Creator: Ernest. H. Anderson
Title of Collection: The PVAMU Principals and Presidents Collection: Ernest. H. Anderson Collection
Dates: 1883-1962
Extent: 1 folder (0.25 linear feet)
Abstract: The Ernest H. Anderson Collection includes photocopies of publications relating to the tenure of Ernest H. Anderson, the second principal of Prairie View A&M University (then Prairie View Normal College).
Biographical Note: Ernest H. Anderson (born September 2, 1850, died October 29, 1885) graduated from Fisk University and was trained for the Methodist ministry. E. H. Anderson moved to Texas to serve as the second principal for Prairie View Normal College, established in 1879 as a school to train black teachers. The A&M College Board of Directors, meeting in Hempstead on August 28th of that year, authorized the teaching of thirteen subjects on the elementary and secondary levels. The school’s enrollment increased to sixty students. During Anderson’s tenure, Prairie View experienced severe financial hardships as the Sixteenth and Seventeenth Texas legislatures debated over the constitutionality and the funding of the school. In addition to these problems, the school was overcrowded and did not have a fixed course of study, but toward the end of Anderson's term, he was optimistic at the support of the black communities around the state. Anderson died at Prairie View on October 29, 1885. He was succeeded as principal by his brother, Laurine Cecil Anderson, who had served as his first assistant.
Arrangement:1 folder (0.25 linear feet)
Identification: UA 0009
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0009
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The Ernest H. Anderson Collection, UA009, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
Anderson, Ernest H., 1850-1885
Prairie View Normal and Industrial College (Prairie View, TX)
African American educators.
Educators – United States.
Employees – Administrators.
Prairie View (TX)
Series 1: Photocopies
Box Folder
1 1 [Prairie View History] undated
1 2 Cemetery photograph undated
1 3 Selected pages from Proceedings of the Trustees of the John F. Slater Fund for the Education of Freedmen 1883
1 4 Selected pages from Catalogue of the Officers and Students of Fish University, Nashville, Tennessee, for 1897-1898
1 5 Selected pages from Prairie View: a study in public conscience, 1878-1946
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
