Creator: The Village Voice
Title of Collection: The African American Newspaper Collection: The Village Voice
Dates: circa 1971-2004; Bulk Dates: 1988-1988
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
Abstract: The Village Voice advocates free-form, high-spirited, and passionate journalism in the public discourse. Currently, the publication carries on the same tradition of no-holds-barred reporting and criticism it embraced when it began publishing 60 years ago. The publication was Founded by Dan Wolf, Ed Fancher, and Norman Mailer in 1955 from Greenwich Village (New York, N.Y.). Sources: About the Village Voice. (n.d.). The Village Voice. https://www.villagevoice.com/about/
Biographical Note: The Village Voice advocates free-form, high-spirited, and passionate journalism in the public discourse. Currently, the publication carries on the same tradition of no-holds-barred reporting and criticism it embraced when it began publishing 60 years ago. The publication was Founded by Dan Wolf, Ed Fancher, and Norman Mailer in 1955 from Greenwich Village (New York, N.Y.). Sources: About the Village Voice. (n.d.). The Village Voice. https://www.villagevoice.com/about/
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by publication title and chronological order by volumes and years of each newspaper.
Identification: UA 0063
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
The Village Voice advocates free-form, high-spirited, and passionate journalism in the public discourse. Currently, the publication carries on the same tradition of no-holds-barred reporting and criticism it embraced when it began publishing 60 years ago. The publication was Founded by Dan Wolf, Ed Fancher, and Norman Mailer in 1955 from Greenwich Village (New York, N.Y.). Sources: About the Village Voice. (n.d.). The Village Voice. https://www.villagevoice.com/about/
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0063
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The Village Voice Newspaper Collection, UA0063, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
African Americans.
African American newspapers.
African American newspaper editors.
African American newspapers--New York (State)
African American newspapers--Sections, columns, etc.
Greenwich Village (New York, N.Y.)—Newspapers.
Greenwich Village (New York, N.Y.)--Newspapers--Periodicals.
Newspapers.
New York (State)
| Box | Title/Description/Date |
| 1 | The Village Voice, v.33/no.34 8/23/1988 The Village Voice, v.33/no.35 8/30/1988 The Village Voice, v.33/no.36 9/6/1988 The Village Voice, v.33/no.37 9/13/1988 The Village Voice, v.33/no.38 9/20/1988 The Village Voice, v.33/no.39 9/27/1988 The Village Voice, v.33/no.40 10/4/1988 The Village Voice, v.33/no.41 10/11/1988 The Village Voice, v.33/no.42 10/18/1988 The Village Voice, v.33/no.43 10/25/1988 The Village Voice, v.33/no.44 11/1/1988 The Village Voice, v.33/no.45 11/8/1988 The Village Voice, v.33/no.46 11/15/1988 The Village Voice, v.33/no.47 11/22/1988 The Village Voice, 33/no.48 11/29/1988 The Village Voice, 33/no.49 12/6/1988 The Village Voice, 33/no.50 12/3/1988 The Village Voice, v.33/no.51 12/20/1988 The Village Voice, v.33/no.52 12/27/1988 The Village Voice, v.34/no.14 4/4/1989 The Village Voice, v.34/no.15 4/11/1989 The Village Voice, v.34/no.16 4/18/1989 The Village Voice, v.34/no.17 4/25/1989 The Village Voice, v.34/no.18 5/2/1989 The Village Voice, v.34/no.20 5/16/1989 The Village Voice, v.34/no.21 5/23/1989 The Village Voice, v.34/no.22 5/30/1989 The Village Voice, v.34/no.23 6/6/1989 The Village Voice, v.34/no.24 6/13/1989 The Village Voice, v.34/no.25 6/20/1989 The Village Voice, v.34/no.26 6/27/1989 The Village Voice, v.34/no.27 7/4/1989 The Village Voice, v.34/no.28 7/11/1989 The Village Voice, v.34/no.29 7/18/1989 The Village Voice, v.34/no.30 7/25/1989 |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
