Creator: Pauline R. Brown
Title of Collection: Pauline R. Brown Papers
Dates: 1942-1961
Extent: 1 Liner ft.
Abstract: Pauline R. Brown served as a home demonstration agent in Gregg County in the 1930s and eventually received a promotion to state supervisor for the entire home demonstration program in the 1950s. Pauline R. Brown Papers document her activities from 1942 to 1961, pertaining to the Cooperative Extension office.
Biographical Note: Pauline R. Brown served as a home demonstration agent in Gregg County in the 1930s and eventually received a promotion to state supervisor for the entire home demonstration program in the 1950s. Born in 1904, she graduated from PVAMU with a BS in home economics in 1931. After graduation, she married a young man from Groveton, Trinity County, Texas, named Jesse Brown, who worked in various occupations as an automobile salesman and wardrobe cleaner in Longview. In 1940, the couple owned their own home worth $900 in Gregg County, and she worked as the county home demonstration agent, making almost twice the annual salary as her husband. Her husband enlisted in the military during World War II, and he gave his life to rid the world of fascism. As a widow, Pauline Brown had to take care of herself, and she focused her energy on helping rural African American families improve their quality of life. In 1949, she completed her master’s thesis, “Activities and Problems of County Demonstration Agents” and obtained her master’s degree in home economics at PVAMU. In the 1950s, she served at the state supervisor for home demonstration activities. In 1961, she retired from her position and returned home to Gregg County, where she passed away on June 22, 1969.
Arrangement: Correspondences are arranged by month and year. Each folder contains incoming and outgoing correspondence Series I Correspondence
Identification: UA 0030
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Pauline R. Brown Papers documents her activities from 1942 to 1961. The collection consists of communications pertaining to the Cooperative Extension office. Each folder contains incoming and outgoing correspondence regarding home demonstrations and field agents.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0030
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: Pauline R. Brown Papers UA0030. Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
Agricultural extension work—Texas
Brown, Pauline R.
Prairie View A&M University
Prairie View University. Agricultural Extension Service
Series 1 Correspondence
| Box | Folder |
| 1 | 1 Correspondence January 11- February 8, 1943 2 Correspondence February 9- February 19, 1943 3 Correspondence February 20- February 20- March 8, 1943 4 Correspondence March 10- March 24, 1943 5 Correspondence March 25- April 10, 1943 6 Correspondence April 11- April 21, 1943 7 Correspondence April 22- May 8, 1943 8 Correspondence May 12- June 11, 1943 9 Correspondence June 14- July 16, 1943 10 Correspondence July 7-July 8, 1943 11 Correspondence July 9- July 13, 1943 12 Correspondence July 14- July 20, 1943 13 Correspondence July 21- August 4, 1943 14 Correspondence August 5- August 19, 1943 15 Correspondence August 21- August 30, 1943 16 Correspondence September 2- September 29, 1943 17 Correspondence September 30- October 7, 1943 18 Correspondence October 7- October 26, 1943 19 Correspondence October 27- November 3, 1943 20 Correspondence November 4- November 8, 1943 21 Correspondence November 9- November 18, 1943 22 Correspondence November 19- November 30, 1943 23 Correspondence December 3- December 9, 1943 24 Correspondence December 10- December 15, 1943 25 Correspondence December 18- December 31, 1943 26 Correspondence January 3- January 8, 1944 27 Correspondence January 10, 1944 28 Correspondence January 13- January 15, 1944 29 Correspondence January 17- January 20, 1944 30 Correspondence January 21- January 27, 1944 31 Correspondence January 28- January 31, 1944 32 Correspondence February 1- February 2, 1944 33 Correspondence February 4- February 14, 1944 34 Correspondence February 17- March 1, 1944 35 Correspondence March 2- March 8, 1944 36 Correspondence March 9- March 17, 1944 37 Correspondence March 20- March 21, 1944 38 Correspondence March 22- March 31, 1944 39 Correspondence April 4- April 6, 1944 40 Correspondence April 7- April 14, 1944 41 Correspondence April 15- April 30, 1944 42 Correspondence May 1- May 4, 1944 43 Correspondence May 5- May 10, 1944 44 Correspondence May 11- May 15, 1944 45 Correspondence May 16- May 18, 1944 46 Correspondence May 20- May 31, 1944 47 Correspondence June 1- June 8, 1944 48 Correspondence June 9- June 30, 1944 49 Correspondence July 1- July 6, 1944 50 Correspondence July 7- July 12, 1944 |
| 2 | 1 Correspondence July 13- July 31, 1944 2 Correspondence August 1- August 4, 1944 3 Correspondence August 5- August 18, 1944 4 Correspondence August 19- September 11, 1944 5 Correspondence September 12- September 20, 1944 6 Correspondence September 21- September 30, 1944 7 Correspondence October 1- October 2, 1944 8 Correspondence October 3- October 4, 1944 9 Correspondence October 4- October 19, 1944 10 Correspondence October 12- November 6, 1944 11 Correspondence November 7- November 15, 1944 12 Correspondence November 18- November 27, 1944 13 Correspondence November 29- December 7, 1944 14 Correspondence December 8- December 27, 1944 15 Correspondence January 4- August 31, 1945 16 Correspondence October 12- September 30, 1946- 1952 17 Correspondence January 9- November 3, 1953 18 Correspondence May 20- June 24, 1954 19 Correspondence January 3- December 9, 1955 20 Correspondence January 31- December 6, 1956 21 Correspondence December 7- December 20, 1956 22 Correspondence January 3- January 30, 1957 23 Correspondence February 1- February 28, 1957 24 Correspondence March 4- March 29, 1957 25 Correspondence April 1- April 30, 1957 26 Correspondence May 1- May 22, 1957 27 Correspondence May 23- May 30, 1957 28 Correspondence June 3- June 29, 1957 29 Correspondence July 1- July 15, 1957 |
| 3 | 1 Correspondence July 16- July 31, 1957 2 Correspondence August 1- August 29, 1957 3 Correspondence September 2- September 30, 1957 4 Correspondence October 2- October 21, 1957 5 Correspondence October 22- October 31 6 Correspondence November 1- November 19, 1957 7 Correspondence November 20- November 27, 1957 8 Correspondence December 2- December 12, 1957 9 Correspondence December 13- December 30, 1957 10 Correspondence January 2- January 15, 1958 11 Correspondence January 16- January 31, 1958 12 Correspondence February 2- February 11, 1958 13 Correspondence February 12- February 28, 1958 14 Correspondence March 2- March 14, 1958 15 Correspondence March 15- March 29, 1958 16 Correspondence March 25- March 31, 1958 17 Correspondence April 1- April 14, 1958 18 Correspondence April 15- April 19, 1958 19 Correspondence April 20- April 30, 1958 20 Correspondence May 1- May 20, 1958 21 Correspondence May 12- May 23, 1958 22 Correspondence May 24- May 31, 1958 |
| 4 | 1 Correspondence June 4- June 19, 1958 2 Correspondence June 20- June 30, 1958 3 Correspondence July 1- July 21, 1958 4 Correspondence July 22- July 31, 1958 5 Correspondence August 1- August 11, 1958 6 Correspondence August 12- August 30, 1958 7 Correspondence September 2- September 10, 1958 8 Correspondence September 11- September 26, 1958 9 Correspondence October 2- October 10, 1958 10 Correspondence October 13- October 31, 1958 11 Correspondence November 3- November 20, 1958 12 Correspondence November 21- November 26, 1958 13 Correspondence December 1- December 18, 1958 14 Correspondence December 19- December 31, 1958 15 Correspondence January 7- March 26, 1959 16 Correspondence April 3- May 28, 1959 17 Correspondence June 9- June 23, 1959 18 Correspondence July 2- July 31, 1959 19 Correspondence August 25- September 16, 1959 20 Correspondence October 2- October 27, 1959 21 Correspondence November 3- November 23, 1959-1961 22 Correspondence Undated 23 Correspondence undated |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
