Creator: Prairie View Church of Christ Staff
Title of Collection: The Prairie View Church of Christ Collection
Dates: Undated
Extent: .5 linear feet (1 box)
Abstract: The Prairie View Church of Christ Collection contains a brief church history. Until unique accommodations become necessary, the items are housed with eight other Waller County Church collections.
Biographical Note: The Prairie View Church of Christ was established in 1971 because a Church of Christ minister was needed at the Prairie View A&M Campus. Elders Claude Richardson, Carl Matzke, and Billard Mullens from the Jersey Village congregation agreed to support the initiative and oversee the work financially. Rev. Famous Bayers was the first minister, and services took place in an office provided by Prairie View A&M officials.
Source:
Waller County Historical Survey Committee (1973). A history of Waller County, Texas. Waco: Texian Press.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged chronologically in the order in which the items were created. No series was needed since the items are all related to Prairie View Church of Christ's history. The collection consists of one folder with church history documents.
Identification: MSS 0035
Related Material:
Black Churches in Texas Collection, MSS0016, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Inventory of the Clyde McQueen Papers, Cushing Memorial Library and Archives, Texas A&M University
Waller County Historical Survey Committee (1973). A history of Waller County, Texas. Waco: Texian Press.
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Complied by Idalia Avezuela, March 2024
The Prairie View Church of Christ Collection contains a brief church history. Until unique accommodations become necessary, the items are housed with eight other Waller County Church collections.
The collection is arranged chronologically in the order in which the items were created. No series was needed since the items are all related to Prairie View Church of Christ's history. The collection consists of one folder with church history documents.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: MSS 0035
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The Prairie View Church of Christ Collection, MSS0035, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
African American churches--Gulf Coast--Texas--History.
African American churches--Texas, Central--History.
Waller County (Tex.)--History.
| Box | Folder | Description | Date | Location |
| 1 | 1 | History | Undated | R3/C4/R5 |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
