Finding Aids: PVAMU Special Collections and Archives : The Charles A. Hines Papers Collection

Creator: Charles A. Hines

Title of Collection: The PVAMU Principals and Presidents Collection: Charles A. Hines Papers Collection

Dates: 1994-2004

Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box) and 1 Linear Feet (2 boxes)

Abstract: The Charles A. Hines Papers include news clippings, printed materials, and writings relating to the tenure of the sixth president of Prairie View A & M University.

Biographical Note: Dr. Charles Alfonso Hines (born September 4, 1935) is a United States Army Major General, an educator and administrator who served as the sixth president of Prairie View A & M University.

Dr. Hines earned a bachelor’s degree from Howard University. Upon graduation, he entered the Unites States Army, where he served for more than 38 years, retiring with the rank of Major General. During his military career, Maj. Gen. Charles Hines held a wide variety of important command and staff positions from 1962 until 1992, including commanding general of the Army Chemical and Military Police Centers, Fort McClellan, Alabama. Hines served in Vietnam and has received numerous awards and decorations, including the Legion of Merit, the Bronze Star and the Parachutist Badge. Additionally, he earned two master’s degrees and a PhD from John Hopkins University, and completed four executive programs at Harvard University, University of Maryland and University of Texas at Austin. Devoting much of his life to equal opportunity, education and training, advancement of rights for women, race relations and youth, Dr. Hines was the ideal candidate to serve on the HBCU Advisory Committee, selected by George W. Bush. He also serves on the George H.W. Bush School of Government and Public Service at Texas A&M University.

Hines became the sixth president of Prairie View A & M University in October 1994 and served until 2002. During his tenure, privatization of student housing came into effect, a New Science Building, Memorial Student Center and establishing the University College. Dr. Hines also oversaw the University’s role in the Office of Civil Rights (OCR) settlement that resulted in the Texas Commitment funding for four new buildings, additional masters and doctoral degree programs and dollars for development initiatives, student scholarships and endowed chairs. Before his retirement from the presidency in the fall of 2002, Dr. Charles Hines served as a dedicated leader in the effort to reduce high-risk alcohol use by college students. Working with the Department of Public Safety, Dr. Hines was committed to providing and maintaining a safe and healthy campus environment. His belief that alcohol and other drug prevention should be a priority concern was made apparent by his support of on-campus educational programs. Throughout his stewardship as a member of the Presidents Leadership Group, he took an active stand on the problem of high-risk drinking on campus and in the surrounding community of Prairie View.

Arrangement: N/A

Identification: UA 00160

Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University