Creator: African American Newspapers
Title of Collection: The African American Newspaper Collection
Dates: circa 1971-2004 Bulk Dates: 1988-1990
Extent: 1 linear ft. (40 boxes)
Abstract: The African American Newspaper Collection is a series of 40 publications that were collected and circulated in the Periodicals department during the late 1980s and early 1990s. There are some well-known Texas newspaper publications, but also out-of-state publications primarily in the southern region only. In addition, we have a few international publications from Lagos, Nigeria, and Nassau, Bahamas which are centered around Black culture, arts, and delivering news about Black people. The biographical contents of each publication are described separately.
Biographical Note: The African American Newspaper Collection is a series of 40 publications that were collected and circulated in the Periodicals department during the late 1980s and early 1990s. There are some well-known Texas newspaper publications, but also out-of-state publications primarily in the southern region only. In addition, we have a few international publications from Lagos, Nigeria, and Nassau, Bahamas which are centered around Black culture, arts, and delivering news about black people. The biographical contents of each publication are described separately.in 40 finding aids.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by publication title and chronological order by volumes and years of each newspaper.
Identification: UA 0033 - UA 0072
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
The collection includes newspaper copies of different publications received by the Prairie View A&M University’s John B. Coleman Periodicals Department. The collection has sixteen boxes of newspapers listed in alphabetical order. For each publication, the arrangement of newspapers is placed in separate boxes by each induvial title, and the smaller editions are housed in a phase box for long-term preservation. The majority of newspapers are black-owned and operated publications except for the “Mexican American Sun," which has a target audience of Hispanic culture and heritage.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0033 - UA 0072
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The African American American Newspaper Collection, UA0033, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Acquisition Information: Accumulated throughout the years by Special Collections/Archives Department staff
Processing Information: The African American Newspaper Collection/Papers/Records were processed by Evelyn Davis in 2023.
African Americans.
African American newspapers.
African American newspaper editors.
African American newspapers--Sections, columns, etc.
African American newspapers--Southern States--History.
Newspapers.
Periodicals.
Race relations.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
