Creator: The Afro-American Newspaper
Title of Collection:The Afro-American Newspaper Collection
Dates: circa 1971-2004; Bulk Dates: 1988-1990
Extent: 1 Linear Ft. (1 box)
Abstract: The Afro-American is a Saturday weekly publication serving the Philadelphia and North & South Carolina areas. This publication came out of Baltimore, MD, and was published by the Afro-American Company of Balitmore, Inc. The Chairman of the board/Publisher was John J. Oliver Jr. during the 1990s.
Biographical Note: The Afro-American is a Saturday weekly publication serving the Philadelphia and North & South Carolina areas. This publication came out of Baltimore, MD, and was published by the Afro-American Company of Balitmore, Inc. The Chairman of the board/Publisher was John J. Oliver Jr. during the 1990s.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by publication title and chronological order by volumes and years of each newspaper.
Identification: UA 0033
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
The collection includes Newspapers copies of different publications received by the Prairie View A & M University’s John B. Coleman Periodical and Serials Department. The collection has sixteen boxes of newspapers listed in alphabetical order. For each publication, the arrangement of newspapers is placed in separate boxes by each induvial title, and the smaller editions are housed in a phase box for long-term preservation. The majority of newspapers are black-owned and operated publications except for the “Mexican American Sun”, which has a target audience of Hispanic culture and heritage.
The Afro-American is a Saturday weekly publication serving the Philadelphia and North & South Carolina areas. This publication came out of Baltimore, MD, and was published by the Afro-American Company of Balitmore, Inc. The Chairman of the board/Publisher was John J. Oliver Jr. during the 1990s.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0033
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The Afro-American Newspaper Collection, UA0033, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
African Americans.
African American newspapers.
African American newspaper editors.
African American newspapers--Sections, columns, etc.
African American newspapers--Southern States--History.
Newspapers.
Periodicals.
Race relations.
Washington (D.C.)
| Box No. | Title/Description | date |
| 1 | The Afro-American, 94th year no.24 | 1988 |
| The Afro-American, 94th year no.41 | 5/24/1986 | |
| The Afro-American, 94th year no.45 | 6/21/1986 | |
| The Afro-American, 94th year no.51 | 8/1/1987 | |
| The Afro-American, 95th year no.4 | 9/6/1986 | |
| The Afro-American, 95th year no.7 | 9/27/1986 | |
| The Afro-American, 95th year no.10 | 10/18/1986 | |
| The Afro-American, 96th year no.1 | 8/15/1987 | |
| The Afro-American, 96th year no.2 | 8/22/1987 | |
| The Afro-American, 96th year no.21 | 1/2/1988 | |
| The Afro-American, 96th year no.57 | 3/1/1988 | |
| The Afro-American, 96th year no.59 | 3/8/1988 | |
| The Afro-American, 96th year no.61 | 3/15/1988 | |
| The Afro-American, 97th year no.16 | 1988 | |
| The Afro-American, 97th year no.17 | Undated | |
| The Afro-American, 97th year no.18 | Undated | |
| The Afro-American, 97th year no.19 | Undated |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
