Creator: James Francis and Eric Key (archivist)
Title of Collection: The African American Heritage of the West Special Collection
Dates: 1969-2018
Bulk Dates: 1971-1994
Extent: 9 Linear Feet (6 boxes, 2 artifact suitcases)
Abstract: The purpose of the African American Heritage of the West Collection is to preserve the Agricultural interests for young Black Americans and the history of Black Cowboys in the Western Heritage. This collection includes, picture, artifacts and a dedicated Special Collection of books surrounding these topics.
Biographical Note:
In 1957, James Francis, Junior. Had a vision of observing black Western heritage, realizing that there was a need to (1) bridge the gap from the time of the Buffalo Soldier era (1942 to 1957) when participation of blacks was not recorded, (2) to promote Agriculture and Rodeo interest in young Black Americans, and (3) established an avenue whereby graduates of Black Agriculture and Mechanical Colleges would have contracts with more Agricultural related careers in which to pursue.
On January 7th, 1957, an official meeting with Dr. E. B. Evans, President of Prairie View A and M College, Dr. A. N. Poindexter, Veterinarian, Mr. J. C. Williams, Agriculture, and Mr. H. A. Perkins, Of buildings and grounds of Prairie View. A & M College, Mr. Myrtis Dightman and Mr. James Francis, Jr. was held. During this meeting, the approval was given to use the name “Prairie View Trail Ride."
In 1958, the Prairie View Trail made its first official ride from Prairie View, TX to join in with the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo. This 65-mile ride was made with one wagon and seven riders.
Since 1957, the Prairie View Trail ride has accomplished a number of achievements. The Southwest trail, the Northeast Trail and the Circle A Trail are in existence today because of the sponsorship of the Prairie View Trail. Myrtis Dightman was the first Black Cowboy to reach the national finals in a PRCA Rodeo; Nat Allen and Paul Cleveland participated in the Open Paint Horse Show at the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo. All of this was made possible through their association with the Prairie View Trail. The organization was instrumental in providing that blacks and whites could ride the trail together without major racial problems. Special assistance from City of Houston. The Police Department and the National Guards made this a reality as we assembled in Memorial Park with all the other riders.
Prairie View Trail Riders Association:
The purpose of the Prairie View Trail Riders Association shall be provide It means of friendly association for agricultural minded people, both active and retired; and to promote agriculture interests, and young Americans, and to perpetuate those principles which have come to be regarded as the ideals and traditions of the Western World; And to participate in such undertakings as may be deemed to make for the happiness, well-being, and usefulness of the membership, and for the progress of the association. Founded in 1957, the PVTRA ss a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization whose mission is to promote agriculture interest in young Americans and foster the continued preservation of Western Heritage and Culture.
Sources:
(n.d.). Prairie View Trail History. The Prairie View Trail Riders, UA0086, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
Arrangement:
The collection is arranged by series:
Series One: Black Cowboy Culture Materials
Series Two: Prairie View Trail Riders, 1971-2018
Sub-Series 2.1: Mixed Media Materials, 1991-2001, undated
Sub-Series 2.2: Oversized Materials, undated
This section includes materials of newspaper clippings and posters of Black Cowboys.
Series Three: Artifacts, 2020, undated
Identification: MSS0044
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Complied by Eric Key, 1991; Processed by Lisa Stafford, March 2022; Revised by Evelyn Davis, July 2024.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: MSS0044
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The African American Heritage of the West Special Collection, MSS0044, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
Related Material: The Buffalo Soldiers Collection. The John B. Coleman Library Collection.
Cowboys.
Cowboys, African American.
Cowboys—Clothing.
Cowboys—Collectibles.
Cowboys--Collectibles--West (U.S.).
Cowboys--Clothing--West (U.S.)--Exhibitions.
Cowboys--Equipment and supplies--Collectibles.
Cowboys--History.
Cowboys--Texas.
Cowboys--Texas--History--19th century.
Cowboys--Texas--Interviews.
Cowboys--Texas--Social life and customs.
Cowboys--West (U.S.)--Biography--Anecdotes.
Prairie View Normal and Industrial College (Prairie View, TX)
Prairie View (TX).
Trail Riders.
Trail riding—Competitions.
Trail riding--Texas--Houston Metropolitan Area--History.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
