Creator: Prairie View A&M University
Title of Collection: The All Faiths Chapel Collection
Dates: 1969-1992
Bulk Dates: 1984-1992
Extent: 0.5 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Abstract: The All Faiths Chapel collection is composed of administrative documents from when the building first opened on campus in 1980.
Biographical Note:
The construction to build an All Faiths Chapel at Prairie View A&M was made by the 11th Annual Minister's Conference in February 1970. The funds had been raised to nearly half a million dollars from 1978-1982 and construction was starting on the south side of the campus to build the chapel. An All Faiths Chapel was recommended by the Prairie View Centennial Council in its final report issued in January 1970. The Rev. Floyd N. Williams, 1969-1970 Conference Chairman has agreed to serve as chairman of a fund drive in connection with the All Faiths Chapel, the Rev. W. Van Johnson has announced. Years later, Rev. Johnson, Dean of Chapel, and University Director of Student Activities was a part of the groundbreaking of the new building that would be the “All Faiths Chapel” in 1982. The religious services used to be held in the Memorial Center Ballroom conducted by Chaplain L. C. Phillip before 1970.
Sources:
Prairie View A&M College. (1970). Panther - February 1970- Vol. XLIV, NO.10., Vol. XLIV, NO.10 Retrieved from https://digitalcommons.pvamu.edu/pv-panther-newspapers/64
Prairie View A&M University. (1982). Panther - March 1982 - Vol. LVI, NO. 13., Vol. LVI, NO. 13 Retrieved from https://digitalcommons.pvamu.edu/pv-panther-newspapers/222
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in the original order as received. There is no series needed for this collection since the documents are about the opening of the chapel for the first 20 years. In box one, the first set of administrative files and correspondence from the chapel staff and archives department at Prairie View A&M University. In box two, there are mostly programs from the minister’s conference, mentor programs, reading lists, and more. There are several miscellaneous newspaper clippings in both boxes and no pictures.
Identification: UA 0087
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Complied by Evelyn Davis, October 2023
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0087
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The All Faiths Chapel Collection, UA0087, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
All Faiths Chapel.
Prairie View A&M University.
Prairie View (TX).
| Box # | Folder | Title/Description | Date | Location |
| 1 | 1 | Memos/Correspondence | 1987-1989 | R3/C5/R2 |
| 1 | 2 | All faiths chapel meetings | 1987-1990 | R3/C5/R2 |
| 1 | 3 | Articles & Statistics | 1981-1985 | R3/C5/R2 |
| 1 | 4 | Correspondence | 1987 | R3/C5/R2 |
| 1 | 5 | Forms | 1987-1990 | R3/C5/R2 |
| 1 | 6 | Advisory meeting notes | 1987 | R3/C5/R2 |
| 1 | 7 | Chapel stationery | undated | R3/C5/R2 |
| 1 | 8 | Workshop | 1988-89 | R3/C5/R2 |
| 1 | 9 | Announcements | 1988 | R3/C5/R2 |
| 1 | 10 | Miscellaneous awards and clippings | 1984-1987 | R3/C5/R2 |
| 1 | 11 | Reading List and Mentor Program | 1987 | R3/C5/R2 |
| 2 | 1 | Gifts & expenditures | 1969-1986 | R3/C5/R2 |
| 2 | 2 | Programs | 1987-1989 | R3/C5/R2 |
| 2 | 3 | Programs | 1988-1992 | R3/C5/R2 |
| 2 | 4 | Programs: Minister’s Conference | 1990-1992 | R3/C5/R2 |
| 2 | 5 | Chapel building | 1979-1984 | R3/C5/R2 |
| 2 | 6 | Chapel building | 1979-1991 | R3/C5/R2 |
| 2 | 7 | Chapel building | 1986 | R3/C5/R2 |
| 2 | 8 | Chapel building | 1986 | R3/C5/R2 |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
