Creator: Dooley, Thomas Price
Title of Collection: T.P. Dooley Papers
Dates: 1949-1977; Inclusive Dates: 1956-1977
Extent: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Thomas Price Dooley was a professor and dean at Prairie View A&M University for thirty-six years, where he served as Head of the Biology Department, Head of the Science Division, and Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences. The T.P. Dooley Papers document his activities as a department head and dean at Prairie View A&M University from 1949-1977.
Biographical Note: Georgia native, Thomas Price Dooley was a professor and dean at Prairie View A&M University for thirty-six years, where he served as Head of the Biology Department, Head of the Science Division, and Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences. He received his Ph.D. in Biology at the University of Iowa on August 4, 1939. He married Eula Mae Mckelroy in Bowie, Texas on May 30, 1941. This marriage bore one child. In 1944, he ran the Prairie View State College Credit Union. In the 1950s, Dooley became the Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences. In the 1960s, Dooley was one of the Band’s most ardent supporters. During the intermission of one concert, he made a stirring appeal to the audience for funds. Dr. Dooley was also selected by the Texas Academy of Science as a Visiting Scientist to different high schools of Texas.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in three series by function and format. The series is arranged chronically by date.
Series 1 Biographical Materials
Series 2 Correspondence, 1964-1968
Series 3 Printed Materials & Writings by T.P. Dooley
Identification: UA 0011
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
The T.P. Dooley Papers document his activities as a department head and dean at Prairie View A&M University from 1949-1977. It contains correspondence related to his selection as a Piper Professor, articles on student projects and principalship, and biographical summaries about his life.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0011
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: Thomas Price Dooley Papers, UA 0011, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Dooley, Thomas Price, 1904-1987
African American educators
Correspondence--1960-1970
Series 1 Biographical Materials
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 1 | 1 | Biography of T.P. Dooley |
| 2 | Biography of Marquis National Biography Reference File, 1977 | |
| 3 | Biography, American Men and Women of Science, 1977 | |
| 4 | In appreciation, May 1968 | |
| 5 | Footprints on Prairie View Pathways | |
| 6 | News Release: Dr. Dooley attends a conference for college teachers of genetics | |
| 7 | Prairie View Sunday School | |
| 8 | Prairie View City News article, June 1974 | |
| 9 | photocopy of portrait |
Series 2 Correspondence, 1964-1968
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 1 | 4 | Letters to T.P. Dooley, 1964-1966 |
| 5 | Letters from T.P. Dooley, 1964-1968 | |
| 6 | Letters about Piper Professor Selection |
Series 3 Printed Materials and Writings by T.P. Dooley
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 1 | 7 | Article, Negro Principals Hear Talk on Science Plan, October 26, 1956 |
| 8 | Article, Arts and Sciences Organize Student Advisory Project, October 1956 | |
| 9 | Program, 35th Annual Conference of Collegiate Deans and Registrars, March 13-15, 1961 | |
| 9 | Certificate of Recognition, 1962 | |
| 10 | Program, in appreciation of Dr. T. P. Dooley Day, May 10, 1968 | |
| 11 | Article, 1972 Piper Professor, April 7, 1972 | |
| 12 | Tribute to Dr. Dooley on Being Selected as Piper Professor, April 20, 1972 |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
