Finding Aids: PVAMU Special Collections and Archives : The George R. Woolfolk Personal Papers collection

Creator: George Ruble Woolfolk

Title of Collection: The George R. Woolfolk Personal Papers collection

Dates: 1807-2020, undated

Inclusive Dates: 1950-1991

Extent: 150 Linear Feet (145 boxes)

Abstract: This collection is made up of a variety of formats including microfilm, photographs, letters, vinyl records, office equipment, yearbooks, and research related to the research of Free Negroes in Texas. Includes audiovisual formats including VHS, Cassette tapes, magnetic tape and reels. Several boxes contain documents related to the Mr. and Mrs. Woolfolk personal careers and interests noting memorabilia documents related to the Alpha Phi Alpha and Alpha Kappa Alpha organizations.

Biographical Note: 

George Ruble Woolfolk, African American historian and a leading scholar at Prairie View A&M University, was born to Lucien Ben and Theodoshia Berry (Jackson) Woolfolk on February 22, 1915, in Louisville, Kentucky.

Woolfolk attended school in Louisville and then earned a Bachelor of Arts degree at Louisville Municipal College for Negroes/University of Louisville (1937), a Master of Arts at Ohio State University (1938), and a Ph.D. at the University of Wisconsin (1947). Woolfolk joined the faculty at Prairie View Normal and Industrial College (now Prairie View A&M University) in 1943, before completing his dissertation and receiving the doctorate in 1947.

Woolfolk’s historical research focused on the economic and social facets of southern history and African American studies. His most important books included The Cotton Regency: The Northern Merchants and Reconstruction, 1865–1880 (1958, reprinted in 1979); Negro Colleges, Texas (1962); Prairie View: A Study in Public Conscience, 1878–1946 (1962); and The Free Negro in Texas, 1800–1860: A Study in Cultural Compromise (1976). He also published articles during the 1950s that helped change slavery's historiography by emphasizing its flexibility and profitability.

Woolfolk’s inspirational teaching at Prairie View gained recognition from many quarters. One signal award came in 1973 when he was named Minnie Stephens Piper Professor, one of the highest honors that university professors in Texas can earn. In 1992 the American Historical Association gave him its Award for Scholarly Distinction. Woolfolk also became, in the words of a former student, a “community resource,” serving, for example, as a member of the Waller County Historical Commission and as vice-chairman of the American Revolution Bicentennial Commission of Texas. His most lasting honor stands in the form of the George Ruble Woolfolk Building on the campus of Prairie View A&M University. The university also named the Woolfolk Lecture Series in his honor.

Woolfolk served on the executive council of the Texas State Historical Association from 1972 until 1981, when he was elected second vice president and thus put in line to become the first African American president of the state’s premier historical organization. In March 1982, however, he resigned due to “personal difficulties and health.” Later, he agreed to serve the association as an advisory editor for The New Handbook of Texas, and in 1986, he was elected a Fellow, the first African American to receive the highest honor that the association can bestow on a member. Woolfolk’s scholarship also earned him listings in the Directory of American Scholars, Who’s Who in the South and Southwest, Who’s Who in America, Outstanding Educators of America, and Contemporary American Authors.

Woolfolk died on June 12, 1996. 

Mrs. Douglass G. (Perry) Woolfolk -
Douglass Geraldine Perry was born on Sunday, August 11, 1918, in Coldspring, Texas, to Willie Perry and Edna Rebecca (Williams) Perry, both of whom have preceded her in death. George R. Woolfolk met Douglass G. Perry, a teacher from Coldspring, Texas. Douglass was also preceded in death by her husband, Dr. George Woolfolk; son, George Ruble Woolfolk, Jr.; and brother, Dr. Ervin Perry. She passed away on Tuesday, January 17, 2017.

Biographical Sketch of Dr. Ervin Sewell Perry -
Dr. Ervin Sewell Perry is the brother of Mrs. Douglass Woolfolk. Perry graduated from Prairie View A&M College of Texas in 1956 with a Bachelor of Science degree in civil engineering. He received the Master of Science degree from UT Austin in 1961 and the Doctor of Philosophy degree in civil engineering from UT Austin in May 1964, working in areas of materials science and structural mechanics. 

Dr. Perry became the first African American to be appointed to the academic rank of professor at the University of Texas. 

President Lorene L. Rogers recommended to the UT System Board of Regents that the new Social Science and Humanities Library at the University of Texas at Austin be named Perry-Castaneda Library. By unanimous vote the Board of Regents adopted this proposal at their meeting of September 12, 1975.

Sources: 
Campbell, Randolph B. "Mike". (2014). “Woolfolk, George Ruble,” Handbook of Texas Online. https://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/entries/woolfolk-george-ruble.

Class of 1956 celebrates its Golden Anniversary. (2006). Prairie View A&M University.
The University of Texas at Austin, The General Libraries, Perry-Castaneda Library, 1977.

Arrangement: 

According to the assessment, the collection is recommended to be arranged into two sub-groups:
1.    Arrangement of George R. Woolfolk Personal Papers 
Arrange collection into six series as outlined below. Subseries should be arranged chronologically by date when applicable.
Series 1: Prairie View A&M University, 1951-1985
Series 1.1: History Department, 1956-1981
Series 1.2: University Course Guides, 1956-1960
Series 1.3: Miscellaneous PVAMU Files, 1957-1985
Series 2: Research
Series 2.1 The Free Negro in Texas Research
Series 2.2 Correspondence
Series 2.3 Journals & Books
Series 2.4 Legal and Financial Records
Series 3: Personal Materials
Series 3.1 Correspondence
Series 3.2 Greek Organizations
Series 3.3 Awards
Series 3.4 Printed Materials
Series 4: Photographic Materials
Series 5: Audiovisual Materials, 1947-1973, undated
Series 6: Books

George R. Woolfolk Personal Papers 
Series One and Two contain documents pertaining to Prairie View A&M University from 1951-1985. The section has fourteen boxes that were originally sitting on the shelf as loose materials. The documents contain information about the PVAMU History Department, 1956-1981, and University Course Guides from 1956-1960. In addition, there are six boxes containing history course curriculum development, printed materials, and student records of Woolfolk’s various courses entitled, “PVAMU History Notes” from 1957-1985. 

Series Two has the category of “Research” that Woolfolk used to write his many books and articles during his professional career. The documents used in his research is broken down into sub-series of The Free Negro in Texas Research, Correspondence, Journals & Books, and Legal and Financial Records. The research section has twelve boxes with large brown envelopes of loose materials containing the materials used in Woolfolk’s research. Additionally, there are some Cooperative Extension Records in the Woolfolk collection. There are two boxes containing information on the 1850 county histories of the slave population. Three boxes of the journals & books section have multiple copies of The Bobbs-Merrill Reprint Series in Black Studies Journal from the following publication years 1905-1970.

Series Three: Personal Materials, 1953-2006, undated
Series Three has more “Personal Materials” about George R. Woolfolk. The section has several containing Correspondence, Alpha Kappa Alpha Fraternal Organization, and Professional Awards given to Woolfolk by various organizations. 

The series of personal materials starts with the death certificates, building dedication programs and RSVPS, and funeral programs about George R. Woolfolk. The collection used to have 100 copies of each funeral program, homegoing celebration, resume, and building dedication programs. The archivist decided to consolidate the programs for space and duplication issues, so 20 copies of each program are left in the collection. Additionally, there were 4 envelopes from 2 separate funeral homes including correspondence, programs, and cards for Woolfolk’s funeral. The correspondence and cards are addressed to Mrs. Douglass Woolfolk. These envelopes contained the Woolfolk estate, photocopies of death certificates for Woolfolk Sr. and Woolfolk Jr. 

Series 3.1 Correspondence has three boxes containing more correspondence addressed to Mrs. Douglass Woolfolk. In addition, there are five boxes dedicated to Mrs. Woolfolk’s donation of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority memorabilia, correspondence, magazine (Ivy Leaf), and documents relating to Woolfolk’s passing like funeral programs. There are two boxes dedicated to the Alpha Phi Alpha fraternity files like correspondence and magazines. At the same time, the section includes some of Woolfolk’s office materials including name plates, personalized briefcases, and equipment. There is a brief description of the mixed media in Woolfolk’s collection which involves VHS tapes, reel-to-reels, tapes, etc. 

Greek Organizations
Since the founding of Alpha Phi Alpha’s The Sphinx® magazine in 1914, the African American community has looked to the publication for its profound insight on issues of the day (Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc).

Printed Materials & Miscellaneous Files
The collection has miscellaneous newsletters and journals from various institutions and organizations collected by Woolfolk. In addition, there is one box of theater pamphlets from various theatre production companies in Houston like,
•    Alley Theatre
•    Theatre Inc.
•    Houston Grand opera Association, Inc.
Woolfolk was a fan of the Performing Arts and traveled as far as New York to see theatrical performances. A few Prairie View A&M University programs, newsletters, and journals are included this this one box with the performing arts programs. In addition, two boxes consist of Woolfolk’s office materials of personal items, statues, awards, medals, etc. Lastly, a few miscellaneous newspapers are included in this section of the inventory list.

In contrast, the collection has some sensitive information pertaining to Mr. & Mrs. Woolfolk’s income tax forms, bank statements, personal checks, and medical records. These records will not be accessible to the public and restricted to SCAD staff members. 

Series Four 
The Oversized Materials consist of three oversized portraits of Woolfolk and his son, Douglass. 

Series Five 
This section has all the Audiovisual Materials dating from 1947-1973. Some materials are undated but there are 30 vinyl records in the Woolfolk collection. A second box of smaller reel-to-reel records is a part of the Woolfolk collection with some reels cracked or severely damaged. The third box of audiovisual tapes are VHS and television tapes used by production companies in the early 1940s. The fourth box contains 45 RPM records from Woolfolk’s personal collection. The SCAD staff do not have the equipment to play these tapes, so they will be unprocessed until further noticed. 

Series Six 
The last series consists of all the books collected personally by Woolfolk. Also, the collection starts with some Waller ISD yearbooks collected by Woolfolk and other yearbooks from various schools. Woolfolk had personally collected rare books pertaining to American History, African history, sociology, and philosophy. He has over 100 books in his collection, which are listed in the inventory below. 

American Revolution Bicentennial Commission
The arrangement of the second sub-group is for the “Papers of American Revolution Bicentennial Commission” which has 5 boxes overall of proposals and meeting minutes.

Sources: 
About Us. (2024). Alley Theatre. https://www.alleytheatre.org/about-us/ 

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. (n.d.). The Sphinx. Retrieved March 27, 2024,  https://apa1906.net/sphinx-media/ 
 

Identification: MSS0023

Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University

Complied by July 2024, Evelyn Davis