Creator: Colquitt Dubois Yancy
Title of Collection: Colquitt Dubois Yancy Papers
Dates: 1964- 1968
Extent: 2 linear feet (4 Boxes)
Abstract: Colquitt Dubois Yancy was recognized as an outstanding principal, educational, religious, and community leader. He served with the USDA, and as an instructor at Prairie View A&M University before he accepted a position as principal of George Washington Carver Elementary School in Bryan, Texas. This collection documents the activities of Colquitt Yancy from 1964-1968. The collection consists mostly of correspondence, both typed and handwritten, related to the Prairie View Interscholastic League eligibility and redistricting and recommendations for employment.
Biographical Note: Colquitt Dubois Yancy was recognized as an outstanding principal, educational, religious, and community leader. Born on November 17, 1911, to Wesley Yancy and Dovie Bryant in Austin, Texas, he went on to attend Prairie View A&M University, where he was Junior class chaplain. A 1936 Prairie View A&M University graduate, he also held a master’s degree from Colorado State and studied at Ohio State University. He served with the USDA, and as an instructor at Prairie View A&M University before he accepted a position as principal of George Washington Carver Elementary School in Bryan, Texas. He also taught Vocational Agriculture in Calvert, Texas in 1937. In early 1940, he worked at the New Summerfield Colored School in Ponta, Cherokee County, Texas. An active alumnus, he wrote articles for the PV Standard “About the Alumni and Former Students of The Division.” He later went on to serve as the principal of E.A. Kemp Junior High School in 1949. Upon the retirement of 0scar John Thomas, Yancy was invited to serve as director of the Prairie View Interscholastic League and directed the rapidly growing department of Career Planning and Placement Services at Prairie View A&M University. He died September 28, 1968, in Prairie View, Waller County, Texas, and is buried at Houston Memorial Gardens, in Pearland, Texas.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged into one series: Correspondence, 1964-1968 and the folders are in chronological order.
Identification: UA 0026
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0026
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: Colquitt Dubois Yancy. UA 0026. Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
Yancy, Colquitt Dubois, 1911-1968
Prairie View Interscholastic League (Tex.)
High school athletes
Series 1: Correspondence
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 1 | 1 | Correspondence, Jan. 1964 |
| 2 | Correspondence, Sept. 1964 | |
| 3 | Correspondence, Sept. 1964 | |
| 4 | Correspondence, Sept. 1964 | |
| 5 | Correspondence, Oct. 1964 | |
| 6 | Correspondence, Oct. 1964 | |
| 7 | Correspondence, Oct. 1964 | |
| 8 | Correspondence, Nov. 1964 | |
| 9 | Correspondence, Nov. 1964 | |
| 10 | Correspondence, Nov. 1964 | |
| 11 | Correspondence, Nov. 1964 | |
| 12 | Correspondence, Nov. 1964 | |
| 13 | Correspondence, Nov. 1964 | |
| 14 | Correspondence, Dec. 1964 | |
| 15 | Correspondence, Dec. 1964 | |
| 16 | Correspondence, Jan. 1965 | |
| 17 | Correspondence, Jan. 1965 | |
| 18 | Correspondence, 1964-1965 | |
| 19 | Correspondence, Jan. 1965 | |
| 20 | Correspondence, Feb. 1965 | |
| 21 | Correspondence, Feb. 1965 | |
| 22 | Correspondence, Feb. 1965 | |
| 23 | Correspondence, Feb. 1965 | |
| 24 | Correspondence, Mar. 1965 | |
| 25 | Correspondence, Sept. 1965 | |
| 26 | Correspondence, Feb-Aug. 1967 | |
| 27 | Correspondence, Dec. 1942 | |
| 28 | Correspondence, 1962 | |
| 29 | Correspondence, Nov.1966 | |
| 2 | 1 | Correspondence, Mar. 1965 |
| 2 | Correspondence, Mar. 1965 | |
| 3 | Correspondence, Apr. 1965 | |
| 4 | Correspondence, Apr. 1965 | |
| 5 | Correspondence, Apr. 1965 | |
| 6 | Correspondence, May 1965 | |
| 7 | Correspondence, May 1965 | |
| 8 | Correspondence, June 1965 | |
| 9 | Correspondence, June 1965 | |
| 10 | Correspondence, Aug. 1965 | |
| 11 | Correspondence, Aug. 1965 | |
| 12 | Correspondence, Sept. 1965 | |
| 13 | Correspondence, Sept. 1965 | |
| 14 | Correspondence, Sept. 1965 | |
| 15 | Correspondence, Oct. 1965 | |
| 16 | Correspondence, Oct. 1965 | |
| 17 | Correspondence, Nov. 1965 | |
| 18 | Correspondence, Nov. 1965 | |
| 19 | Correspondence, Nov. 1965 | |
| 20 | Correspondence, Dec. 1965 | |
| 21 | Correspondence, Dec. 1965 | |
| 22 | Correspondence, Dec. 1965 | |
| 23 | Correspondence, Jan. 1966 | |
| 24 | Correspondence, Jan. 1966 | |
| 25 | Correspondence, Jan. 1966 | |
| 26 | Correspondence, Feb. 1966 | |
| 3 | 1 | Correspondence, Feb. 1966 |
| 2 | Correspondence, Feb. 1966 | |
| 3 | Correspondence, Feb. 1966 | |
| 4 | Correspondence, Mar. 1966 | |
| 5 | Correspondence, Apr. 1966 | |
| 6 | Correspondence, May 1966 | |
| 7 | Correspondence, June 1966 | |
| 8 | Correspondence, July 1966 | |
| 9 | Correspondence, Aug. 1966 | |
| 10 | Correspondence, Sept. 1966 | |
| 11 | Correspondence, Sept. 1966 | |
| 12 | Correspondence, Oct. 1966 | |
| 13 | Correspondence, Nov. 1966 | |
| 14 | Correspondence, Nov. 1966 | |
| 15 | Correspondence, Dec. 1966 | |
| 16 | Correspondence, Jan. 1967 | |
| 17 | Correspondence, Feb. 1967 | |
| 18 | Correspondence, Feb. 1967 | |
| 19 | Correspondence, Mar. 1967 | |
| 20 | Correspondence, Apr. 1967 | |
| 21 | Correspondence, May 1967 | |
| 22 | Correspondence, June 1967 | |
| 23 | Correspondence, July 1967 | |
| 4 | 1 | Correspondence; August 1967 |
| 2 | Correspondence; September 1967 | |
| 3 | Correspondence; October 1967 | |
| 4 | Correspondence; November 1967 | |
| 5 | Correspondence: December 1967 | |
| 6 | Correspondence; January 1968 | |
| 7 | Correspondence; February 1968 | |
| 8 | Correspondence; March 1968 | |
| 9 | Correspondence; April 1968 | |
| 10 | Correspondence; May 1968 | |
| 11 | Correspondence; June 1968 | |
| 12 | Correspondence; July 1968 | |
| 13 | Correspondence; August 1968 | |
| 14 | Correspondence; September 1968 | |
| 15 | Correspondence; October 1968 | |
| 16 | Correspondence; November 1968 | |
| 17 | Correspondence; December 1968 | |
| 18 | Correspondence; Undated Material | |
| 19 | Correspondence; Undated Material | |
| 20 | Postcards and Telegrams | |
| 21 | Travel Authorization and related documents | |
| 22 | Recruitment and civil service announcements; 1966 | |
| 23 | The Prairie View Panther, October 1968 |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
