Creator: The Houston Defender
Title of Collection: The African American Newspaper Collection: Houston Defender
Dates: circa 1971-2004; Bulk Dates: 1987-1988
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
Abstract: Houston Defender is an African American newspaper published weekly in Houston, Texas. The newspaper was established on October 11, 1930, by C. F. Richardson Sr.
Biographical Note: Houston Defender is an African American newspaper published weekly in Houston, Texas. The newspaper was established on October 11, 1930, by C. F. Richardson Sr.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by publication title and chronological order by volumes and years of each newspaper.
Identification: UA 0044
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
The Houston Defender is an African American newspaper published weekly in Houston, Texas. The newspaper was established on October 11, 1930, by C. F. Richardson Sr.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0044
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The Houston Defender Newspaper Collection, UA0044, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
African Americans.
African American newspapers.
African American newspapers--Sections, columns, etc.
African American newspapers--Southern States--History.
African American newspapers--Texas--Newspapers.
African Americans—Texas.
African Americans--Texas--Newspapers.
Harris County (Tex.)—Newspapers.
Houston (Tex.)—Newspapers.
Newspapers.
| Box | Title/Description/Date |
| 1 | Houston Defender, v.28/no.1 8/6-8/12/1987 |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
