Creator: Carrie B Coss
Title of Collection: Carrie B Coss Papers
Dates:1931-1978
Extent:.75 Linear ft.
Abstract: Carrie B. Coss Papers cover the time she spent as an educator at Prairie View A&M University from 1931 to 1978. The collection consists of educational publications, bulletins, and newspaper clippings. After teaching at Langston University, Coss accepted a position as a professor in the Department of Education at Prairie View A&M University in 1946. She was a committee member chairperson for Alpha Mu Gamma Honors Society Organization. In 1972, she retired from PVAMU after 26 years of service, and PVAMU President A.I. Thomas gave her special recognition, along with several other 25-year Service Employees
Biographical Note: Born on October 24, 1906, Carrie Belle Brown Coss earned bachelor's degrees from Howard University as well as Cincinnati University, and she earned a master's degree from Columbia University in New York. She married Robert Weldon Coss in Rusk County in the 1930s. After teaching at Langston University, Coss accepted a position as a professor in the Department of Education at Prairie View A&M University in 1946. She was a committee member chairperson for Alpha Mu Gamma Honors Society Organization. In 1972, she retired from PVAMU after 26 years of service, and PVAMU President A.I. Thomas gave her special recognition, along with several other 25-year Service Employees. In 1989, she conducted the research that provided the foundation for the Texas Historical Marker nomination for Wyatt Chapel Community Cemetery on the north side of campus. She died on August 20, 1996, and she was buried in Prairie View Memorial Garden Cemetery.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in two series. Publications and bulletins and newspaper clippings and Personal Materials and Letters. Each series is arranged in chronological order by item.
Series I Publications and Bulletins
Series II Newspaper Clippings and Personal Materials and Letters
Identification: UA 0007
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0007
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation:Carrie B. Coss Papers UA 0007. Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
African American educators
Coss, Carrie Belle, 1906-1996
Historically Black Colleges & Universities
Prairie View A&M University
Series 1: Publications and Bulletins
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 1 | 1 | Banks, Willette Rutherford, Vocational guidance a definite need; 1931 |
| 2 | Cade, John B. The Negro High School Teachers in Texas; 1932 | |
| 3 | American Association of Land Grant, College, and university convention 471933 | |
| 4 | Cade John B., Rural education for Negroes in Texas Waller County Survey; 1933 | |
| 5 | State Conference on Negro Education 6th; 1935 | |
| 6 | Bullock, Henry Allen, Vocational Opportunities for Negroes in Texas; 1936 | |
| 7 | Traditions, memories romances tragedies of pioneer life | |
| 8 | Bullock, Henry Allen, Availability of public education for negroes; 1937 | |
| 9 | PV educational conference: Historical Development;1938 | |
| 10 | Liendo one of the most historical spots of this section;1939 | |
| 11 | Bullock, Henry Allen, The Texas Negro domestic servant | |
| 12 | Texas University, Prairie View objectives of the university; May 1946 | |
| 13 | American association of land-grant 66th convention; November 1952 | |
| 14 | Educational conference 23rd ; March 1952 | |
| 15 | American association of land-grant 68th convention; November 1954 | |
| 16 | Educational conference 26th ; March 1955 | |
| 17 | American association of land-grant 69th ; November 1955 | |
| 2 | 1 | American association of land-grant 70th ; November 1956 |
| 2 | American association of land-grant 72nd ; November 1958 | |
| 3 | interscholastic league Rules and regulations; 1959-1960 | |
| 4 | interscholastic league Rules and regulations; 1965-1966 and 1966-1967 | |
| 5 | PV retired teachers' association(lost); 1968-1978 |
Series 2: Newspaper Clippings & Personal Materials and Letters
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 2 | 6 | Southern association of colleges and colleges. Commission on colleges. Substantive changes-definitions and policies;1967 |
| 7 | Prairie View. Objectives of the College | |
| 8 | Bowdin College, Brunswick, Maine. Bulletin; 1976-1977 | |
| 9 | Turner, Harvey R., Biography “Pillars of PV” 1969 | |
| 10 | Banks, Wille Rutherford, Article on Death; Oct 1969 | |
| 11 | Banks, Willette Rutherford, Funeral Service Program; Oct 23, 1969 | |
| 12 | Liendo- More than just a home; 1970 | |
| 13 | A prayer at the Prairie View Retired Association Banquet: May 1972 | |
| 14 | National Retired Teachers Association; Dec 1974 | |
| 15 | McFarland, Gay. Liendo: a house and legend; February 1975 | |
| 16 | Burdine, Dorothy I., Biography “pillars of Prairie View” | |
| 17 | Corther, John Milton, Biography “pillar of Prairie View” | |
| 18 | Baker, O.J, Biography “pillar of prairie view” | |
| 19 | Jones, Herman T., Council Report | |
| 20 | Jones, Herman T, Greek Letter Black Fraternity output threat or a promise | |
| 21 | Coss, Robert Weldon, Memorial service for brother Robert Weldon Coss; April 22, 1975 | |
| 22 | Evans, Edward, Article of Funeral Service; July 4,1976 | |
| 23 | Letters sent regarding Retirement: 1972 | |
| 24 | footprints on Prairie View Pathways, undated | |
| 25 | resume | |
| 26 | correspondence from Coss and Dr. W. W. Clem, January 1972 | |
| 27 | correspondence from Coss and Dr. A. I. Thomas, January 1972 | |
| 28 | correspondence from President A. I. Thomas to Coss, January 1972 | |
| 29 | correspondence from Mrs. Clarissa Booker to Coss, March 1972 | |
| 30 | correspondence from President A. I. Thomas to Mrs. Coss, May 1972 | |
| 31 | correspondence from President A. I. Thomas to Coss, May 1972 | |
| 32 | correspondence from Odell M. Walker to Mrs. Coss, May 1972 | |
| 33 | correspondence from President A. I. Thomas to Mrs. Coss, June 1972 | |
| 34 | correspondence from Dorothy Burdine to Mrs. Cross, July 1972 | |
| 35 | correspondence from Coss and Dr. A. I. Thomas, May 1975 | |
| 36 | correspondence from Dr. A. I. Thomas to Mr. H. D. Murdock, August 1975 | |
| 37 | correspondence from John M. Tankersley to Mrs. Coss, September 1975 | |
| 38 | correspondence from Dr. A. I. Thomas to Mrs. Coss, February 1978 | |
| 39 | correspondence from Dr. A. I. Thomas to Mrs. Coss, undated |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
