Creator: The Center Hill Primitive Baptist Church Staff
Title of Collection: The Center Hill Primitive Baptist Church Collection
Dates: 1986 – 1989, Undated
Bulk Dates: 1986 – 1989, Undated
Extent: .5 linear feet (1 box)
Abstract: The Center Hill Primitive Baptist Church Collection contains documents about the congregation's history, a service bulletin, and a photo of Rev. Richard Hayes.
Biographical Note: On October 7, 1882, the Center Hill Primitive Baptist Board of Trustees finalized the acquisition of an acre of land off Highway 6 to develop what would be the institution’s house of worship. The congregation gathered for many decades in the building with limited resources, out of which the lack of electricity stood out. In 1978, under the helm of Prairie View A&M Alum Rev. Richard D. Hayes, the congregation began fundraising efforts to purchase generators and run electrical wiring through the church after decades of lighting the evening services and activities with kerosene lamps. Fundraising also funded a well for running water and restroom facilities inside the church. Rev. Hayes is listed as the current pastor.
Sources: Waller County Historical Survey Committee (1973). A history of Waller County, Texas. Waco: Texian Press.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged chronologically in the order in which the items were created. No series was needed since the items relate to the history of the Center Hill Primitive Baptist Church. The collection consists of 5 folders, mostly of church history documents, a bulletin, and a photograph of one of the officiants.
Related Material:
Black Churches in Texas Collection, MSS0016, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Inventory of the Clyde McQueen Papers, Cushing Memorial Library and Archives, Texas A&M University
Waller County Historical Survey Committee (1973). A history of Waller County, Texas. Waco: Texian Press.
Identification: MSS 0027
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Complied by Idalia Avezuela, March 2024
The Center Hill Primitive Baptist Church Collection contains documents about the congregation's history, a service bulletin, and a photo of Rev. Richard Hayes.
The collection is arranged chronologically in the order in which the items were created. No series was needed since the items relate to the history of the Center Hill Primitive Baptist Church. The collection consists of 5 folders, mostly of church history documents, a bulletin, and a photograph of one of the officiants.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: MSS 0027
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The Center Hill Primitive Baptist Church Collection, MSS0027, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
African American churches--Gulf Coast--Texas--History.
African American churches--Texas, Central--History.
Waller County (Tex.)--History.
| Box | Folder | Description | Date | Location |
| 1 | 1 | The Standard Newsletter and news article photocopy (unknown publication) | Summer 1986/Undated | R3/C4/R5 |
| 2 | Sunday Service Bulletin | 07/31/1988 | R3/C4/R5 | |
| 3 | Hand-written History | 01/17/1989 | R3/C4/R5 | |
| 4 | Hand-drawn map with Directions to Church | undated | R3/C4/R5 | |
| 5 | Photo -Richard D. Hayes | undated | R3/C4/R5 |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
