Creator: Jehu Vinson Smith
Title of Collection: J.V.Smith Papers
Dates: Inclusive 1946-1953; Bulk: 1946
Extent: 0.25 Linear feet (10 folders)
Abstract: Jehu Vinson Smith was a Texas Agricultural Extension agent in McLennan County.By 1930, he relocated to McLennan County and worked as a Cooperative Extension from 1946-1953. He died in Austin, Texas on September 27, 1967, and his remains were carried back to Waco Cemetery for burial.
Biographical Note: Jehu Vinson Smith was a Texas Agricultural Extension agent in McLennan County. He was born on July 6, 1890, in Yoakum, Lavaca County, Texas, and graduated from Prairie View Normal School. In 1915, he married Lenora A. Jones, and the couple had three children—Charles Atherton, Jehu Vinson Jr., and Theodora. During the nineteen twenties, he lived and worked as a farmer in Brazoria County. By 1930, he relocated to McLennan County and worked as a Cooperative Extension from 1946-1953. He died in Austin, Texas on September 27, 1967, and his remains were carried back to Waco Cemetery for burial.
Arrangement: Records are arranged chronically by date.
Series 1 Correspondence, 1946-1953
Identification: UA 0021
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0021
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: Jehu Vinson Smith Papers, UA0021, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
Agricultural extension work—Texas
Agricultural field agents
Prairie View University. Agricultural Extension Service
Correspondence--1940-1950
Smith, Jehu V., 1890-1967
Series 1
Correspondence, 1946-1953
Box Folder
1 1 Correspondence, 1944
2 Correspondence, 1946 January - February
3 Correspondence, 1946 March - April
4 Correspondence, 1946 May - July
5 Post Cards, 1946
6 Correspondence, 1946 August - September
7 Correspondence, 1946 October - December
8 Correspondence, 1952
9 Correspondence, 1953
10 Correspondence, undated
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
