Creator: The W. R. Banks Library staff
Title of Collection: The Prairie View Faculty and Staff Collection
Dates: 1915-2016
Extent: 1.25 Linear Feet (5 boxes)
Abstract: The Prairie View Faculty and Staff Collection is a complication of administrative documents pertaining to previous employees and selective alumni who attended Prairie View A&M University.
Biographical Note: These files were a part of the reference department located in the W. R. Banks Library that was transferred to the John B. Coleman Library in 1985. It is unknown when this collection was started but contains important files on personnel employed by the University or attended school at Prairie View.
Sources: none.
Arrangement: The collection was stored in four one linear footage boxes by last name only. The collection was rehoused for long-term preservation into archival-safe boxes and folders. The arrangement will remain the same by alphabet order from A to Z.
Identification: UA 0091
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Complied by Evelyn Davis, January 2024
The Prairie View Faculty and Staff Collection is a complication of administrative documents pertaining to previous employees and selective alumni who attended Prairie View A&M University.
The collection was stored in four one linear footage boxes by last name only. The collection was rehoused for long-term preservation into archival-safe boxes and folders. The arrangement will remain the same by alphabet order from A to Z. The inventory list will be described by each individual or group name in alphabetical order. The list of names goes from administrative personnel like acting principals (W. R. Banks) to Faculty members (Will Henry Bennett), Librarians (O. J. Baker) to various alumni from the 1920s to late 1990s. Also, various Prairie View Mayors, Waller County attorneys, and groups outside of Prairie View A&M University are included in this collection. In addition, the contents range from unpublished materials like speeches, personal records, involvement at Prairie View and more.
The purpose of preserving these files is unknown, but valuable information was collected on these selected individuals. For the individuals who have separate collections, the folders were pulled by the acting supervisor, Ms. Earles to add to their respective collection(s) like for example any principals and presidents. The remaining folders will stay in the collection and be listed in the inventory section of the Finding Aid. Lastly, this is an active collection that is adding fellow alumni members and their contributions to the collection.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0091
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The Prairie View Faculty and Staff Collection, UA0091, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
Related Material:
The Prairie View Faculty & Staff Directory Collection.
The Faculty & Staff News Collection.
The Prairie View Directories & Handbook Collection.
Employees.
Employees--Books and reading--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Employees' buildings and facilities.
Employees' magazines, newsletters, etc.--Texas.
Employees--Management.
Employees—Periodicals.
Employees--Texas--Houston--Biography.
Prairie View Normal and Industrial College (Prairie View, TX)
Prairie View (TX).
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
