Creator: The Chicago Crusader
Title of Collection: The African American Newspaper Collection: The Chicago Crusader
Dates: circa 1971-2004; Bulk Dates: 1988-1989
Extent: 1 Linear Ft. (1 box)
Abstract: The Chicago Crusader known from 1940 to the 1950s as The Crusader and from the 1950s to 1981 as The New Crusader, is a weekly African American newspaper serving Chicago, IL. It is one of two newspapers in the Crusader Newspaper Group, the other being the Gary Crusader. In 1988, the Editor-Publisher was Dorothy R. Leavell. The newspaper was published by Amalgamated Publishers, Inc. Lastly, this publication is a member of the National Newspaper Publisher Association.
Biographical Note: The Chicago Crusader known from 1940 to the 1950s as The Crusader and from the 1950s to 1981 as The New Crusader, is a weekly African American newspaper serving Chicago, IL. It is one of two newspapers in the Crusader Newspaper Group, the other being the Gary Crusader. In 1988, the Editor-Publisher was Dorothy R. Leavell. The newspaper was published by Amalgamated Publishers, Inc. Lastly, this publication is a member of the National Newspaper Publisher Association.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by publication title and chronological order by volumes and years of each newspaper.
Identification: UA 0038
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0038
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The Chicago Crusader Collection, UA0038, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
African Americans.
African Americans--Illinois--Chicago--Newspapers.
African American newspapers.
African American newspaper editors.
African American newspapers--Sections, columns, etc.
African American newspapers--Southern States--History.
Chicago (Ill.)—Newspapers.
Illinois--Chicago.
Newspapers.
Race relations.
| Box | Title/Description/Date |
| 1 | Chicago Crusader, v.27/no.47 4/15/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.45/no.27 11/23/1985 Chicago Crusader, v.45/no.28 11/30/1985 Chicago Crusader, v.45/no.29 12/7/1985 Chicago Crusader, v.45/no.30 12/14/1985 Chicago Crusader, v.45/no.31 12/21/1985 Chicago Crusader, v.45/no.32 12/28/1985 Chicago Crusader, v.45/no.33 1/4/1986 Chicago Crusader, v.45/no.34 1/11/1986 Chicago Crusader, v.45/no.35 1/18/1986 Chicago Crusader, v.45/no.36 1/25/1986 Chicago Crusader, v.46/no.46 4/4/1987 Chicago Crusader, v.46/no.47 4/11/1987 Chicago Crusader, v.46/no.48 4/18/1987 Chicago Crusader, v.46/no.49 4/26/1987 Chicago Crusader, v.47/no.52 5/13/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.17 9/10/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.18 9/17/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.19 9/24/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.20 10/1/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.21 10/8/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.22 10/15/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.23 10/22/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.24 10/29/1988 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.25 11/5/1988 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.26 11/12/1988 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.27 11/19/1988 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.28 11/26/1988 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.29 12/3/1988 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.30 12/10/1988 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.31 12/17/1988 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.32 12/31/1988 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.33 12/24/1988 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.34 1/7/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.35 1/14/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.36 1/21/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.37 1/28/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.38 2/4/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.39 2/11/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.40 2/18/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.41 2/25/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.42 3/4/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.43 3/11/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.44 3/18/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.45 3/25/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.46 4/1/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.47 4/8/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.49 4/22/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.48/no.51 5/6/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.1 5/20/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.2 5/27/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.3 6/3/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.4 6/10/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.5 6/24/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.7 7/1/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.8 7/8/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.9 7/15/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.21 10/7/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.22 10/14/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.23 10/21/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.24 10/28/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.25 11/4/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.26 11/11/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.27 11/18/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.28 11/25/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.29 12/2/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.30 12/9/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.31 12/16/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.32 12/23/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.33 12/30/1989 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.34 1/6/1990 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.35 1/13/1990 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.36 1/20/1990 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.37 1/27/1990 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.38 2/3/1990 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.39 2/10/1990 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.47 4/7/1990 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.48 4/14/1990 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.49 4/21/1990 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.50 4/28/1990 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.51 5/5/1990 Chicago Crusader, v.49/no.52 5/12/1990 Chicago Crusader, v.50/no.1 5/19/1990 Chicago Crusader, v.50/no.2 5/26/1990 |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
