Creator: The Prairie View State Normal and Industrial College
Title of Collection: The Prairie View Newspaper Collection: The Prairie View Standard
Dates: 1913-1977
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (15 boxes)
Abstract: The Prairie View Standard Newspaper Collection is a part of the University Archives Newspaper collection. The newspaper publication has 15 boxes of each copy that were preserved by the Special Collections and Archives staff.
Biographical Note: The Prairie View Standard newspaper was a student publication started at The Prairie View State Normal and Industrial College and was devoted to the educational and general improvement of negros in Texas. The publication was published weekly by the Prairie View College, Prairie View, TX. The earliest copy, in 1913, the managing editor was E. L. Blackshear and the principal of Prairie View State College. The newspaper stopped publishing in the late 1970s.
Sources: Prairie View State Normal and Industrial College. (1913). The Prairie View Standard - June 7th 1913 - Vol. III No. 17., Vol. III No. 17 Retrieved from https://digitalcommons.pvamu.edu/pv-newspapers/1
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by publication title and chronological order by volumes and years of the newspaper. The box numbering is not consistent and currently is housed by the years only on Range One in Room 505B.
Identification: UA 0079
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Complied by: Evelyn Davis August 2023
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0079
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The Prairie View Standard Newspaper Collection, UA0079, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
African Americans.
African American newspapers.
African American newspaper editors.
African American newspapers--Sections, columns, etc.
African American newspapers--Southern States--History.
African American newspapers--Texas--Newspapers.
African Americans—Texas.
African Americans--Texas--Newspapers.
African Americans--Texas--Waller County.
Newspapers.
Waller County (Tex.)
Waller County (Tex.)--Newspapers
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
