Creator: Laurine Cecil Anderson
Title of Collection: The Principals and Presidents: Laurine Cecil Anderson Collection
Dates: 1962-1999
Extent: 2 folders (.25 linear feet)
Abstract: The Laurine Cecil Anderson Collection includes event programs and photocopies of publications relating to the tenure of Laurine Cecil Anderson, third principal of Prairie View A&M University (then Prairie View Normal College).
Biographical Note:
Laurine Cecil Anderson (born June 4, 1853, died January 8, 1938) received his B.A. from Fisk University for the Methodist ministry and taught at Tuskegee and Alabama before moving to Texas in 1879 to assist his brother E. H. Anderson in his duties as principal of Prairie View Normal College. Upon the death of his brother in 1885, L. C. Anderson became principal and served until 1896.
During his tenure he lobbied for the school to receive university status, persuaded the Twentieth Legislature to create an Agricultural and Mechanical Department, helped to found the Colored Teachers State Association of Texas (and was also elected their first president), and worked to unify African-American leaders in business, politics, and religious and fraternal organizations, as well as for to improve conditions for black Texans through education. Also during this time, the Hatch Act brought the college a branch of the Experiment Station, and new facilities were erected, including an academic hall, six cottages for teachers, a brick mechanics shop, and artesian wells.
After his term as principal ended, Anderson moved to Austin, Texas to serve as principal of a high school for blacks, later named L. C. Anderson High School in his honor. He was principal for thirty-two years and taught Latin until he was forced to resign in 1928 due to ill health. Anderson died in Austin on January 8, 1938, and was buried at Oakwood Cemetery in Austin.
Sources: none.
Arrangement: The collection includes Photocopies of documents relating to L. C. Anderson and his tenure as Principal of Prairie View A & M University, and Programs relating to events honoring L. C. Anderson High School and the Prairie View A & M University principals and presidents.
Identification: UA00196
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Complied by Anna Gaffey, 2013. Revised by Evelyn Davis, June 2024
The Laurine Cecil Anderson Collection includes event programs and photocopies of publications relating to the tenure of Laurine Cecil Anderson, third principal of Prairie View A&M University (then Prairie View Normal College). The collection includes Photocopies of documents relating to L. C. Anderson and his tenure as Principal of Prairie View A & M University, and Programs relating to events honoring L. C. Anderson High School and the Prairie View A&M University principals and presidents.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification:
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation:
Related Material:
Anderson, L. C. (Laurine Cecil), 1853-1938.
Colored Teachers State Association of Texas.
Prairie View Normal and Industrial College (Prairie View, TX)
Prairie View (TX).
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
