Creator: : The African-American News and Issues Newspaper
Title of Collection: The African American Newspaper Collection: The African-American News and Issues Newspaper Collection
Dates: 2015-2015
Extent: : 0.25 Linear Feet (1 folder)
Abstract: African-American News and Issues (AANI) is a weekly African-American newspaper published in Houston, Texas. The African American News and Issues Newspaper was founded by Roy and Sherly Malonson in 1996. The purpose of the newspaper is to address current and historical issues that are impacting the African American community.
Biographical Note: African-American News and Issues (AANI) is a weekly African-American newspaper published in Houston, Texas. The African American News and Issues Newspaper was founded by Roy and Sherly Malonson in 1996. The purpose of the newspaper is to address current and historical issues that are impacting the African American community.
Source: About Us. (n.d.). aframnews. https://aframnews.com/about-us/
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by publication title and chronological order by volumes and years of each newspaper.
Identification: UA 00172
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Complied by Evelyn Davis, February 2024
The collection includes newspaper copies of different publications received by the Prairie View A & M University’s John B. Coleman Periodical and Serials Department. The collection has sixteen boxes of newspapers listed in alphabetical order. For each publication, the arrangement of newspapers is placed in separate boxes by each individual title, and the smaller editions are housed in a phase box for long-term preservation. The majority of newspapers are black-owned and operated publications except for the “Mexican American Sun”, which has a target audience of Hispanic culture and heritage.
African-American News and Issues (AANI) is a weekly African-American newspaper published in Houston, Texas. The African American News and Issues Newspaper was founded by Roy and Sherly Malonson in 1996. The purpose of the newspaper is to address current and historical issues that are impacting the African American community.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 00172
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The African-American News and Issues Newspaper Collection, UA00172, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
African Americans.
African American newspapers.
African American newspapers--Sections, columns, etc.
African American newspapers--Southern States--History.
African American newspapers--Texas--Newspapers.
African Americans—Texas.
African Americans--Texas--Newspapers.
African Americans--Texas--Waller County.
Harris County (Tex.)—Newspapers.
Houston (Tex.)—Newspapers.
Newspapers.
Race relations.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
