Creator: The New York Amsterdam News
Title of Collection: The African American Newspaper Collection: The New York Amsterdam News
Dates: circa 1971-2004, undated; Bulk Dates: 1986-1990
Extent: 2 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Abstract: The New York Amsterdam News is a weekly Black-owned newspaper serving New York City. It is one of the oldest newspapers geared toward African Americans in the United States. On Dec. 4, 1909, James H. Anderson put out the first edition of the Amsterdam News with six sheets of paper, a lead pencil, a dressmaker’s table, and that $10 investment. The Amsterdam News was one of only 50 Black newspapers in the country at that time. The paper was named after the avenue where Anderson lived in New York’s San Juan Hill section of Manhattan.
Biographical Note: The New York Amsterdam News is a weekly Black-owned newspaper serving New York City. It is one of the oldest newspapers geared toward African Americans in the United States. On Dec. 4, 1909, James H. Anderson put out the first edition of the Amsterdam News with six sheets of paper, a lead pencil, a dressmaker’s table, and that $10 investment. The Amsterdam News was one of only 50 Black newspapers in the country at that time. The paper was named after the avenue where Anderson lived in New York’s San Juan Hill section of Manhattan. Sources: About. (n.d.). The New York Amsterdam News. https://amsterdamnews.com/about/
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by publication title and chronological order by volumes and years of each newspaper.
Identification: UA 0052
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
The New York Amsterdam News is a weekly Black-owned newspaper serving New York City. It is one of the oldest newspapers geared toward African Americans in the United States. On Dec. 4, 1909, James H. Anderson put out the first edition of the Amsterdam News with six sheets of paper, a lead pencil, a dressmaker’s table, and that $10 investment. The Amsterdam News was one of only 50 Black newspapers in the country at that time. The paper was named after the avenue where Anderson lived in New York’s San Juan Hill section of Manhattan. Sources: About. (n.d.). The New York Amsterdam News. https://amsterdamnews.com/about/
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0052
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The New York Amsterdam News Newspaper Collection, UA0052, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
African Americans.
African American newspapers.
African American newspapers--New York (State)
African American newspapers--Sections, columns, etc.
Newspapers.
New York (State)
| Box | Title/Description/Date |
| 1 | New York Amsterdam News, v.77/no.46 11/15/1986 New York Amsterdam News, v.79/no.43 10/221988 New York Amsterdam News, v.79/no.44 10/29/1988 New York Amsterdam News, v.79/no.45 11/5/1988 New York Amsterdam News, v.79/no.47 11/19/1988 New York Amsterdam News, v.79/no.48 11/26/1988 New York Amsterdam News, v.79/no.49 12/3/1988 New York Amsterdam News, v.79/no.50 1988 New York Amsterdam News, v.79/no.51 12/17/1988 New York Amsterdam News, v.79/no.52 12/24/1988 New York Amsterdam News, v.79/no.53 12/31/1988 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.6 2/11/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.7 2/18/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.9 3/4/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.10 3/11/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.12 3/25/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.13 4/1/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.14 4/8/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.15 4/15/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.16 4/22/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.18 3/18/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.19 5/13/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.20 5/20/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.21 5/27/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.22 6/3/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.23 6/10/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.24 6/10/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.26 7/3/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.27 7/8/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.28 7/15/1989 |
| 2 | New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.29 7/22/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.80/no.30 7/29/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.1 1/6/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.2 1/13/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.3 1/20/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.4 1/27/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.5 2/4/1989 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.6 2/10/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.7 2/17/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.8 2/24/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.9 3/3/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.10 5/10/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.11 5/17/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.12 3/24/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.13 3/31/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.14 4/7/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.15 2/3/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.15 4/14/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.16 4/21/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.17 4/28/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.18 5/3/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.19 5/12/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.20 5/19/1990 New York Amsterdam News, v.81/no.21 5/26/1990 |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
