Creator: Baytown Sun Newspaper
Title of Collection: The African American Newspaper Collection: The Baytown Sun Newspaper Collection
Dates: 2015-2015
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 folder)
Abstract: The Baytown Sun is a newspaper published in Baytown, Texas, United States. It was first published in 1919 as The Goose Creek Gasser.
Biographical Note: The Baytown Sun is a newspaper published in Baytown, Texas, United States. It was first published 1919 as The Goose Creek Gasser. The paper is owned by “Southern Newspapers Inc.”, a news-media company based in Houston, Texas. By 1928, the paper was operating under the name Daily Tribune. Due to the economic pressures caused by the Great Depression, in 1931, the Daily Tribune merged with newspapers in the nearby communities of Pelly and Baytown. The new newspaper was named, “The Daily Sun” and in 1948, Baytown, Goose Creek, and Pelly voted to incorporate into one city. The following year, the newspaper changed the name again to reflect the newly incorporated city to “The Baytown Sun.” The newspaper publishes every Tuesday, and Thursday, a Weekend edition and an online E-edition.
Source: The History of the Baytown Sun. (2016). baytownsun. https://baytownsun.com/site/history.html
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by publication title and chronological order by volumes and years of each newspaper.
Identification: UA 00171
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Complied by Evelyn Davis, February 2024
The African American newspapers collection contains a series of publications from the Waller County and Texas areas and other state’s publications. Each newspaper publication has inconsistent volumes and numbers, and the pages are different as well.
The collection includes newspaper copies of different publications received by the Prairie View A & M University’s John B. Coleman Periodical and Serials Department. The collection has sixteen boxes of newspapers listed in alphabetical order. For each publication, the arrangement of newspapers is placed in separate boxes by each individual title and the smaller editions are housed in a phase box for long-term preservation. The majority of newspapers are black-owned and operated publications except for the “Mexican American Sun”, which has a target audience of Hispanic culture and heritage.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 00171
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The Baytown Sun Newspaper Collection, UA00171, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Baytown (Tex.) Newspapers.
Newspapers.
| Folder | Description | Date | Location |
| 1 | The Baytown Sun, vol.95/no.134 | 07/2015 | R10/C3/R7 |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
