Creator: Pauline D. Bonner
Title of Collection: Pauline D. Bonner Papers
Dates: 1929-1980
Extent: .25 linear Ft. (½ box)
Abstract: The Pauline D. Bonner Papers consist of letters, programs, and certificates pertaining to her time working at Prairie View A&M University
Biographical Note: Born in 1942, Pauline Dolly Pollitt was born to Son and Velma Pollitt on December 8, 1942, in Galveston, Texas. Pauline was a professor of Business Administration beginning in 1969. She directed the PVAMU chapter of the National Urban League's Black Executive Exchange Program (BEEP) for the Fall 1978 semester. BEEP was designed in 1969 to bring to the college campus an inside look at the professional world of work. This year -BEEP's Tenth Anniversary Year -close to 400 black executive and professional men and women on loan from corporate and government sectors -will serve as "Visiting Professors" in such BEEP credit-bearing courses as Advertising, Chemistry, and Business Law. The expenses for their visits will be picked up by their employers. BEEP has been on the Prairie View A&M University campus since 1972. Bonner later became the director of alumni affairs.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged into two series:
Series I Correspondence, 1929-1980
Series II Certificates & Programs, 1928-1980
Identification: UA 0002
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0002
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: Pauline D. Bonner Papers. UA 0002. Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
African Americans.
African Americans—Texas.
Galveston (Tex.)
Prairie View A&M University.
Prairie View (Tex.)
Bonner, Pauline D., 1942
| Series 1: Correspondence, 1929-1980 | ||
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 1 | 1 | Evan, Edward Bertram, Letters, Prairie View, Texas to Mary L. Johnson Los Angeles, California. ALS Evans acknowledgement to Johnson’s expression of Sympathy on the death of his wife. |
| 2 | Prairie View, Texas, Letter to Mary L. Jones, Los Angeles, California. By Evans. | |
| 3 | Houston, Texas, College for Negroes. Letter to Mary Jones-Johnson; Sept 3, 1935 | |
| 4 | Taylor, Hobart, Letter to Mary Jones-Johnson, Los Angeles, California; June 28, 1965 | |
| 5 | Article, "Mary L. Johnson”, Houston Informer Newspaper “Biological Information”; June 1, 1972 | |
| 6 | Prairie View A&M University class of 1932 stationary | |
| 7 | Langston Hughes presented in a lecture reading of his own poems. College Auditorium. Prairie View, Texas; April 3, 1932 | |
| 8 | Recital Program, held in Auditorium at Prairie View State Normal & Industrial College | |
| 9 | Concert Choir, presents the Holy City Canata by A.R. Gaul, College auditorium; March 27, 1931 | |
| 10 | Marian Anderson, Contralto in Recital, College auditorium. Prairie View, Texas; October 18, 1929 | |
| 11 | Taylor, Hobart, Letter to Mary L. Johnson, Los Angeles, California; January 24, 1968 | |
| 12 | Letter to John Gary, Los Angeles, California, July 14, 1968 | |
| 13 | Robbins, Leonard R. Letter to Mary L. Johnson, Houston, Texas; May 19,1970 | |
| 14 | Evans, Will, Letter to Beatrice Flemmings, Fulshear, Texas; August 23, 1929 | |
| 15 | Lape, A Letter to Hazel Bowers, Little Rock, Arkansas; December 1, 1970 | |
| 16 | Fortenberry, John, Letter to, Little Rock, Arkansas; May 26, 1972 | |
| 17 | Gift, Pauline Bonner; 1980 | |
| 18 | Tatum, Hazel, Newspaper Clipping; Portraits | |
| 19 | Speech presented to Omega Gamma Chapter, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., Rush Party, September 1982 | |
| Series 2: Certificates and Programs | ||
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 1 | 20 | Trinity Baptist Church. Organ Guild Reception, held at the home of Mr. And Mrs. General S. Johnson, Houston, Texas; June 9, 1948 |
| 21 | Mount Corinth Baptist Church, Certificate of Appreciations for Libbie Brown, Hempstead, Texas | |
| 22 | Waller school district Appreciation to Libbie Brown for 33 years of service | |
| 23 | Den Leader appreciation Certificate, Presented to Libbie Brown; February 1, 1981 | |
| 24 | Distinguished Educator Award, presented to Libbie Brown; 1980 | |
| 25 | San Jacinto Girl Scout council, Certificate for Outstanding Achievement To Libbie Brown; 1976-1977 | |
| 26 | Natural Association for the Advancement of Colored People Certificate of Life Membership to Bernice F. Ford; January 1965 | |
| 27 | Waller Elementary School, Certificate of Merit, Libbie Brown; 1974-1975 | |
| 28 | Invitation, Junior-Senior Dinner Dance, College Dining Hall; May 9, 1931 | |
| 29 | Hazel, Tatum, Lyric Soprano is presented in Recital by Delta Sigma Theta Sorority; May 11, 1947 | |
| 30 | Patriots Leadership Foundation, Certificate presented to Beatrice F. Ford | |
| 31 | Young Womens’ Christian Association. Blue Triangle Branch, Houston, Texas; May 13, 1970 | |
| 32 | Libbie Brown Collector, Photographic Portraits | |
| 33 | 39 Photoprints, Bower Hazel, collector; 1928-1932 | |
| 34 | Citation of Appreciation for Libbie Brown’s Dedication of Service to Teaching; 1975 | |
| 35 | Class of 1932 Presents Flag, (3 prints); November 28, 1942 | |
| 36 | Senior Class of 1932, Student Portraits | |
| 37 | Willette Rutherford, Banks Portrait; 1951 | |
| 38 | Administration Building; 1932 | |
| 39 | Coversheet for invitation for Junior-Senior Prom; 1932-1933 | |
| 40 | Sport Sparks. Article, appearing in the Panther; 1929-1930 | |
| 41 | Recital, Ernestine Jessie Covington; May 16, 1930 | |
| 42 | Hillard, Roley w/ Portrait | |
| 43 | Invitation. Commencement exercises. College Auditorium; May 17, 1930 | |
| 44 | Huckalay, Artye Meka (Henry) Portrait |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
