Creator: The First United Methodist Church (Prairie View) Staff
Title of Collection: The First United Methodist Church (Prairie View) Collection
Dates: Undated
Extent: .5 linear feet (1 box)
Abstract: The First United Methodist Church (Prairie View) Collection contains some historical notes photocopied from a currently unknown publication. It also includes a typed biography of Reverend Francis E. W. Guidry, pastor of Bethlehem and Lawrence Key Methodist Churches in Hempstead at the time of writing, and a biography of Rev. Frank E. Guidry Jr., pastor at First United. The items are housed with eight other Waller County Churches collections until unique accommodations become necessary.
Biographical Note: The First United Methodist Church initiated services in 1971 out of the need for a church that could serve Prairie View A&M students off campus. Rev. Miss Perrie Jackson was assigned as the first minister, initially holding services at Waller Junior High School. In November 1971, the congregation received the deed for two acres of land and a metal building for services; groundbreaking took place on January 30th, 1972, and the first service in the new building was held on July 2, 1972.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged chronologically in the order in which the items were created. No series was needed since the items are all related to First United Methodist Church (Prairie View) history. The collection consists of one folder with church history documents and biographies of a former minister and a guest officiant.
Identification: MSS 0029
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Complied by Idalia Avezuela, March 2024
The First United Methodist Church (Prairie View) Collection contains some historical notes photocopied from a currently unknown publication. It also includes a typed biography of Reverend Francis E. W. Guidry, pastor of Bethlehem and Lawrence Key Methodist Churches in Hempstead at the time of writing, and a biography of Rev. Frank E. Guidry Jr., pastor at First United. The items are housed with eight other Waller County Churches collections until unique accommodations become necessary.
The collection is arranged chronologically in the order in which the items were created. No series was needed since the items are all related to First United Methodist Church (Prairie View) history. The collection consists of one folder with church history documents and biographies of a former minister and a guest officiant.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: MSS 0029
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The First United Methodist Church (Prairie View) Collection, MSS0029, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
Related Material:
Black Churches in Texas Collection, MSS0016, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Inventory of the Clyde McQueen Papers, Cushing Memorial Library and Archives, Texas A&M University
Waller County Historical Survey Committee (1973). A history of Waller County, Texas. Waco: Texian Press.
African American churches--Gulf Coast--Texas--History.
African American churches--Texas, Central--History.
Waller County (Tex.)--History.
| Box | Folder | Description | Date | Location |
| 1 | 1 | History and Biographies | Undated | R3/C4/R5 |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
