Creator: The Informer and Texas Freeman
Title of Collection: The African American Newspaper Collection: The Informer and Texas Freeman
Dates: circa 1971-2004; Bulk Dates: 1988-1990
Extent: 5 Linear Feet (5 boxes)
Abstract: The Informer and Texas Freeman is one of the oldest black newspapers published in Houston, TX. This publication started as Texas Freeman and Houston Informer but then merged as one publication, the Informer and Texas Freeman. The publishers of both newspapers are Charles N. Love (texas freeman) and C. F. Richardson Sr. (Houston informer). Currently, the owner is Carter W. Wesley. In addition, the name changes are as follows: Texas Freeman, Houston Informer, the merger of Informer and Texas Freeman, The Informer, Informer, and Texas Freeman.
Biographical Note: The Informer and Texas Freeman is one of the oldest black newspapers published in Houston, TX. This publication started as Texas Freeman and Houston Informer but then merged as one publication, the Informer and Texas Freeman. The publishers of both newspapers are Charles N. Love (texas freeman) and C. F. Richardson Sr. (Houston informer). Currently, the owner is Carter W. Wesley. In addition, the name changes are as follows: Texas Freeman, Houston Informer, the merger of Informer and Texas Freeman, The Informer, Informer, and Texas Freeman. Sources: Kleiner, Diana J. (2022). The Houston Informer and Texas Freeman. Texas State Historical Association. https://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/entries/houston-informer-and-texas-freeman#:~:text=The%20Houston%20Informer%20and%20Texas%20Freeman%20is%20considered%20to%20be,expanded%20to%20ten%20or%20twelve
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by publication title and chronological order by volumes and years of each newspaper.
Identification: UA 0047
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
The Informer and Texas Freeman is one of the oldest black newspapers published in Houston, TX. This publication started as Texas Freeman and Houston Informer but then merged as one publication, the Informer and Texas Freeman. The publishers of both newspapers are Charles N. Love (texas freeman) and C. F. Richardson Sr. (Houston informer). Currently, the owner is Carter W. Wesley. In addition, the name changes are as follows: Texas Freeman, Houston Informer, the merger of Informer and Texas Freeman, The Informer, Informer, and Texas Freeman. Sources: Kleiner, Diana J. (2022). The Houston Informer and Texas Freeman. Texas State Historical Association. https://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/entries/houston-informer-and-texas-freeman#:~:text=The%20Houston%20Informer%20and%20Texas%20Freeman%20is%20considered%20to%20be,expanded%20to%20ten%20or%20twelve
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0047
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The Informer and Texas Freeman Newspaper Collection, UA0047, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
African Americans.
African American newspapers.
African American newspaper editors.
African American newspapers--Sections, columns, etc.
African American newspapers--Southern States--History.
African American newspapers--Texas--Newspapers.
African Americans—Texas.
African Americans--Texas--Newspapers.
Harris County (Tex.)—Newspapers.
Houston (Tex.)—Newspapers.
Newspapers.
| Box | Title/Description/Date |
| 1 | The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.2 1/12/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.3 1/19/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.4 1/26/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.29 7/27/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.39 10/5/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.40 10/12/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.41 10/19/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.42 10/26/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.44 11/9/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.45 11/16/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.46 11/23/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.47 11/30/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.48 12/7/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.50 12/14/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.51 12/21/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.52 12/28/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.18 5/4/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.19 5/11/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.20 5/18/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.22 6/1/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.23 6/8/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.24 6/15/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.25 6/22/1985 |
| 2 | The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.25 6/29/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.26 7/6/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.27 7/13/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.28 7/20/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.30 8/3/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.31 8/10/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.32 8/17/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.33 8/24/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.92/no.35 9/7/1985 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.1 1/4/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.2 1/11/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.3 1/18/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.5 2/1/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.6 2/8/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.7 2/15/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.8 2/22/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.11 3/15/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.12 3/22/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.15 4/12/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.16 4/19/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.17 4/26/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.18 5/3/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.19 5/10/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.20 5/17/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.21 5/24/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.22 5/31/1986 |
| 3 | The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.23 6/7/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.24 6/14/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.25 6/21/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.27 7/5/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.28 7/12/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.29 7/19/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.30 7/26/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.31 8/2/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.32 8/9/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.33 8/16/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.34 8/23/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.35 8/30/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.36 9/6/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.37 9/13/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.93/no.39 9/27/1986 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.94/no.10 3/7/1987 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.94/no.11 3/14/1987 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.94/no.12 3/21/1987 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.94/no.13 3/28/1987 |
| 4 | The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.94/no.25 4/25/1987 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.94/no.40 10/3/1987 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.94/no.41 10/10/1987 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.94/no.43 10/24/1987 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.94/no.46 9/19/1987 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.94/no.47 9/26/1987 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.8 2/25/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.9 3/4/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.11 3/18/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.12 3/25/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.16 4/22/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.17 4/29/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.19 5/13/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.20 5/20/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.21 5/27/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.22 6/3/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.23 3/10/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.26 7/1/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96no.27 7/8/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.28 7/15/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.29 7/22/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.30 7/29/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.31 8/5/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.44 11/4/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.45 11/11/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.45 11/18/1989 |
| 5 | The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.47 11/25/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.50 12/16/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.51 12/23/1990 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.96/no.52 12/20/1989 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.97/no.2 1/13/1990 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.97/no.3 1/20/1990 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.97/no.4 1/27/1990 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.97/no.11 3/17/1990 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.97/no.13 3/30/1990 The Informer and Texas Freeman, v.97/no.14 4/7/1990 |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
