Creator: Paul Rutledge
Title of Collection: Paul Rutledge Papers
Dates: 1987
Extent: 0.25 Linear feet (1 box)
Abstract: Paul Rutledge, Jr. graduated from Green Bay High School in 1955 and earned both bachelor's and master's degrees from PVAMU. He worked as a teacher in the Cleveland Independent School District for one year, until he received his commission as a 2nd Lieutenant in the U.S. Army and attained the rank of Major. The Paul Rutledge Papers contain Xerox copies of diplomas, letters, and memos related to personal and professional endeavors during 1987.
Biographical Note: Known as a "Go-Getter" with a "Can-Do Spirit," Paul Rutledge, Jr. was born in Palestine to Paul Lawrence and Johnnie Cephas Rutledge in 1937. He graduated from Green Bay High School in 1955 and earned both bachelor's and master's degrees from PVAMU. He worked as a teacher in the Cleveland Independent School District for one year, until he received his commission as a 2nd Lieutenant in the U.S. Army and attained the rank of Major. He also taught at Kelly Springfield in Tyler and the Texas Employment Commission in Palestine. He was a member of Mount Pilgrim Baptist Church and president of the Green Bay Community Center, a member of the Anderson County Historical Commission and Prairie View A&M Alumni Association; he was inducted into the Prairie View Sports Hall of Fame, and he was honored by the Palestine Negro Business & Professional Women's Club as Family of the Year in 1995.
Arrangement: This small collection consists of five items consisting of newspaper articles, correspondence, newsletters, and a diploma arranged in a single folder.
Identification: UA 0031
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
The Paul Rutledge Papers contain Xerox copies of diplomas, letters, and memos related to personal and professional endeavors during 1987. Materials mostly document the Green Bay Community Center in Tucker, Texas.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0031
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: John Rutledge Papers. UA 0031. Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
Rutledge, Paul
Tucker, Tex.
Prairie View A&M University
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 1 | 1 | Correspondence, 1959-1987 Green Bay Community Center Newsletter, 1987 July Letter, 1987 August 16 News clipping, Palestine Herald Press, 1987, November 3 Diploma, Catherine Cloud Warren Rutledge, 1920 |
| 2 | Excerpt from Down Memory Lane by E. B. Evans, undated Prairie View A&M Class of 31 Golden Anniversary, May 1981 Miscellaneous note: Rutledge's speech at the 1952 Annual Convention of the Colored Teachers State Association of Tecax Correspondence from Rutledge to President Becton, undated Memo: to Adele Dendy from President Becton, May 1990 Correspondence from President Becton to Rutledge, May 1990 Correspondence from Elva E. Bradley to Rutledge, August 1990 |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
