Creator: Faith Temple Church of God in Christ Staff
Title of Collection: The Faith Temple Church of God in Christ Collection
Dates: Undated
Extent: .5 linear feet (1 box)
Abstract: The Faith Temple Church of God in Christ Collection contains some biographical sketches written by Arnetta Taylor, daughter of Rev. Robert Phillips. It also includes a note for the land where the church stands. The items are housed with eight other Waller County Churches collections until unique accommodations become necessary.
Biographical Note: The Faith Temple Church of God in Christ dates back to 1966 when its trustees acquired the land (the final signatures were inked in 1967). The property does not belong to this church anymore.
Sources:
Waller County Historical Survey Committee (1973). A history of Waller County, Texas. Waco: Texian Press.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged chronologically in the order in which the items were created. No series was needed since the items are all related to Faith Temple Church of God in Christ's history. The collection consists of one folder with church history documents.
Identification: MSS 0028
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Complied by Idalia Avezuela, March 2024
The Faith Temple Church of God in Christ Collection contains some biographical sketches written by Arnetta Taylor, daughter of Rev. Robert Phillips. It also includes a note for the land where the church stands. The items are housed with eight other Waller County Churches collections until unique accommodations become necessary.
The collection is arranged chronologically in the order in which the items were created. No series was needed since the items are all related to Faith Temple Church of God in Christ's history. The collection consists of one folder with church history documents.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: MSS 0028
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The Faith Temple Church of God in Christ Collection, MSS0028, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
Related Material:
Black Churches in Texas Collection, MSS0016, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Inventory of the Clyde McQueen Papers, Cushing Memorial Library and Archives, Texas A&M University
Waller County Historical Survey Committee (1973). A history of Waller County, Texas. Waco: Texian Press.
African American churches--Gulf Coast--Texas--History.
African American churches--Texas, Central--History.
Waller County (Tex.)--History.
| Box | Folder | Description | Date | Location |
| 1 | 1 | History – Faith Temple Church of God in Christ | Undated | R3/C4/R5 |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
