Creator: Myrtle E. Garrett
Title of Collection: Myrtle E. Garrett Papers
Dates: 1945-1979
Extent: 3 Linear Ft.
Abstract: The Myrtle E. Garrett Papers cover her time at the Prairie View campus between 1945-1979. The collection includes articles, manuals, teaching plans, and handbooks, all written by Mrs. Garrett. Additionally, there are pictures of different conferences, award banquets, small gatherings, and 4-H members, also included in this collection.
Biographical Note: Myrtle E. Garrett was a faculty member at the Prairie View campus between 1945-1979. The collection includes articles, manuals, teaching plans, and handbooks, all written by Mrs. Garrett. Additionally, there are pictures of different conferences, award banquets, small gatherings, and 4-H members, also included in this collection.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in five series. Each series is arranged by date in chronological order.
Series I Teaching Materials (Co-operative extension)
Series II Printed Materials certificates
Series III Speeches & Writings
Series IV Photographs
Series V Cooperative Extension
Identification: UA 0028
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0028
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: Myrtle E. Garrett Papers. UA 0028. Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
African American educators
African American educators--Texas
Photographs
Historically Black Colleges & Universities
HBCUs (Historically Black colleges and universities)
Prairie View A&M University
Negro 4-H Clubs
4-H clubs—Texas
Garrett, Myrtle E
Series 1:Teaching Materials
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 1 | 1 | Your Job as An Extension Aide; July 1969 |
| 2 | How Are You Doing? A Checklist for Program Aides; 1969 | |
| 3 | Ten steps to better Interpersonal Communication; August 1970 | |
| 4 | Culture, class, and the Behavior of Low-income families, 1963 | |
| 5 | Factors Which Influence Learning; 1970 | |
| 6 | How Adults Learn; 1970 | |
| 7 | How to Teach Homemakers; 1970 | |
| 8 | Limit income- Built-in Barriers; December 1970 | |
| 9 | The Importance of Aides- Teaching Plan; 1970 | |
| 10 | Limit Income- Task: Recruiting youth; December 14th, 1970 | |
| 11 | The Importance of Aides- Teaching Plan; 1970 | |
| 12 | Ways you can help the aides be more effective; 1970 | |
| 13 | Detecting Values; 1971 | |
| 14 | Limited Income- Working Home Visit; Aug. 1971 | |
| 15 | Human Needs Teaching Plan revised: 1971 | |
| 16 | Limited Income – Recruiting Volunteers; April 1971 | |
| 17 | Profiles of Poverty; 1971 | |
| 18 | Limited Income- Profiles of Poverty; Jan. 1971 | |
| 19 | Profiles of Poverty; 1971 | |
| 20 | Working with People in Small Groups; 1971 | |
| 21 | Working with People in Small Groups (revised); Jan. 1971 | |
| 22 | Ideas for Working with Disadvantaged Families; 1972 | |
| 23 | Extension Volunteer Leaders; Aug. 1973 | |
| 24 | Human Value; Jan. 1973 | |
| 25 | Limited Income- Motivating People in Groups; Oct. 1973 | |
| 26 | Limited Income- Roles and Role Relationships | |
| 27 | Suggested Training for Extension Agents; 1973 | |
| 28 | Potentialities of the Volunteer Leader; Aug. 1973 | |
| 29 | Understanding and Working with Low-Income People; 1974 | |
| 30 | Limited Income- Reaching the Audience; Jan. 1975 | |
| 31 | Meeting Notes- First Personal National Bank; April 20th, 1976 | |
| 32 | Home Visits- Notes For Training | |
| 33 | How to Teach Homemakers- Teaching Plan | |
| 34 | Limited Income- Guide for Developing a Program | |
| 35 | Limited Income- Keeping Leaders Productive | |
| 36 | Limited Income- Motion Picture (The Deprived) | |
| 37 | Limited Income- Need Chart | |
| 38 | Limited Income- Reaction on Home Visit | |
| 39 | Limited Income- Value Review | |
| 40 | Limited Income- Volunteer Training | |
| 41 | Limited Income- Working Definition | |
| 42 | General Problem in Supervising the Disadvantaged | |
| 43 | Volunteer Leader Training | |
| 44 | Cooking Mats |
Series 2: Printed Materials
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 2 | 1 | Delta Newsletter; Jan/Feb 1976 |
| 2 | Review of Extension Research; 1956 | |
| 3 | Parents and Babies; March 1966 | |
| 4 | Strengthening Community Services in Low-Income Neighborhoods; 1967 | |
| 5 | Working with the Disadvantaged; Oct. 1968 | |
| 6 | Breaking the Poverty Cycle in Texas; 1969 | |
| 7 | Model Cities Program; 1970 | |
| 8 | Status Projections & Ethnicity; March/April 1971 | |
| 9 | Texas Agricultural Extension Conference Highlights; 1972 | |
| 10 | To Help Improve Teaching; 1974 | |
| 11 | For Americans Back to a Simple Life; March 24, 1975 | |
| 12 | Certificates; 1963-1975 | |
| 13 | A Book of Christmas Meditations; Dec. | |
| 14 | Thoughts to Remember, YMCA | |
| 15 | Helping Parents Teach Young Children; April 1966 | |
| 16 | newspaper clippings, 1974 |
Series 3: Speeches & Writings
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 2 | 16 | Your Challenge to Become- Address; December 15, 1957 |
| 17 | Challenging Horizons in Home Economic Extension Education Address | |
| 18 | Installation Ceremony | |
| 19 | Growth Unlimited | |
| 20 | Count Your Blessing | |
| 21 | The Wonderful World of Books | |
| 22 | Your Challenge to Become Notes | |
| 23 | Highlights of Lee Chapel | |
| 24 | Making Your Influence Felt | |
| 25 | Responsibilities and Opportunities of Home Demonstration Club | |
| 26 | Our Challenge of Change Address | |
| 27 | Woman’s Example to Women Address | |
| 28 | Address to Home Economic Program Assistance | |
| 29 | Boundless Horizons | |
| 30 | Induction | |
| 31 | Missionary Spirit of the 70s | |
| 32 | Misc. Poems |
Series 4: Photographs
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 3 | 1 | Extension Pictures |
Series 5: Cooperative Extension, 1948-1976
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 3 | 2 | Conference/ Meeting Notes 1948-1949 |
| 3 | Correspondence 1950 | |
| 4 | Correspondence 1951 | |
| 5 | Correspondence 1952 | |
| 6 | Memorandum to Extension Agents; Jan. 17, 1975 | |
| 7 | Travel Expenses 1952 | |
| 8 | Staff Members Report 1953 | |
| 9 | Minutes of Planning Session; April 12, 1976 | |
| 10 | Epsilon Sigma Phi Fraternity Inc. Transfer of Membership Form | |
| 11 | USDA Superior Service Award nomination binder | |
| 12 | Mug Book |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
