Creator: The Jackson Advocate
Title of Collection: The African American Newspaper Collection: The Jackson Advocate
Dates: circa 1971-2004; Bulk Dates: 1990-1990
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
Abstract: The Jackson Advocate was founded in 1938 by Percy Greene in Jackson, MS. The Jackson Advocate is among the oldest continuously published Black-owned and operated newspapers in the United States. The motto and mission are “The Voice of Black Mississippians”.
Biographical Note: The Jackson Advocate was founded in 1938 by Percy Greene in Jackson, MS. The Jackson Advocate is among the oldest continuously published Black-owned and operated newspapers in the United States. The motto and mission are “The Voice of Black Mississippians”. Sources: About Us. (n.d.). Jackson Advocate. https://jacksonadvocateonline.com/about-us/
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by publication title and chronological order by volumes and years of each newspaper.
Identification: UA 0048
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
The Jackson Advocate was founded in 1938 by Percy Greene in Jackson, MS. The Jackson Advocate is among the oldest continuously published Black-owned and operated newspapers in the United States. The motto and mission are “The Voice of Black Mississippians”.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0048
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The Jackson Advocate Newspaper Collection, UA0048, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
African Americans.
African American newspapers.
African American newspaper editors.
African American newspapers--Sections, columns, etc.
African American newspapers--Southern States--History.
Mississippi --Jackson.
| Box | Title/Description/Date |
| 1 | Jackson Advocate, v.52/no.31 4/26-5/2/1990 Jackson Advocate, v.52/no.35 5/24-5/30/1990 |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
