-16, 1941

7             33       Correspondence, Statement of expenditures for Negro Extension Work; 1941-47

7             34       Correspondence, Wartime farmland market activity; 1941-44

7             35       Correspondence, The Creation of state & county U.S.D.A. War Boards; April 8, 1942

7             36       Correspondence, Monthly travel expense for extension agents; April 10, 1942

7             37      Correspondence, Victory Demonstration & the Extension Service Program; April 14, 1942

7             38      Correspondence, Authorization to travel outside the official county; April 15, 1942

7             39      Correspondence, TVA Farm Unit test demonstrations (Circular); July 29, 1942

7             40      Correspondence, Leadership in our allout war efforts address; August 10-15, 1942

7             41      Correspondence, Material used in making out 1943 plan of work; October 29, 1942

7             42      Correspondence, Shortage of Nitrogen Fertilizers; 1942

7             43      Correspondence, Protein is essential for growing turkeys, progress report 787; 1942

7             44      Correspondence, Guide for travelers' reimbursement 1943 vouchers; January 11, 1943

7             45      Correspondence, Texas Wildlife in wartime; 1943

7             46      Correspondence, Grape propagation, and root-stocks studies; 1943

7             47      Correspondence, Corn variety & hybrid tests at the EL Paso valley substation; 1943-45

7             48      Correspondence, Fertilizer tests with cotton and corn report 993; 1943-45

7             49      Correspondence, Memorandum on War services; June 1944

7             50      Correspondence, Post Card Telegram, 1951

7             51       Correspondence, Letter relating to Negro farm progress; February 25, 1949

8              1          Publications for 1945, Victory Gardens Program, December 20, 1944

8              2          Reprint of Handbook on health for farm families, December 20, 1944

8              3          Motion Picture Production Program, December 20, 1944

8              4          Farm Labor Appropriation, December 27, 1944-1945

8              5          Memorandum on Rationing Programs, December 24, 1944

8              6          Memorandum, Deferred Payment of government Salaries, December 23, 1944

8              7          Distribution of fertilizer sale in Texas, 1944-1945

8              8          Economical & Effective method for delousing turkeys, 1944

8              9          Memorandum concerning important releases and reports, 1944-45

8             10        Information program on income taxes, December. 1944

8             11        Program, Prairie View State Normal & Industrial College, January 29-30, 1945

8             12        Information & Appropriate Action in the U.S War Food Admin, March 17, 1945

8             13        Instructions in preparation of Construction contracts, March 19, 1945

8             14        Migratory Workers for Sugar beets & related crops, March 19, 1945

8             15        Medical Examination Form, 1945

8             16        Transportation by motor truck of migratory farm Labor, March 20, 1945

8             17        Chapter X, Policy & Procedures Manual, March 21, 1945

8             18        Recruitment Poster, March 21, 1945

8             19        Minimum Sugar Act Wage Requirements, March 22, 1945

8             20        Changes in Federal Farm Extension Farm Labor Personnel, March 23, 1945

8             21        Farm Labor Radio Programs, March 24, 1945

8             22        Loan of army equip. To house and feed agricultural workers, March 26, 1945

8              23        Guiding Principles for youth programs, March 1945

8              24        Notification to David W.C., April 16, 1945

8             25         Notification to David W.C., April 16, 1945

8            26        Charter of the United Nations with inter. Court of Justice, June 26, 1945

8            27        Charter as Declaration & Constitution, June 26, 1945

8            28        Statewide Extension Work with Negros, July 2, 1945

8            29        Distribution of Fertilizer Sales in Texas, 998 Report, 1946

8             30        Mobilization of Negro Labor to produce products, report, 1945

8             31        Strengthening of 4-14 Club Work Bankhead – Flannagan Act., August 7, 1945

8             32        National 4-14 Achievement Week, November. 3-11, September 10, 1945

8             33        Special Courses in agriculture for veterans, October 20, 1945

8             34        No. Project, Extension Service & Sears - Roebuck Foundation, 1945-1946

8             35        Cotton Variety test at Brazos River Laboratory Report 1945, March 20, 1946

8             36        Federal Land Bank & Land Bank Commissioner Loans, July 1945

8             37        List of available publications of the U.S Depart. Of Agriculture, 1945

8             38        Handbook for the victory volunteer medical examination form, May 1945

8             39        Post War Jobs for Farmers, January 22, 1946

8             40        Emergency Food Program, January 25, 1946

8             41        Emergency Food Program, March 8, 1946

8             42        Unveiling of the Bust of Booker T. Washington, May 23, 1946

8             43        Field Trips & Other Activities Report, July 17, 1946

8             44        Training for Extension Workers under G.I. Bill, August 9, 1946

8             45        Soils and Souls. Address, first annual Church conference, October 1946

8             46        Workshop to study Extension supervision, November 4-16, 1946

8             47        Schedule of Staff Conferences, November 7, 1946

8             48        Principles to Guide Extension Supervisors, Lecture, November 8, 1946

8             49        Services Rendered by the Federal & State government, November 11, 1946

8             50        Statements & Announcements from Alumni Club President, December 2, 1946

8             51        Brush Control on South Texas Pastureland, 1946

8             52        Effect of phosphates in pasture grasses, 1946

8             53        Farmland Market Activity in Texas Counties, 1946

8             54        Fertilizers for white potatoes in the High Plain of Texas, 1946

8             55        Fattening Steers in the El-Paso Valley, 1946

8             56        Forage & Seed Yields of Sorghum Varieties, 1946

8             57        The Hegari Family, Progress Report 984, 1946

8             58        Potato Varieties, Progress Report 986, 1946

8             59        Salt tolerance of Turkey Poults Progress report 1012, May 11, 1946

8              60        Growing Cantaloupes in the Texas winter garden progress report 988, February 11, 1946

8             61        Variety trials of Bush Lima Beans progress report 985, January 23, 1946

8             62        State Meeting for Negro Extension Agents, January 8, 1947

8             63        Biographical Sketch of Rev. L. Maynards’s Catching’s, January 8-12, 1947

8             64        Annual Session of Teachers Association, February 28, 1947- March 1, 1947

8             65        Dates Scheduled for Country Show, March 19, 1947

8             66        On the agricultural front (Negro Farmers) release, March 31, 1947

8             67        Preservation, Patriotism, and Piety (Saving Soil), April 4, 1947

8             68        10th Annual meeting of the home demonstration clubs of Texas, April 9, 1947

8             69        Training Memorandum, April 23, 1947

9              1          Minutes of Meeting, Negro Rural Youth Committee, May 1, 1947

9              2          Supervisors Annual Narrative Report, June 9-13, 1947

9              3          Remarks of Secretary Clinton P. Anderson (meat), June 11, 1947

9              4          C.P. Anderson’s Statement on Appropriation Bill, June 12, 1947

9              5          National 4-H Club Citizenship Ceremony, June 17, 1947

9              6          Fiscal Office Memoranda, June 25-26, 1947

9             11        New Notes of the Poultry Industry, 1947

9             12        The outlook for the National Income, November 3, 1947

9             13        Press release on the Agriculture Front, November 10, 1947

9             14        Achievements of Negro Farm Women, December 1, 1947

9             15        Secondary Schools 14th annual convention, December 3-5, 1947

9             16        Techniques in Preparing information releases & letters, 1947

9             17        Denton Colton Variety Tests, 1952

9             18        Notice of Termination (a farm Lease problem in Texas), 1947

9             19        Oil Seed crops in Texas, Progress Reports, 1947

9             21        Official Appoint Request Forms, 1947

9             22        Committee Member’s Report Envelope

9             23        Form CB-1. District Agents' individual county worksheets

9             24        Form D-334, Appointment Request

9             25        Reserve Officers Training Corps, March 1-22, 1947