Finding Aids: PVAMU Special Collections and Archives : The George C. Wright Collection

Creator: George C. Wright

Title of Collection: The PVAMU Principals and Presidents Collection: George C. Wright Collection

Dates: 1989-2003

Extent:  3 folders (.25 linear feet)

Abstract: The Edward L. Blackshear Collection includes event programs and photocopies of publications relating to the tenure of Edward Lavoisier Blackshear, fourth principal of Prairie View A&M University (then Prairie View State Normal and Industrial College).

Biographical Note: Dr. George C. Wright (born February 23, 1950) is a scholar, author, educator, administrator, and the seventh President of Prairie View A&M University. Dr. Wright received his bachelor's and Master of Arts degrees in History from the University of Kentucky and his Doctorate in History from Duke University, and in 2004 he was awarded an honorary doctorate of Letters from the University of Kentucky. Before joining the Prairie View A&M University family, Dr. Wright was an assistant professor at the University of Kentucky in 1977. From 1980 to 1993, he served as an assistant professor, associate professor, and professor, and was the holder of the Mastin Gentry White Professorship of Southern History, and vice provost for undergraduate education at the University of Texas at Austin. In 1993, he joined the faculty at Duke University as vice provost for university programs and director of the Afro-American studies program at Duke University. At Duke, he also held the William R. Kenan, Jr., Chair in American History. He also served as executive vice president for Academic Affairs and provost at the University of Texas at Arlington. Prior to assuming that post, he was provost and vice president for academic affairs from 1995 to 1998. Dr. Wright is the author of many articles, essays, and books, including: - A History of Blacks in Kentucky: Volume II, In Pursuit of Equality, 1890-1980 - Racial Violence in Kentucky, 1865-1940: Lynchings, Mob Rule, and "Legal Lynchings" - Life Behind a Veil: Blacks in Louisville, Kentucky, 1865-1930 He was presented the Governor’s Award by the Kentucky Historical Society for Racial Violence in Kentucky and Life Behind a Veil. Active in his community, Dr. Wright has served as a member of the Board of Directors of the City of Arlington Chamber Foundations and the Medical Center of Arlington. He has also served as a member of the Editorial Board for the Southern Biography Series at Louisiana State University, the Board of Editors of the Journal of Southern History, and the Southern Historical Association Program Committee. Dr. Wright became the seventh president of Prairie View A&M University in 2003, and during his tenure student numbers have increased from 6,500 to 9,000. He currently travels the country interacting with the alumni and fundraising for the capital campaign for scholarships for students, for endowment for professors, for a new student recreational center, and finally the building of a sports complex.

Arrangement: News clippings and printed materials are all arranged chronologically. The subject files are not yet arranged.

Identification: UA 0032

Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University