Creator: John M. Coruthers
Title of Collection: John M. Coruthers Papers
Dates:1944-1975
Extent:0.25 linear feet, (15 folders)
Abstract: Dr. John Milton. Coruthers served as a professor of Agricultural Economics at Prairie View from 1937 to 1967, where he conducted experimental projects with farm products, such as vegetable and flower gardens. The John M. Coruthers papers contain materials related to agriculture and horticulture in Texas from 1944-1975. This small collection consists of a few personal items including a funeral program, letters, and programs related to Prairie View A&M University.
Biographical Note: Dr. John Milton. Coruthers served as a professor of Agricultural Economics at Prairie View from 1937 to 1967, where he conducted experimental projects with farm products, such as vegetable and flower gardens. Born on April 15, 1900, in Bastrop County to John and Rosa Coruthers and he attended school in San Antonio, Texas. Coruthers earned degrees at Hampton Institute, the University of Wisconsin, and Cornell University, completed post-graduate work at the University of California, and he also taught at Southern University and Arkansas State. At Prairie View, he served as president of the Community Garden Club, and he directed the annual College Community Flower Show. He died on March 6, 1975, and he is buried in Prairie View Memorial Gardens Cemetery.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in two series by subject and format. Materials are arranged within each series chronologically by date.
Series 1 Personal Materials
Series 2 Agriculture and Horticulture Press Releases and Publications, 1942-1953
identification: UA 0006
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0006
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation:John M. Coruthers Papers, UA 0006. Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
Coruthers, John Milton, 1900- 1975
Prairie View University. Agricultural Extension Services
Horticulture
African American educators
Series 1 Personal Materials
This series contains a funeral form, event program, and letters from 1948- 1975.
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 1 | 1 | John M Coruthers Funeral Program, 1975 |
| 2 |
Correspondence, 1940s Letter from E.M. Norris, September 28, 1948 Letter from J.M. Coruthers to H.S. Estelle, May 20, 1943 |
|
| 3 |
Event programs, 1951; 1970-1971 Prairie View Garden Club, June 13, 1951 Prairie View A &M College Movie Schedule, 1970-1971 |
|
| 4 | Fax paper from Jimmizine Taylor to Atty Marua Kennard, April 2003 |
Series 2 Agriculture and Horticulture Press Releases and Publications, 1942-1953
This series contains printed newsletters, handouts, and press releases on horticulture and agriculture, including newsletters on Victory Gardens.
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 1 | 5 | Farm Services Series Circular. Harvesting and storing sweet potatoes, January 1942 |
| 6 | Victory Garden Reminders, 1944 | |
| 7 | Horticulture printouts, 1944 | |
| 8 | Press Release [hybrid corn outyields], January 30, 1947 | |
| 9 | Press Release [Black eyed peas bring in cash], 1947 | |
| 10 | Press Release [free cotton market service], February 13, 1947 | |
| 11 | Press Release [silage boosts milk production], February 13, 1947 | |
| 12 | Press Release [Gardening and Pointers], February 13, 1947 | |
| 13 | Press Release [Agricultural Fillers], February 13, 1947 | |
| 14 | Plant Disease News, February 1953 | |
| 15 | Agricultural Outlook Charts, 1947 | |
| 16 | Agriculture program agenda, undated | |
| 17 | The Prairie View Standard, May 1939 |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
