Creator: Prairie View A&M University
Title of Collection: The Academic Affairs Collection: Commencement and Convocation Exercises
Dates: 1885-2022
Bulk Dates: 1930-2015
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (10 boxes)
Abstract: The Academic Affairs Collection contains Commencement & Convocation Exercise Programs. The Commencement ceremony is a significant and solemn event, recognizing years of study and sacrifice. In addition, the collection holds copies of the Honors’ Convocation & Founder’s Day which is a PVAMU tradition to honor students with the highest GPAs as well as the founding of the school.
Biographical Note: There is not much information about the history of commencement programs present and available to gain a different perspective of PVAMU traditions.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by publication title.
Identification: UA 0081
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Complied by Evelyn Davis, August 2023
The collection is arranged in four series: Commencement Convocation Exercises, Founder’s Day and Honor’s Convocation, Presidential Programs, and Miscellaneous Programs. The programs are missing year gaps through the date range f 1885 to 2022. For instance, Boxes 1-4 has commencement programs from the years 1885,1917,1935-1939, and begin to be consistent after 1940. Boxes 5-7 holds Founder’s Day and Honor’s Convocation programs only. The numbering isn’t consistent in this series either. Then, Box 8 only has any miscellaneous Presidential programs from 1969-1990. Lastly, Boxes 9-10 have varied miscellaneous programs from Baccalaureate Service to Founders' Day and Honors' Convocation Exercises.
The series is broken down as follows:
Series One: Commencement Convocation Exercises Programs, 1885-2022
Series Two: Honor’s Convocation and Founder’s Day Exercises Program, 1946-2021
Series Three: Presidential Programs, 1969-1990
Series Four: Miscellaneous Programs, 1939-2003
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0081
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The PVAMU Commencement and Convocation Exercises Collection, UA0081, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
African Americans.
African Americans--Texas--Waller County.
African Americans—Texas.
Prairie View Normal and Industrial College (Prairie View, TX)
Prairie View (TX).
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
