Creator: John Granville Osborne
Title of Collection: The Principals and Presidents: John Granville Osborne Papers
Dates: 1910-1981
Extent: 3 folders (.25 linear feet)
Abstract: The John Granville Osborne Papers include materials relating to the tenure of John Granville Osborne, sixth principal of Prairie View A & M University (then Prairie View State Normal and Industrial College).
Biographical Note: John Granville Osborne (born February 2, 1872, died January 23, 1940) was a medical physician and the sixth principal of Prairie View A&M University whose tenure lasted from 1918 to 1925. During his term the physical plant was vastly improved, the military program was established, the nursing division established in 1918, and four senior college programs begun in 1919.
Arrangement: The collection is in no particular order. Materials within the Photocopies series have been arranged into the subseries of photographs and printed material.
Identification: UA00198
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Complied by Anna Gaffey, 2013. Revised by Evelyn Davis, June 2024
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA00198
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The John Granville Osborne Collection, UA00198, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
Related Material: Related material may be found in the Special Collections/Archives Department Vertical Files and the Rare Books Collection. SCAD also has photograph holdings relating to John Granville Osborne. Ask a member of the SCAD staff for assistance.
African American Educators.
Osborne, John Granville, 1872-1940.
Prairie View Normal and Industrial College (Prairie View, TX)
Prairie View (TX).
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
