Creator: Students of Prairie View State College
Title of Collection: The Prairie View Newspaper Collection: The Panther Newspaper
Dates: 1933-2018
Bulk Dates: 1950-2010
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (36 boxes)
Abstract: The Panther Newspaper Collection is a part of the University Archives Newspaper collection. The newspaper publication has over fifty boxes of each copy that were preserved by the Special Collections and Archives staff.
Biographical Note: “The Panther” newspaper was a student publication started at The Prairie View State Normal and Industrial College with the mission to tell the voice of the student population and advocate exciting news around campus. The origins of the newspapers are unknown, including which department helped create the publication. The only information available is that the newspapers were printed by the Printing Department of Prairie View State College in the 1940s. The Panther is a non-profit, self-supporting publication. All editorials published are discussed and written by the editorial staff. In the 1990s, the newspaper changed publishing to biweekly only and ceased until 2018.
Sources: Prairie View A&M University. (1985). Panther - October 1985 - Vol. LXIII, NO. 2., Vol. LXIII, NO. 2 Retrieved from https://digitalcommons.pvamu.edu/pv-panther-newspapers/270
Prairie View A&M University. (1990). Panther - November 1990. Retrieved from https://digitalcommons.pvamu.edu/pv-panther-newspapers/335
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by publication title and chronological order by volumes and years of the newspaper. The box numbering is not consistent and currently is housed by the years only on Range One in Room 505B.
Identification: UA 0075
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Complied by: Evelyn Davis August 2023
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0075
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The Panther Newspaper Collection, UA0075, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
African Americans.
African American newspapers.
African American newspaper editors.
African American newspapers--Sections, columns, etc.
African American newspapers--Southern States--History.
African American newspapers--Texas--Newspapers.
African Americans—Texas.
African Americans--Texas--Newspapers.
African Americans--Texas--Waller County.
Newspapers.
Waller County (Tex.)
Waller County (Tex.)--Newspapers
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
