Creator: Oscar John Thomas
Title of Collection: Oscar John Thomas Papers
Dates: 1936-1967
Extent: 6.5 linear feet (13 boxes)
Abstract: Oscar John Thomas was an educator and the director of the Prairie View Interscholastic League and College Placement offices at Prairie View A&M University. The Oscar John Thomas Papers document the professional activities of John Oscar Thomas from 1936 to 1967. The collection consists mostly of general correspondence and correspondence of the Prairie View Interscholastic League.
Biographical Note: Oscar John Thomas was an educator and the director of the Prairie View Interscholastic League and College Placement offices at Prairie View A&M University. Born on July 10, 1896, to Isaac and Emma Thomas in Nacogdoches County, Texas, grew up rural community in which he was born. After completing the ninth grade he passed a state examination and at the age of 17, taught a one-teacher school. He entered Prairie View State College in the sophomore normal class and graduated from the normal department in the spring of 1920. He received a Bachelor of Science degree in Agriculture in 1927. He first taught at schools in Nacogdoches and Shelby Counties, and also at Texas College in Tyler, Texas as a teacher of General Agriculture and the Farm Manager. While at Texas College, he married Bessie Aleda Hardeway of Ponta, Texas. After working at Texas College for three years, he accepted the position of Principal and Teacher of Vocational Agriculture in Cameron, Texas, where he served in these two capacities and taught high school mathematics for eight years. He served as principal and teacher of mathematics for seven additional years. On July 13, 1938, Thomas became the State Itinerant Teacher Trainer in Vocational Agriculture at Prairie View State College. In addition to his regular duties as Teacher Trainer, he worked as the state adviser to the Texas Association of New Farmers of America. His professional activities included service as the President of the Teachers State Association, Regional Vice President of the American Teachers Association, and First Vice President of the American Teachers Association. He also served as President of the Prairie View Alumni Association for a period of six years and as Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Texas Interscholastic League of Colored Schools. While studying at Prairie View State College, in 1944, he conducted a study of successful practices and procedures used in the best cooperative teaching program, which evolved into his master's thesis in Agricultural Education. His research was later published as a monograph titled Suggested Principles and Practices for Cooperative Teaching with Special Reference to Vocational Agriculture. Dr. Oscar John Thomas died on January 10, 1977, in Prairie View.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged into eight series with 4 of the series further arranged into subseries.
Series 1: Prairie View A&M University, 1945- This series contains the university history and administrative files during his tenure at the university. Includes committee records, photographs of mostly student athletic events, printed materials related to student and faculty activities, and speeches, and addresses given by Dr. Thomas. Several issues of Prairie View Standard. This series is divided into 4 subseries.
Series 1.1 History and administrative materials
Series 1.2 Committee on Home Development, 1945-1956
Series 1.3 Photographs
Series 1.4 Speeches, addresses and writings
Series 2: Alumni and Ex Student Association, 1946 -1961 Contains operating and minimal financial records of the Alumni and Ex Student Association including the by-laws and constitution and work of several committees including the Board of Directors & executive Committee, Nominating Committee, Elections committee, Homecoming Vespar Committee.
Series 3: Prairie View Memorial Park Association, 1946-1961 Contains administrative files including the constitution, articles, meeting minutes, notes and membership lists and correspondence.
Series 4: Correspondence, 1949-1966 Contains faculty and staff correspondence concerning the daily activities on campus. Also includes correspondence between President Bertram Evans and O.J. Thomas along with letters to him as chairman of the community chest committee. 4.1 Correspondence and Teacher Letters, 1956-1966 4.2 Correspondence from E.B. Evans, 1951-1964 4.3 General Correspondence, 1949-1967
Series 5: Education and Teaching Materials, 1949-1963 Contains Conference materials on the Texas State Teachers Association and issues of their newsletter, the Texas Standard. General materials on teaching and education in Texas along with items from the state conference on Negro Education. The series is divided into 4 subseries.
Series 5.1 Student and Faculty Printed Materials 1949-1963
Series 5.2 Texas State Teachers Association Series
5.3 Texas Standard, 1939- 1966 Series
5.4 State Conference on Negro Education, 1936, 1964 Series
5.5 Texas Employment and Job Postings, 1966
Series 6: Texas Association on New Farmers Contains meeting minutes, programs, progress reports, and reports related to agriculture in Texas.
Series 7: Prairie View Interscholastic League Records. 1941-1967 Contains mostly correspondence related to the extra-curricular activities for Texas' African American high schools under the leadership of O.J. Thomas. Includes an incomplete run of the organization’s publication, the League Reporter, and rules and regulations on student eligibility and participation in extracurricular activities. This series contains meeting minutes, financial records, and annual reports related to the activities of The Texas Interscholastic League.
Series 7.1 Administrative and Financial Records, 1941-1967
Series 7.2 League Reporter, 1951- 1966
Series 7.3 Correspondence and Memos, 1958-1963
Series 8: Personal Materials Contains funeral programs, obituaries, and voting and poll tax materials.
Identification: UA 0018
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
The Oscar John Thomas Papers document the professional activities of John Oscar Thomas from 1936 to 1967. The collection consists mostly of general correspondence and correspondence of the Prairie View Interscholastic League. Materials include memos, conference programs, meeting minutes, programs, brochures, financials, speeches, by-laws newsletters, and photographs. The collection is particularly strong in documenting his activities with the Texas Interscholastic League during his tenure as director and which most of the correspondence concerns. Researchers will find letters concerning player eligibility and financial records and meeting minutes. Of note are also documents on the Teachers State Association of Texas including their annual conference, a run of the Association’s publication the Texas Standard between 1939 and 1966. Materials in the collection are not related to his tenure as a principal and teacher in Cameron School District.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0018
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: Oscar John Thomas Papers. UA 0018. Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
Thomas, Oscar John (O.J.), 1894-1977
Prairie View A&M University
Prairie View Memorial Park Association
Prairie View Interscholastic League
Texas Teachers State Association
Colored Teacher’s State Association of Texas, 1939-
Alumni and Ex-Student Association (Prairie View)
Texas Association of New Farmers
African American high school athletes
African American educators
Correspondence
Series 1 Prairie View A&M University
Series 1.1 History and Administrative Materials
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 1 | 1 | Objectives of the College, January 1942 |
| 2 | Status and Needs of Prairie View A&M University as a Land Grant, January 1947 | |
| 3 | The First 75 years, 1876-1951 | |
| 4 | 75th Anniversary Prairie View A&M University, May 19, 1951 | |
| 5 | Address at Prairie View A&M College 75Th Anniversary Alumni Activities, May 19, 1951 | |
| 6 | Ceremonies and Activities commemorating 75th Anniversary, May 19, 1951 | |
| 7 | Prairie View Through the Years, 1951 | |
| 8 | Handbook and Guide for counseling Highschool Students, Spring 1961 | |
| 9 | Prairie View collegiate blank registration forms, July 26, 1949 | |
| 10 | College fund 1966 | |
| 11 | International Night at Prairie View, December 9, 1965 | |
| 30 | The Prairie View Standard Alumni and Ex-Student Issue, January 1937 | |
| 31 | The Class of 1962 holds 40th Reunion, November 1966 | |
| 32 | Dr. Edward R. Evans announces his Retirement to the University of Texas A&M University, October 1965 |
Series 1.2 Committee on Home Development, 1945-1956
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 1 | 12 | Minutes of the Committee on Home Development Projects, May 26, 1950 |
| 13 | Committee on Home Sites of the meeting, April 5, 1945 | |
| 14 | Minutes of Meeting held July 9th to announce plans to liquidate investment, July 9, 1959 | |
| 15 | Minutes of the Community Meeting, June 19, 1956 | |
| 16 | Letter to W.R. Banks, May 3, 1945 | |
| 17 | Letter to Mr. Fisher President, First National Bank, March 1, 1955 | |
| 18 | Minutes of Community Meeting, May 8, 1956 | |
| 19 | Letters to the Members of the Prairie View Development Committee, June 14, 1956 | |
| 20 | Letter to Prairie View Community Development Committee Members, July 10, 1956 | |
| 21 | Letters to the Members of Community Development Committee, December 17, 1956 | |
| 22 | Constitution and Bylaw, May 4, 1957 | |
| 23 | Letter to O.J. Thomas, October 23, 1957 | |
| 24 | Notice announcing the directors of the Alta Vista Utilities Incorporation, July 16, 1958 | |
| 25 | Letter to O.J. Thomas and Dr. Brown, November 25, 1960 | |
| 26 | Letter to John C. Winfree, November 29, 1960 | |
| 27 | Letters to Committee Members, March 6, 1961 | |
| 28 | Letter to Dr. W.R. Banks President Emeritus, October 2, 1961 | |
| 29 | List of Committees and their Functions, December 3-5, 1947 |
Series 1.3 Photographs
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 1 | 33 | Photographs of Special Events at Prairie View A&M University |
Series 1.4 Speeches, addresses, and writings, 1946-1959
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 1 | 34 | Lay Sermon Address before a group of Methodists, October 19, 1958 |
| 35 | “Now Is The Time” Poem | |
| 36 | Address before members of the Graduating Class Asberry Highschool, May 1959 | |
| 37 | Address before members of the Graduating Class Freshman Highschool, May 29, 1959 | |
| 38 | Program Sponsored by the School of Agriculture, June 16, 1959 | |
| 39 | Conference 35th annual The National Association of College, March 1961 | |
| 40 | Address before the 32nd annual conference on Education in Texas, 1961 | |
| 41 | Address before members of the Graduating Class Randolph High School, 1961 | |
| 42 | First Address to Employees of Prairie View A&M University, September 4, 1946 | |
| 43 | Address delivered by Principal E.B. Evans to student and faculty, September 15, 1946 | |
| 44 | Ceremonies and Activities Marking the Inauguration of Edward Bertram Evans, December 3, 1948 | |
| 45 | Implication of the Gilmer-Aikin Bill | |
| 46 | 87th commencement exercises 53rd summer school commencement, August 22, 1963 |
Series 2: Alumni and Ex-Student Association, 1946
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 2 | 1 | Alumni and Ex- Student Associations Tentative Plan for Membership Drive |
| 2 | Nominating Committee of Alumni Association, May 9, 1957 | |
| 3 | Official Ballot for Electing Officers & Board Members | |
| 4 | Installation Service of the Prairie View Alumni & Ex- Students Club | |
| 5 | First Official Ballot for Boards of Directors, May 17, 1958 | |
| 6 | Guide for Elections for Members of Board of Directors by O. J Thomas, April 14, 1959 | |
| 7 | Outstanding Civic Leaders from the file of Negro Labor News, March 13, 1943 | |
| 8 | Faculty Orientation Conference PVAMU, 1958 | |
| 9 | Chart Showing years of Election to each Position on Board of Directors May 7, 1959 | |
| 10 | Nominees for Elections to Office, April 17, 1962 | |
| 11 | Form for filing Nominees for Office, April 18, 1963 | |
| 12 | Alumni Awards for Distinguished Service, May 19, 1963 | |
| 13 | Nomination for the Board of Directors | |
| 14 | Nominations for Members of the Board of Directors & Executives, April 6, 1962 | |
| 15 | Meeting of Executive Committee & Board Agenda, May 17, 1963 | |
| 16 | Form for filing Nominees to the Board of Directors, April 16, 1962 | |
| 17 | Meeting of the Executive Committee Agenda, November 8, 1963 | |
| 18 | Forms for filing Nominees for Office, April 8, 1965 | |
| 19 | Official Ballot for Electing Officers and Board Member, May 8, 1963 | |
| 20 | Minutes of the Board of Directors, May 18, 1963 | |
| 21 | Meeting of members of the Executive Committee & Board of Directors, November 4, 1963 | |
| 22 | Homecoming Activities, 1963 | |
| 23 | A Guide for Working Out a constitution and by-laws for local Alumni | |
| 24 | The Philosophy Role Scope & Relationship of An Alumni Association October 28, 1957 | |
| 25 | Official Ballot for Electing Member of the Board of Directors | |
| 26 | Result of Election of Members of the Board of Directors, July 1, 1964 | |
| 27 | Report of Homecoming Vesper Program Committee, November 10, 1964 | |
| 28 | Official Ballot for Electing Officers & Board Members | |
| 29 | Report of the Election Committee, June 15, 1964 | |
| 30 | Nominees for Elections April 27, 1967 | |
| 31 | March 21, 1967, Nomination of Members of the Board of Directors & Executive Officers | |
| 32 | April 28, 1964, Form for Filing Nominees to the Board of Directors | |
| 33 | May 10, 1962, Official Ballot for Electing Members of Board of Directors | |
| 34 | Form for Filing Nominees for Officer | |
| 35 | Qualification of Candidates whose names appear on the Ballot | |
| 36 | May 9, 1961, Official Ballot for electing Officers and Board Members | |
| 37 | May 20, 1967, Nomination of Members of the Board of Directors and Executive Officers | |
| 38 | A Brief History of the Alumni and Ex- Students Association | |
| 39 | Nominees for Annual Alumni Award |
Series 3: Prairie View Memorial Park Association, 1946-1961
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 2 | 40 | Meeting of the Prairie View Memorial Park Association, October 3, 1961 |
| 41 | Memorandum to Members of Prairie View Community Memorial Park Association, October 18, 196 | |
| 42 | Memorandum to non-Members, November 10, 1961 | |
| 43 | Minutes of the Memorial Prak Association, December 13, 1961 | |
| 44 | Preliminary Draft of Constitution for the Prairie View Community Park, 1961 | |
| 45 | Letter to E. E. Cleaver, January 11, 1962 | |
| 46 | Articles of Association of Prairie View Memorial Park Association, March 1962 | |
| 47 | Notes taken from Minutes by L. C. McMillian Secretary, October 1961 | |
| 48 | Letter of Member of the Memorial Park Association, January 17, 1962 | |
| 49 | Letter to Member of the Board of Trustees of the Prairie View Memorial, January 4, 1963 | |
| 50 | Letter Permission to Install a Water Line Connecting with the Line Owned by Prairie View, April 24, 1963 | |
| 51 | Letter to Prairie View Memorial Park Association, June 10, 1963 | |
| 52 | Agreement Signed by the Members of the Committee, September 25, 1963 | |
| 53 | Agreement of the Establishment of a Water Control and Improvement, 1963 | |
| 54 | Letter to Property Owners in the District, August 9, 1965 | |
| 55 | Letter Concerning Meeting in Auditorium of Administration Building, April 6, 1967 | |
| 56 | Minutes of Meeting of Auditorium of the Administration Building, April 6, 1967 | |
| 57 | Minutes of Meeting of the Board of Directors, May 12, 1967 | |
| 58 | Minutes of Meeting held to Discuss Appointing Committee, May 3, 1967 | |
| 59 | Letter to Mr. Eric Johnson, Prairie View Texas, March 18, 1968 | |
| 60 | Some Unfinished Business on Behalf of the Association, March 20, 1968 | |
| 61 | Letter to the Board of Directors Prairie View Memorial Park Association March 22, 1968 | |
| 62 | A Draft of the Constitution and By- Laws, May 10, 1968 | |
| 63 | Brief Notes Taken from American Law, June 18, 1969 | |
| 64 | Some Suggestions and Regulations | |
| 65 | Petition for Organization of Water Control and Improvement District | |
| 66 | Fact Sheet about the Prairie View Community Memorial Park Association | |
| 67 | Membership List | |
| 68 | Proposed Architectural Drawing of Cemetery | |
| 69 | Proposed for the Establishment and Operation of a Prairie View Acres | |
| 70 | Letter to Employees of Prairie View A&M College |
Series 4: Correspondence, 1951-1966
Series 4.1: Student and Teacher Letters 1956-1966
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 3 | 1 | Letter to Graduating Seniors of Prairie View A&M University, Prairie View, Texas, May 13, 1956 |
| 2 | Prairie View A&M University Placement Service Bureau, Prairie View, Texas | |
| 3 | Circular Letter to Seniors, Juniors and Graduate Students, Prairie View, Texas, 1960-1961 | |
| 4 | Circular Letter to graduating Seniors and Graduate Students | |
| 5 | Circular Letter to Applications for Teaching Positions, Prairie View, Texas, June 9, 1961 | |
| 6 | Circular Letter sent to Applicants with credentials on file for teaching positions Prairie View, Texas; August 19, 1961 | |
| 7 | Circular Letter to Applications for teaching positions Prairie View, Texas, August 23, 1961 | |
| 8 | Circular Letter to Applicants for Federal Entrance Examination, November 1961 | |
| 9 | Circular Letter to Applicants for Federal Entrance Examination | |
| 10 | Circular Letter to Placement Services Applicants, Prairie View, Texas, November 10, 1961 | |
| 11 | Special Notice to Juniors, Seniors, and graduate Students, Prairie View, Texas, 1961 | |
| 12 | Announcement of Meeting for Seniors and Graduate Students, Prairie View, Texas, March 28, 1962 | |
| 13 | Circular Letter to Deans and Department heads, Prairie View, Texas, March 27, 1962 | |
| 14 | Circular Letter to Superintendents Public Schools, Personnel Directors and Principals | |
| 15 | Circular Letter to applicants on file, Prairie View, Texas; September 20, 1962 | |
| 16 | Announcement to Seniors and Graduate Students in teacher education; 1962 | |
| 17 | Office of Placement Service Notice to Graduate Students, Seniors and others | |
| 18 | Special Notice to Juniors, Seniors, and Graduate Students, Prairie View, Texas, 1962 | |
| 19 | Teacher Placement Service office of the Director, Announcement to Seniors, Graduate Students and others Interested, February 18, 1964 | |
| 20 | Letter, to Deans and Heads, Prairie View, Texas; November 1963 | |
| 21 | Special Notice, Prairie View, Texas to seniors in physical science, mathematics and engineering, 1963 | |
| 22 | Letter Plainfield, New Jersey, to O.J. Thomas, Prairie View, March 17, 1964 | |
| 23 | Letters from Prairie View, Texas to graduating Seniors and graduate students, May 14, 1964 | |
| 24 | Circular letter Prairie View, Texas to Superintendents of Public Schools, Personnel Directors and Principals, May 21, 1964 | |
| 25 | Placement Service- Circular letter to Deans and Officials and Departments Heads, 1966 |
Series 4.2: Correspondence from E.B. Evans, 1951-1964
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 3 | 26 | Correspondence of Oscar John Thomas and Edward Bertram Evans, 1946- 1966 |
| 27 | Correspondence September 20, 1951- March 15, 1952 | |
| 28 | Correspondence May 18, 1954- March 2, 1957 | |
| 29 | Correspondence November 21, 1957- January 4, 1962 | |
| 30 | Correspondence February 1, 1962- May 30, 1962 | |
| 31 | Correspondence June 13, 1962- October 1, 1962 | |
| 32 | Correspondence October 1, 1962- December 18, 1962 | |
| 33 | Correspondence January 8, 1963- March 7, 1963 | |
| 34 | Correspondence March 16, 1963- June 18, 1963 | |
| 35 | Correspondence June 24, 1963- May 29, 1964 | |
| 36 | Correspondence June 2, 1964- February 19, 1966 | |
| 37 | Correspondence January 6, 1964 | |
| 38 | Correspondence August 23, 1963 | |
| 39 | Correspondence August 18, 1961 | |
| 40 | Correspondence March 22, 1965 | |
| 41 | Correspondence July 23, 1965 | |
| 42 | Correspondence July 27, 1965 | |
| 43 | Correspondence September 23, 1965 | |
| 44 | Correspondence January 20, 1964 |
Series 4.3: General Correspondence, 1949-1967
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 4 | 1 | State Officers Leadership Training Schools Letters, July 26, 1949 |
| 2 | Letter to A&M System study committee on integration, May 11, 1956 | |
| 3 | Letter to A&M System study committee integration, July 30, 1956 | |
| 4 | Address before members of the graduating class O.J. Thomas High School, May 18 & May 23, 1958 | |
| 5 | Letter to O.J. Thomas, May 2, 1960 | |
| 6 | Letter to all staff members of Prairie View, October 1961 | |
| 7 | Baccalaureate service, August 19, 1962 | |
| 8 | Letter to Oscar John Thomas, January 3, 1963 | |
| 9 | Memorandum to Dean Department, May 3, 1963 | |
| 10 | Letter to Dean Directors and Department Heads, June 4, 1963 | |
| 11 | Letter to members of the system group life insurance program, August 25, 1967 |
Series 5: Education and Teaching Materials, 1949- 1963
Series 5.1: Student and Faculty Printed Materials, 1949-1963
| Box | Folder | Decription |
| 4 | 12 | Annual Faculty Debate, January 23, 1949 |
| 13 | Orientation and Registration Program, September 12-14, 1955 | |
| 14 | Schedule of Homecoming Activities, November 16,17,18, 1962 | |
| 15 | Homecoming Vesper Hour Sunday, November 18, 1962 | |
| 16 | 87th Annual Convocation Exercises, May 19, 1963 | |
| 17 | Directory of Graduates, May 1963 | |
| 18 | Information of the 1963 Summer School Faculty, June 5, 1963 |
Series 5.2: Texas State Teachers Association
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 4 | 19 | New frontiers in Public Education in Texas, November 23, 1950 |
| 20 | Report of Examination, August 31, 1958 | |
| 21 | Teacher State Association classroom, November 28, 1958 | |
| 22 | Presentation of J.S. Henry as first Vice President, November 26, 1958 | |
| 23 | Texas Teachers state Association constitution and bylaws, November 27-29, 1958 | |
| 24 | The constitution and by-law adopted at the 74th annual convention, November 27-29, 1958 | |
| 25 | Committee on editing and revising the constitution and by-laws, November 27-29, 1958 | |
| 26 | 74th annual convention Teacher Association of Texas, November 27-29, 1958 | |
| 27 | Texas Teachers State Association Annual Convention 74th Beaumont, November 27-29, 1958 | |
| 28 | 75th Annual Convention, November 28-30, 1957 | |
| 29 | Texas Teachers state convention Annual convention Beaumont, November 27-29, 1958 | |
| 30 | Texas Teachers state Association committee on editing and revising the constitution and by-laws, November 27-29, 1958 | |
| 31 | Texas Teachers state Association souvenir booklet Diamond Jubilee, November 26-28, 1959 | |
| 32 | 76th Annual convention Municipal Auditorium, November 24-26, 1960 | |
| 33 | 78th Annual Meeting Dallas Memorial Auditorium, October 25-27, 1962 | |
| 34 | 1963 Convention Official Roster official roster of Delegates and alternates, 1963 | |
| 35 | Teachers States Association of Texas Convention, 1964 | |
| 36 | Membership Fees for Teachers State Association, 1958 | |
| 37 | Collectors of 1958 Teachers State Association Membership Fees, November 4, 1958 | |
| 38 | Membership Campaign Vernon McDaniel Executive Secretary-Treasurer, 1958 – 1959 | |
| 39 | Letter to Association Collectors of Texas State Association fees, November 7, 1961 | |
| 40 | Interscholastic League Sections Challenging Horizons in Education, November 14, 1961 | |
| 41 | Prairie View A&M College enrollment of Membership, 1961 | |
| 42 | Letter to Association Collectors teacher State Association Fees, September 27, 1962 | |
| 43 | Prairie View A&M College Enrollment of Membership, October 26, 1962-1963 | |
| 44 | Information on Members, October24-26, 1963 |
Series 5.3: Texas Standard, 1939-1966
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 5 | 1 | Texas Standard, March 31, 1939 |
| 2 | Texas Standard, March-April 1951 | |
| 3 | Texas Standard, May-June 1951 | |
| 4 | Texas Standard, September 1951 | |
| 5 | Texas Colored Teachers State Association Beaumont Program, November 22-23, 1951 | |
| 6 | Texas Standard, May-June 1952 | |
| 7 | Texas Standard, September- October 1952 | |
| 8 | Texas Colored Teachers State Association Program, September- October 1952 | |
| 9 | Annual Convention State Association of Texas, 1953 | |
| 10 | Texas Standard, September- October 1953 | |
| 11 | Texas Standard, November- December 1953 | |
| 12 | Texas Standard, March- April 1954 | |
| 13 | Texas Standard, May- June 1954 | |
| 14 | Texas Standard, September- October 1954, | |
| 15 | Texas Standard, November- December 1954 | |
| 16 | Texas Standard, January- February 1955 | |
| 17 | Texas Standard, November- December 1955 | |
| 18 | Souvenir Program 71st Annual Convention Teachers State Association of Texas, November 24- 26, 1955 | |
| 19 | Texas Standard, May- June 1955 | |
| 20 | Texas Standard, January- February 1954 | |
| 21 | Texas Standard, January- February 1956 | |
| 22 | Texas Standard, May- June 1956 | |
| 23 | Texas Standard, September- October 1956 | |
| 24 | Texas Standard, March- April 1957 | |
| 25 | Texas Standard, September- October 1957 | |
| 26 | Texas Standard, January- February 1958 | |
| 27 | Texas Standard, March- April 1958 | |
| 28 | Texas Standard, May- June 1958 | |
| 29 | Texas Standard, September- October 1958 | |
| 30 | Texas Standard, November- December 1958 | |
| 31 | Texas Standard, January- February 1959 | |
| 32 | Texas Standard, March- April 1959 | |
| 33 | Texas Standard, May- June 1959 | |
| 34 | Texas Standard, September- October 1959 | |
| 35 | Texas Standard, November- December 1959 | |
| 36 | Texas Standard, January- February 1960 | |
| 37 | Texas Standard, March- April 1960 | |
| 38 | Texas Standard, May- June 1960 | |
| 39 | Texas Standard, September- December 1960 | |
| 40 | Texas Standard, November- December 1960 | |
| 41 | Texas Standard, March- April 1961 | |
| 42 | Texas Standard, September- October 1961 | |
| 43 | Texas Standard, May- June 1962 | |
| 44 | Texas Standard, September- October 1962 | |
| 45 | Texas Standard, May- June 1963 | |
| 46 | Texas Standard, May- June 1964 | |
| 47 | Texas Standard, March- April 1966 | |
| 48 | Texas Standard, January- February 1962 | |
| 49 | Texas Standard, November- December 1961 | |
| 50 | Texas Standard, November- December 1962 | |
| 51 | Texas Standard, January- February 1957 |
Series 5.4: State Conference on Negro Education
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 6 | 1 | The Purpose scope & function of Vocational Agriculture for Negroes in Texas, 1944 |
| 2 | Crime & Delinquency of Texas Negro Youth Growing out of the Present | |
| 3 | On the Education of Negroes, March 10, 1944 | |
| 4 | State Conference on Negro Education List of Committees, 1943 | |
| 5 | Health & Community Disorganization Conference on the Education of Negroes, 1946 | |
| 6 | List of Committees Conference on the Education of Negroes, 1946 | |
| 7 | Final Plans for Educational Conference on the Education of the Negroes, 1946 | |
| 8 | Physical & Mental Fitness of Negro Children Conference on the Education of Negroes, 1947 | |
| 9 | List of Committees Conference on the Education of Negroes, 1947 | |
| 10 | The Negro Administrator in the Public Schools of Texas Conference on the Education of Negros, 1952 | |
| 11 | The Ideal Products of Texas Public Schools Conference on the Education of Negroes, 1955 | |
| 12 | Vocational Aspiration of Negro Youth in Texas Conference on the Education of Negroes, 1956 | |
| 13 | Personal & Social Adjustment of Texas Youth Conference on the Education of Negroes, 1957 | |
| 14 | List of Committees Conference on the Education of Negroes, 1957 | |
| 15 | Tentative Outline for Program Conference on the Education of Negroes, 1957 | |
| 16 | Improving Mental by College Research Committee Conference on the Education of Negroes, 1957 | |
| 17 | Interests of Texas Youth & their Personal Adjustment, 1958 | |
| 18 | Who’s Attending the 29th Annual Conference on the Education of Negroes, 1958 | |
| 19 | Texas Youth Study Materials for Working Groups, 1958 | |
| 20 | The Negro Teacher in Public Schools, 1959 | |
| 21 | Perceptions of Cultural Problems of Negro Youth in Public Schools of Texas, March 1961 | |
| 22 | Higher Academic Achievement through Enriched Cultural Learning Experience, March 1962 | |
| 23 | The Changing World of Work Implications for Education Conference on the Education of Negroes | |
| 24 | Educational Conference Committee Meeting Minutes, January 4, 1963 | |
| 25 | The Changing World Education Conference on the Education of Negroes in Texas | |
| 26 | Testing in Relation to the Educational & Social Adjustments of the Culturally Deprived Conference on the Education of Negroes in Texas, March 6, 1964 | |
| 27 | List of Committees Conference on the Education of Negroes in Texas, 1964 |
Series 5.5: Texas Employment and Job Postings, 1966
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 6 | 28 | Teacher Placement Association of Texas Memorandum of Officers, 1966 |
| 29 | Job Announcements | |
| 30 | Vocational Opportunities for Negroes in Texas, March 20, 1939 | |
| 31 | Joint activities in homemaking and vocational agriculture in Texas, 1943-44 |
Series 6: Texas Association of New Farmers
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 6 | 32 | Score cards for the New Farmers of America, 1935-36 |
| 33 | Agricultural Education 373 final exam, May 14, 1941 | |
| 34 | NFA Creed song for New Farmers, May 1942 | |
| 35 | The Prairie View Collegiate Chapter of NFA, 1933-34 | |
| 36 | Empty Folder | |
| 37 | Proceedings of the 20th convention and the state NFA | |
| 38 | Course outline for Agriculture Education 442 for summers 1 and 2, 1941 | |
| 39 | Steps in farming the N.F.A. way, 1945 | |
| 40 | Suggested design for the Collegiate Chapters of New Farmers of America | |
| 41 | Report of Joint Program work in Texas, Feb. 1943 | |
| 42 | Agriculture Education Course for summer 1, 1943 | |
| 7 | 1 | Minutes of Meeting of Adult National Officers of the New Farmers of America, October 18-21, 1943 |
| 2 | Courses in Agricultural Education 442-1 Prairie View State Normal & Industrial, 1943 | |
| 3 | New Farmers of America building better NFA chapter programs & notes, September 16, 1943 | |
| 4 | Minutes of meeting of committee in revising NFA Farms and working out, November 1943 | |
| 5 | Program NFA leadership Training School, Feb 25, 1944 | |
| 6 | Progress report of Negro teachers training of Agricultural Education, March 20-23, 1944 | |
| 7 | Minutes of meeting of adult officers of National organization of New Farmer, June 8, 1944 | |
| 8 | Minutes NFA leadership class educations 502, June 9-28, 1944 | |
| 9 | Leadership training school for National Board of Trustees, New Farmer of America, 1944 | |
| 10 | Program officers NFA leadership training school & executive cabinet meeting, 1944-1945 | |
| 11 | Announcements of rules for National quiz contest, 1945 | |
| 12 | Program official NFA leadership training school & executive cabinet meeting, June 14-16, 1945 | |
| 13 | Plans for future New Farmers of America Texas Association, June 1945 | |
| 14 | Staff conference at PV, May 9, 1945 | |
| 15 | Test Agricultural education 442-1, June 22, 1946 | |
| 16 | Program of the Homecoming Convention, Aug 11-18, 1948 | |
| 17 | Program of state NFA Officers' Leadership Training School for State, August 22-23, 1949 | |
| 18 | Abilities every NFA Advisor Should Possess | |
| 19 | General Outline of Course Agricultural Education 502 NFA leadership |
Series 7: Texas Interscholastic League Records, 1941-1967
Series 7.1: Administrative and Financial Records, 1941-1967
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 7 | 20 | Rules for the District, Regional, and State of PV Interscholastic League, 1965-1967 |
| 21 | Proceeding of the State Committee on Rules and Regulations, August 29, 1939 | |
| 22 | Proceedings of the Meeting of the Committee of the Interscholastic League, October 2, 1939 | |
| 23 | Proceedings of the meeting of Coaches from Districts of the Texas Interscholastic, December 16, 1939 | |
| 24 | Proceedings of the Annual Meeting of the Executive Committee and Coaches, May 18, 1940 | |
| 25 | Program of Committee and Assignment of judges, Apr 21, 1945 | |
| 26 | Proceedings of the meeting of the Rules Committee of the Interscholastic League, June 7, 1941 | |
| 27 | Proceedings of the Meeting of Representatives of Class AA High Schools, June 7, 1941 | |
| 28 | Rules and Regulations Governing Class AA Football and Basketball, Sep 1945 | |
| 29 | Enrollments Fee Paid By Class AA Schools, 1944-45 | |
| 30 | Report of the Meeting of Principals of Class AA High Schools, Sept 29, 1945 | |
| 31 | Adult Report of the Texas Interscholastic League of Colored Schools, Sep 1, 1949 | |
| 32 | Budget of the Fiscal Year Beginning, Sep 1, 1951 | |
| 8 | 1 | Duties of the Director of the Interscholastic League, 1954 |
| 2 | Annual Report of Activities of the Texas Interscholastic, August 31, 1951 | |
| 3 | Nature and Purpose of the Interscholastic League Program, January 8, 1958 | |
| 4 | Agenda Meeting of the Legislative Advisory Council, January 20, 1960 | |
| 5 | Minutes of Executive Committee Report on Waco V. Austin, November 1, 1960 | |
| 6 | Budget Control Statements, 1960, 1961, 1962 | |
| 7 | Protest to the Director of the Texas Interscholastic League Regarding, January 31, 1963 | |
| 8 | Request for Auth. to carry over unused Annual leave for the fiscal year, 1963-64 | |
| 9 | Meeting held February 6, 1964 | |
| 10 | State Band Festival Prairie View, March 12-14, 1964 | |
| 11 | Minutes of a Special Call meeting of the Legislative Council, May 8, 1965 | |
| 12 | Agenda Meeting of the Legislative Advisory Council Memorial, May 8, 1964 | |
| 13 | Meeting of Legislative Council Membership Subcommittee, March 29, 1965 | |
| 14 | Memorandum for Meeting March 27, 1965 | |
| 15 | Minutes of Joint Meeting of the Prairie View Interscholastic, June 30, 1967 | |
| 16 | 24th Annual Interscholastic League Meeting Program April 22, 1944 | |
| 17 | 33rd Annual State Meet of the Texas Interscholastic League of Colored Schools, 1953 | |
| 18 | Official Program of the 35th Annual State Meet of the Texas Interscholastic League of Colored Schools, 1955 | |
| 19 | Official Program of the 36th Annual State Meet of the Texas Interscholastic League of Colored Schools, 1956 | |
| 20 | Master Schedule of Activities 34th Annual State meet of Interscholastic League of Colored Schools, 1954 | |
| 21 | Official Program of the 24th Annual Prairie View Relay Golf and Tennis Tournaments, 1956 | |
| 22 | Official Program of the 39th Annual State meet of the Texas Interscholastic League of Colored Schools, 1959 | |
| 23 | Official Program of the 37th Annual State Meet of the Texas Interscholastic League of Colored Schools, 1957 | |
| 24 | 40th Annual State Meet of the Texas Interscholastic League of Colored Schools, 1960 | |
| 25 | Rules and Regulations for the district regional and state contestants of the Texas Interscholastic League of Colored Schools, 1961 | |
| 26 | 41st Annual State of the Texas Interscholastic League of Colored Schools, 1961 | |
| 27 | 42nd Annual State Meet of the Texas Interscholastic League of Colored Schools, 1962 | |
| 28 | 43rd Annual State meet of the Texas Interscholastic League of Colored Schools, 1963 |
Series 7.2: League Reporter, 1951-1966
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 7 | 33 | League Reporter Interscholastic, September 8, 1951 |
| 34 | League Reporter Interscholastic, February 1952 | |
| 35 | League Reporter Interscholastic, August 21, 1962 | |
| 36 | League Reporter Interscholastic, December 17, 1963 | |
| 37 | League Reporter Interscholastic, August 21, 1964 | |
| 38 | League Reporter Interscholastic, August 1966 |
Series 7.3: Correspondence and Memos, 1958-1963
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 8 | 29 | Post Cards, 1961-1963 |
| 30 | Texas Interscholastic League of Colored School, February 27, 1956- September 4, 1958 | |
| 31 | Texas Interscholastic League of Colored School, 1958-1959 | |
| 32 | Texas Interscholastic League of Colored School, 1959-1960 | |
| 33 | Texas Interscholastic League of Colored School, April-October 1960 | |
| 34 | Texas Interscholastic League of Colored School, October 1960- February 1961 | |
| 35 | Texas Interscholastic League of Colored School, February-March 1961 | |
| 36 | Texas Interscholastic League of Colored School, March-May 1961 | |
| 37 | Texas Interscholastic League of Colored School, June-August 1961 | |
| 38 | Texas Interscholastic League of Colored School, August-September 1961 | |
| 39 | Texas Interscholastic League of Colored School, September 8-14 | |
| 40 | Texas Interscholastic League of Colored School, September 14-19 | |
| 41 | Texas Interscholastic League of Colored School, September 19-25 | |
| 42 | Texas Interscholastic League of Colored School, September 25, 1961- October 2,1961 | |
| 43 | Texas Interscholastic League of Colored School, October 2-6, 1961 | |
| 44 | Texas Interscholastic League of Colored School, October 6, 1961- October 13, 1961 | |
| 45 | Texas Interscholastic League of Colored School, October 13-19, 1961 | |
| 46 | Letter to Alvin I. Thomas; June 6, 1967 | |
| 9 | 1 | Correspondence, January 14-17, 1964 |
| 2 | Correspondence, January 17-22,1964 | |
| 3 | Correspondence, January 21-27, 1964 | |
| 4 | Correspondence, January 27- Feb 3, 1964 | |
| 5 | Correspondence, February 3-7, 1964 | |
| 6 | Correspondence, February 7-13, 1964 | |
| 7 | Correspondence, February 13-17, 1964 | |
| 8 | Correspondence, February 17-20, 1964 | |
| 9 | Correspondence, February 20-26, 1964 | |
| 10 | Correspondence, February 26- March 5, 1964 | |
| 11 | Correspondence, March 5-12,1964 | |
| 12 | Correspondence, March 12-23,1964 | |
| 13 | Correspondence, March 23-April 4,1964 | |
| 14 | Correspondence, April 6-13, 1964 | |
| 15 | Correspondence, April 20,1964 | |
| 16 | Correspondence, Apr 23-28, 1964 | |
| 17 | Correspondence, April 28-May 6,1964 | |
| 18 | Correspondence, May 8-14, 1964 | |
| 19 | Correspondence, May 14-June 1, 1964 | |
| 20 | Correspondence, June 4-5, 1964 | |
| 21 | Correspondence, June 5-8, 1964 | |
| 22 | Correspondence, June 8-22, 1964 | |
| 23 | Correspondence, Aug 10-31, 1964 | |
| 24 | Correspondence, March 30, 1965-March 10,1966 | |
| 25 | Correspondence, March 10-28, 1966 | |
| 26 | Correspondence, March 28-April 7, 1966 | |
| 27 | Correspondence, April 7-20, 1966 | |
| 28 | Correspondence, May 17- 21, 1966 | |
| 29 | Correspondence, May 27-September 12,1966 | |
| 30 | Correspondence, August 15-26,1966 | |
| 31 | Correspondence, Undated | |
| 32 | Correspondence, Undated | |
| 33 | Correspondence, Undated | |
| 10 | 1 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, October 20- 25, 1961 |
| 2 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, October 25- 31, 1961 | |
| 3 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, October- November 1961 | |
| 4 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, November 3- 9, 1961 | |
| 5 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, November 9- 15, 1961 | |
| 6 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, November 15- 18, 1961 | |
| 7 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, November 18- 22, 1961 | |
| 8 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, November 23- 29, 1961 | |
| 9 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, November 30- December 4, 1961 | |
| 10 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, December 4- 5, 1961 | |
| 11 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, December 6- 9, 1961 | |
| 12 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, December 7- 15, 1961 | |
| 13 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, December 15- 28, 1961 | |
| 14 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, January 2- 4, 1962 | |
| 15 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, January 4- 8, 1962 | |
| 16 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, January 8- 11, 1962 | |
| 17 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, January 11- 13, 1962 | |
| 18 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, January 14- 16, 1962 | |
| 19 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, January 16- 19, 1962 | |
| 20 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, January 19- 23, 1962 | |
| 21 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, January 23- 25, 1962 | |
| 22 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, January 25- 29, 1962 | |
| 23 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, January 20- 30, 1962 | |
| 24 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, January 30- February 2, 1962 | |
| 25 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, February 2- 6, 1962 | |
| 26 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, February 6- 7, 1962 | |
| 27 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, February 8- 12, 1962 | |
| 28 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, February 12- 14, 1962 | |
| 29 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, February 14- 17, 1962 | |
| 30 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, February 17- 22, 1962 | |
| 31 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, February 23- 28, 1962 | |
| 32 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, February 28- March 4, 1962 | |
| 33 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, March 5- 12, 1962 | |
| 34 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, March 12- 14, 1962 | |
| 35 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, March 14, 1962 | |
| 36 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, March 14- 20, 1962 | |
| 11 | 1 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, March 20-23, 1962 |
| 2 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, March 23-29, 1962 | |
| 3 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, March 29-April 5, 1962 | |
| 4 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, April 6-12, 1962 | |
| 5 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, April 13-18, 1962 | |
| 6 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, April 19-30, 1962 | |
| 7 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, May 1-9, 1962 | |
| 8 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, May 8-22, 1962 | |
| 9 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, May 22-June 11, 1962 | |
| 10 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, June 5-11, 1962 | |
| 11 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, July 3-August 23, 1962 | |
| 12 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, August 24-September 4, 1962 | |
| 13 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, August 28-September 11, 1962 | |
| 14 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, September 13-18, 1962 | |
| 15 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, September 18-20, 1962 | |
| 16 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, September 20-25, 1962 | |
| 17 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, September 26-October 2, 1962 | |
| 18 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, October 3-9, 1962 | |
| 19 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, October 9-11, 1962 | |
| 20 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, October 11-17, 1962 | |
| 21 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, October 18-24, 1962 | |
| 22 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, October 24-30, 1962 | |
| 23 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, October 30-November 5, 1962 | |
| 24 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, November 5-8, 1962 | |
| 25 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, November 8-13, 1962 | |
| 26 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, November 13-16, 1962 | |
| 27 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, November 18-20, 1962 | |
| 28 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, November 20-21, 1962 | |
| 29 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, November 21-26, 1962 | |
| 30 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, November 26-30, 1962 | |
| 31 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, December 1-7, 1962 | |
| 32 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, December 7-12, 1962 | |
| 33 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, December 12-18, 1962 | |
| 34 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, December 19, 1962 - January 2, 1963 | |
| 35 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, January 2-3, 1963 | |
| 36 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, January 3-8, 1963 | |
| 12 | 1 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, January 8-15, 1963 |
| 2 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, January 15-18, 1963 | |
| 3 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, January 18-23, 1963 | |
| 4 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, January 23-27, 1963 | |
| 5 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, January 27-30, 1963 | |
| 6 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, January 30-February 1, 1963 | |
| 7 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, February 1-6, 1963 | |
| 8 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, February 6-9, 1963 | |
| 9 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, February 9-13, 1963 | |
| 10 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, February 13-18, 1963 | |
| 11 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, February 18-22, 1963 | |
| 12 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, May 2, 1950-April 10, 1954 | |
| 13 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, February 27-March 4, 1963 | |
| 14 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, March 4-12, 1963 | |
| 15 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, March 12-14, 1963 | |
| 16 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, March 14-18, 1963 | |
| 17 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, March 18-20, 1963 | |
| 18 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, March 20-22, 1963 | |
| 19 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, March 23-26, 1963 | |
| 20 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, March 26-April 1, 1963 | |
| 21 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, April 1-4, 1963 | |
| 22 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, April 5-11, 1963 | |
| 23 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, April 16-23, 1963 | |
| 24 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, April 23-29, 1963 | |
| 25 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, May 1-10, 1963 | |
| 26 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, May 10-27, 1963 | |
| 27 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, May 27-June 26, 1963 | |
| 28 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, June 27-July 22, 1963 | |
| 29 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, July 22-August 17, 1963 | |
| 30 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, August 20-September 4, 1963 | |
| 31 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, September 4-6, 1963 | |
| 32 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, September 6-12, 1963 | |
| 33 | Interscholastic League Correspondence, September 12-20, 1963 | |
| 13 | 1 | Correspondence for the Week of, September 20,1963 |
| 2 | Correspondence for the Week of, September 26,1963 | |
| 3 | Correspondence for the Week of, October 7,1963 | |
| 4 | Correspondence for the Week of, October 15,1963 | |
| 5 | Correspondence for the Week of, October 21,1963 | |
| 6 | Correspondence for the Week of, October 29,1963 | |
| 7 | Correspondence for the Week of, November 5,1963 | |
| 8 | Correspondence for the Week of, November 11,1963 | |
| 9 | Correspondence for the Week of, November 18, 1963 | |
| 10 | Correspondence for the Week of, December 2,1963 | |
| 11 | Correspondence for the Week of, December 10, 1963 | |
| 12 | Correspondence for the Week of, December 17, 1963 | |
| 13 | Correspondence for the Week of, January 6,1963 | |
| 14 | Correspondence #3, April 29, 1963 | |
| 15 | Correspondence #2 | |
| 16 | NF #1 |
Series 8: Personal Materials
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 13 | 17 | The Development of. O.J. Thomas High School during the last 15 years, 1938 |
| 18 | Oscar John Collection of Poems | |
| 19 | Meeting the changing needs in a complete program of farmer training for a local community | |
| 20 | Person paying Poll-tax precinct #15 to vote, January 31, 1963 | |
| 21 | Information-Poll-Tax, February 10, 1963 | |
| 22 | Person paying Poll tax precinct #15 to vote in 1964 election, January 31, 1964 | |
| 23 | Person paying Poll tax precinct #15 to vote in 1965 election, January 30, 1965 | |
| 24 | Letter to employees of Prairie View A&M, January 20, 1965 | |
| 25 | Funeral program for William H. Stinah Burks, May 2, 1953 | |
| 26 | Funeral service for Mr. Thomas Jefferson Downs, September 29, 1959 | |
| 27 | In memorium Mrs. Marie Juanita Davis, October 10, 1959 | |
| 28 | Obsequies for Miss Mary Ann Johnson, June 12, 1958 | |
| 29 | Funeral service, January 23, 1960 | |
| 30 | Obsequies of Ms. Elizabeth J. McDonald, July 16, 1960 | |
| 31 | Funeral service for Mrs. Pearl W. Sanders, June 30, 1959 | |
| 32 | Home-going services of Mrs. Lula B. White, July 12, 1957 | |
| 33 | Tribute to George W. Buchanan by Edward Bertram, June 18, 1962 | |
| 34 | Tribute to Mrs. Barbara R. William by Edward Bertram | |
| 35 | Labor Day- more than a holiday article, September 1, 1959 | |
| 36 | Texas Bulletin 573 Reprinted, 1956 | |
| 37 | Black history program, February 2022 | |
| 38 | Biography, undated | |
| 39 | brief report of the activities of placement service, 1963-1964 | |
| 40 | O. J. and Bessie Thomas Collection, MSS.1309, May 2017 | |
| 41 | A Sure Foundation book article, undated | |
| 42 | The Prairie View Standard, December 1951 | |
| 43 | Obituary, January 1977 | |
| 44 | Correspondence from President A. I. Thomas to The All Faith Chapel Fund | |
| 45 | hand-written biography, undated | |
| 46 | correspondence on Waller’s biography from J. B. Rutland |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
