Creator: Marshall Vernon Brown
Title of Collection: M.V. Brown Papers
Dates: 1948-1959
Extent: 3 Linear ft (6 boxes)
Abstract: Marshall Vernon Brown was born on July 29, 1905, to Effie T. and Nora Brown in Madison County, Texas. He graduated from PVAMU in 1931, and he served as the dean of men at PVAMU the following year. The M.V. Brown Papers document the activities of Marshall Vernon Brown from 1942 to 1959. The collection contains documents on various agricultural aspects and materials about Mount Corinth Baptist Church in Hempstead, Texas, and correspondence related to the cooperative extension work of Marshall Vernon Brown.
Biographical Note: Marshall Vernon Brown was born on July 29, 1905, to Effie T. and Nora Brown in Madison County, Texas. He graduated from PVAMU in 1931, and he served as the dean of men at PVAMU the following year. In the mid-1930s, he started working as a county agent for the Cooperative Extension Service soon thereafter in Waller County. In 1940, he moved to Brazoria County and worked in the same role until he enlisted in the military during World War II. In 1946, he was named state leader in agricultural extension work in Texas. He later served as a special advisor to the federal Agency for International Development and received an alumni award from the college in May 1963. On January 22, 1964, he suffered a heart attack and died in his home on the campus of PVAMU. He was survived by his wife, Libbie N. Brown, and two sons, Marshall Brown Jr. and George Brown. He was buried in Prairie View Memorial Gardens Cemetery.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in three series, two of which are further arranged into subseries. The series is arranged chronologically by subject and format.
Series 1 Correspondence, 1942-1959
Series 1.1 Cooperative Extension Work, 1948-1956
Series 1.2 Administrative Records, Training Programs & Activities
Series 2 Mount Corinth Baptist Church, 1956-1959
Series 2.1 Financial Records and Memberships, 1956-1959
Series 2.2 Meeting Minutes, 1958
Series 2.3 Administration and Building Records, 1957-1959
Identification: UA 0003
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
The M.V. Brown Papers document the activities of Marshall Vernon Brown from 1942 to 1959. The collection contains documents on various agricultural aspects and materials about Mount Corinth Baptist Church in Hempstead, Texas, and correspondence related to the cooperative extension work of Marshall Vernon Brown. It consists of home demonstration publications, correspondence, news articles, workshops, progress reports, marketing materials, questionnaires, national studies, and a financial record.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0003
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: M.V. Brown Papers. UA 0003. Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Agriculture
African American Churches
Brown, M.V.
Brown, Marshall Vernon
Mount Corinth Baptist Church (Hempstead, Tex.)
Agricultural extension work—Texas
Prairie View A&M University
Prairie View University. Agricultural Extension Service
Series 1 Correspondence, 1942-1959
Box Folder
1 1 Correspondence, April-October 21, 1942
2 Correspondence, January-March 15, 1943
3 Correspondence, February- August 8, 1944,
4 Correspondence, January-December 11, 1945
5 Correspondence, January 1-25, 1946
6 Correspondence, January 25-March 18, 1946
7 Correspondence, April 1-17, 1946
8 Correspondence, April 19-June 15, 1946
9 Correspondence, June 21-July 3, 1946
10 Correspondence, July 23-August 5, 1946
11 Correspondence, August 17-21, 1946
12 Correspondence, August 30-October 15, 1946
13 Correspondence, October 29-November 15,1946
14 Correspondence, December 2-9, 1946
15 Correspondence, December 10-13, 1946
16 Correspondence, December 14-21, 1946
17 Correspondence, January 1-2, 1947
18 Correspondence, January 3-6, 1947
19 Correspondence, January 7-15, 1947
20 Correspondence, January 17-31, 1947
21 Correspondence, February 4-13, 1947
22 Correspondence, February 15-19, 1947
23 Correspondence, February 20-22, 1943
24 Correspondence, February 25-27, 1947
25 Correspondence, March 2-7, 1947, 1947
26 Correspondence, March 8-17, 1947, 1947
27 Correspondence, March 25-31, 1947, 1947
28 Correspondence, April1-13,1947, 1947
29 Correspondence, April 14-May 15, 1947, 1947
30 Correspondence, May 16-27, 1947, 1947
31 Correspondence, June 2-30, 1947, 1947
32 Correspondence, July 6-28, 1947, 1947
33 Correspondence, August 7-21, 1947,1947
34 Correspondence, August 7-21, 1947, 1947
35 Correspondence, August 22-23, 1947, 1947
36 Correspondence, August 25-29, 1947, 1947
37 Correspondence, September 3-12, 1947, 1947
38 Correspondence, September 15-October 8, 1947, 1947
39 Correspondence, October 9-24, 1947, 1947
40 Correspondence, October 27-November 10, 1947, 1947
41 Correspondence, November 1-21, 1947, 1947
42 Correspondence, November 4-December 2, 1947, 1947
43 Correspondence, January 29-November 22, 1948, 1948
44 Correspondence, January 12-July 12, 1949, 1949
45 Correspondence, March 16-October 27, 1950, 1950
46 Correspondence, March 12-November 15, 1951, 1951
47 Correspondence, January 3-October15, 1952, 1952
48 Correspondence, November 5-December 31, 1952, 1952
49 Correspondence, January 2-7, 1953, 1953
50 Correspondence, January 8-14, 1953, 1953
2 1 Correspondence, January 17-31, 1953
2 Correspondence, February 4-7, 19533
3 Correspondence, February 14-27, 1953
4 Correspondence, March 7-16, 1953
5 Correspondence, March 23- April 2, 1953
6 Correspondence, April 6-21, 1953
7 Correspondence, April 22- 4, 1953
8 Correspondence, April 25-29, 1953
9 Correspondence, May 1-8, 1953
10 Correspondence, May 11-18, 1953
11 Correspondence, May 19-28, 1953
12 Correspondence, June 4-27, 1953
13 Correspondence, July 7, 1953
14 Correspondence, August 7-8, 1953
15 Correspondence, September 2-7, 1953
16 Correspondence, September 8-29, 1953
17 Correspondence, October 3-8, 1953
18 Correspondence, October 13-31, 1953
19 Correspondence, November 3, 1953
20 Correspondence, November 13-23, 1953
21 Correspondence, November 25-30, 1953
22 Correspondence, December 1-7, 1953
23 Correspondence, December 8-16, 1953
24 Correspondence, January 2-13, 1954
25 Correspondence, January 14, 1954
26 Correspondence, March 8, 1957
27 Correspondence, May 28, 1958
28 Correspondence, April 30, 1959
Series 2 Cooperative Extension Work, 1930-1956
Box Folder
2 29 Forage Crop Yields College Station, 1930-1946
30 The Race Problem, 1940
31 Negro County Home Demonstration Agents, 1940
32 Financial Sheet, 1942-1943
2 33 War Emergency Conference (Negro Leaders), August 10-15, 1942
34 Plan of Work for Agriculture, October 28, 1942-1943
35 Progress Report 784 (Farm Labor), 1942
36 Collapse of Farm Prices After World War 1, 1943
37 Coordinating Policies Committee (Minutes), 1943
38 Radio Broadcasts (Schedule), 1943
39 Civilian Protection and Adjustment School Prairie View, January 22-29, 1944
40 Program Home Demonstration Council, August 15-17, 1944
41 Source of Funds, 1945-1949
42 Summary of Expense Involved in Agent’s Training, February 24-27, 1946
43 Famine Emergency Campaign, March 13, 1946
44 Profit & Loss Statement Prairie View, Texas, August 10, 1946
45 Programs, John Moore Training School, March 29-31, 1944
46 Progress Report 963 of Agriculture (Lime), 1945
47 Progress Report 909 pf Agricultural ({each Variety), 1944
48 Record of Field Trips, 1945
49 Farm Storage of Sorghum Grains, 1945
50 Program, Workshop for Negros, November 4-16, 1946
51 Progress Report 1027 of Agriculture (Wheat), 1946
52 Control of Contain Flea Hopper with DDT, 1946
53 Progress Report 1008 (Cutting Alfalfa Hay), 1946
54 Progress Report 1012 (Salt Tolerance of Turkey Poults), 1946
55 Progress Report 1051 (Corn Test), 1946
56 Progress Report 1014 (Use of Wheat), 1946
57 Progress Report 985 (Bush Lima Beans), 1946
58 Progress Report 969, Riboflavin and Protein Studies, 1945
59 Faculty Orientation’ September 4-7, 1946
60 Calendar of Events, April 7, 1947
3 1 Commencement Address, May 26, 1947, 1947
2 Mass Communications Questionnaire, June 9-13, 1947, 1947
3 Payment of Meter Postage, 1947, 1947
4 Program, Food, Clothing, and Household Exhibit, July 17-19, 1947, 1947
5 Cash States & Working Funds, August 6, 1947, 1947
6 Summary of Expense, August 10-13, 1947, 1947
7 Staff Member Report, 1947
8 Staff Member Report, 1947
9 Canned Fruit & Vegetable (Marketing), 1951
10 Literature on Herbs, April 1947, 1947
11 Where does 2, 4-D Pay? (Article), 1947
12 Mineral Rights & Land Prices (Report 1052), 1947
13 Girls 4-H Club Program, 1947
14 Radio Information from Extension Service, 1947
15 Simple Parliamentary Procedure, 1947
16 Effectiveness of Extension Work Evaluated, 1947
17 The Second Year of the United Nations, 1947
18 Medical Facilities Available to Agents, May 14, 1947, 1947
19 Types of Organizations and Social Factors, March 1948, 1948
20 Secretary- Treasures, Team District, 1948
21 Swine Demonstration Report, 1948-49
22 Supervisory Plan of Work, 1948
23 Workshops View on Extension Program, 1948
24 Supervisory Plan of Work, 1948
25 Student Employment Applications, 1948
26 List of Agricultural Agents, July 1950, 1950
27 Instructional Units Change in Schools, August 1, 1950, 1950
28 Proceedings of Negro Farmers of Agriculture, August 27-29, 1950, 1950
29 History of Extension Work in Texas, November 27, 1950, 1950
30 Article of Progress in Agriculture, 1950
31 Effects of Marketing Eggs, 1951
32 Agents Digest, 1950
33 Texas Agriculture Guide, 1950
34 Practices in Strengthen Production, January 10, 1951, 1951
35 Improper Handling of Potatoes, January 23, 1951, 1951
36 Crop & Livestock Reports, Ja. 24, 1951, 1951
37 Review of Extension Studies, June 1951, 1951
38 Articles in Foreign Agriculture, February 2, 1951, 1951
39 Regional 4-H Camp for Young Negro Farmers, February 14, 1951, 1951
40 Tobacco Marketing Quotas Reviewed. February 16, 1951, 1951
41 Community Organization Handbook, April 2, 1951, 1951
42 Himebaugh Joining of the OFAR, May 4, 1951, 1951
43 Support of Peanut Crop, May 4, 1951, 1951
44 Oath of State Employees, June 21, 1951, 1951
45 Current Developments, July 20, 1951, 1951
46 Reorganizing the U.S. Dept of Agriculture, July 23, 1951, 1951
47 Tidelands, False-Propaganda & Misstatements Refuted, July 24, 1951, 1951
4 1 Farm to Market Project, September 24, 1951
2 Extension Personnel Training, October 24, 1951
3 Cotton Program, September 7, 1951
4 Cotton Defoliation Test Report, 1953
5 Forty-hour Week Employees, 1953
6 Extensions Activities & Accomplishments, 1951
7 Undergraduate Workers in Training, 1951
8 Effects of Gilmer-Aikin Laws, February 7, 1952
9 Program Planning Review, 1952
10 The Negro History Bulletin, 1952
11 The Best Can Be Made Better (4-H) Club, May 26, 1952
12 Recreational Needs of the Family program, June 12-13, 1952
13 Apostle of Goodwill, 1952
14 Training Program for Negro Workers, June 1-20, 1953
15 Texas Hybrid Corn Contest, August 10, 1953
16 Execution of Budget Changes, January 24, 1953
17 Extension Activities & Accomplishments, May 1953
18 Success of Negro Farmers, March 1953
19 Bermuda as a pasture grass, 1953
20 The use of Fuzzy (cotton machine), February 20, 1953
21 Cotton Insect Situation in Texas, 1953
22 Agriculture & Home Economics, 1953
23 Negro Farmers, 1953
24 Gregg County Community House (program), April 5-6, 1954
25 Rural Neighborhood Progress Contest, 1955-1956
26 Alumni & Ex-Students Club of Prairie View
27 Short Course on Growing a Spring Garden, 1945
28 Junior Negro Pig & Poultry Show, June 1956
29 Homecoming Committees, November 18, 1956
Series 2 Mount Corinth Baptist Church, 1956-1959
Series 2.1 Financial Records and Memberships, 1956-1959
4 30 Invoice on Material Purchased for Mont Corinth Baptist Church, 1956
31 Checks & Balance Brought forward (Citizen State Bank), 1956
32 Checks (Citizens State Bank), 1956
33 Church Membership Card, 1956
34 Financial Report, 1956
35 Weekly Bulletins, 1956
5 1 Building Funds Financial Report, 1956
2 Building Funds Financial Reports, August-December 1956
3 Rejection of Bids and Notification of Mr. Greaux, January 6th, 1957
4 Announcement, Women’s Chorus & Mixed Ensemble Concert, March 27th, 1956
5 Rejection of Contractors Bids on Mt. Corinth Church, January 10th, 1957
6 Bond of Mt. Corinth Church Sold, April 1, 1957
7 Building Funds Financial Reports, 1957
8 Cash Receipts (16 items), 1957
9 Checks in account with Citizen State Bank, 1957
10 Financial Report, 1957
11 Building Funds Financial Report, 1958
12 Checks in Account with Citizen State Bank, 1958
13 Financial Report, Mt. Corinth Baptist Church, 1958
14 New members (Mt. Corinth Baptist Church), 1957
6 13 Financial Report, Mt. Corinth Baptist Church, 1959
6 17 Financial Report (January) 1956
6 18 January-December Financial Report, 1957
6 19 Checks in Account with the Citizens National Bank, 1959
Series 2.2 Meeting Minutes, 1958
Box Folder
5 15 Minutes of Business Meeting (Mt. Corinth Baptist Church) February 14, 1958
16 Recommendations to Official Church Business, March 3, 1958
17 Meeting of Mt. Corinth Church (Discussion of Buila), March 14, 1958
18 Minutes of Business Meeting (Mt. Corinth Church Building) March 14, 1958
19 Program, Annual Social for Graduates, May 27, 1958
20 Installation Service (St. Peter’s Church) July 10, 1958
21 Amount Involved in Constructing a Church Building September 5, 1958
22 Attorney Sallas Services (Mt. Corinth Building Program) March 24, 1958
23 Amount available in the Completion of New Church, September 12, 1958
24 Minutes of Business Meeting (Mt. Corinth Church) October 26, 1958
25 Minutes, Agreement to Build New Church (Mt. Corinth) October 26, 1958
26 Acceptance of Proposal for Construction of Church, October 26, 1958
27 Additions to Church Building (Mt. Corinth Church), December 28, 1958
28 Sympathy of Congregation to Mt. Corinth Church, December 11th, 1957
29 Elizabeth Durham Uniting with Tabernacle Baptist Church, December 16, 1957
6 3 Annual Business Meeting, Mt Corinth Baptist Church February 14, 1958
6 4 Minutes, Annual Business Meeting, Mt. Corinth Church, March 3, 1957
Series 2.3 Administration and Building Records, 1957-1959
Box Folder
6 1 Invoice, Office Supplies Purchased, 1958-59
2 Accomplishments through members contribution to Church, February 10, 1959
5 Joint Program with Baptist Training Union March 7, 1957
6 Purchasing Pews for Mt. Corinth Baptist Church, March 9, 1959
7 Final Details of Construction of Mt. Corinth Church May 23, 1959
8 Building Fund Drive & Men’s Day Program June 9, 1957
9 Collection for Mt. Corinth Baptist Church June 9, 1959
10 Dedicatory Services of Mt. Corinth Baptist Church June 21, 1959
11 Meeting of Usher Board July 23, 1959
12 Baptizing Pool needs repairing Mt. Corinth Church, August 20, 1959
14 Individual Report Envelopes Mt. Corinth Church
15 Guest Speakers Introductions, Mt. Corinth Church
16 Announcement of BBQ Dinners (Schwarz School) June 13, 1958
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
