Creator: John Henley Williams
Title of Collection: John Henley Williams Papers
Dates: 1932-1947
Extent: 1.5 linear feet (3 boxes)
Abstract: John Henley Williams Jr. was a Texas agricultural extension agent from 1932 to 1947. The John Henley Williams papers document his activities as an extension service worker in Texas from 1932 to 1947. Most of the materials are correspondence with county agricultural agents concerning farm and demonstration activities.
Biographical Note: John Henley Williams Jr. was a Texas agricultural extension agent from 1932 to 1947. Born December 5, 1921, in Houston, Texas, he graduated from Hempstead Public Schools, before obtaining a bachelor’s and master’s degree at Prairie View A&M University. He worked as a teacher and coach in Brookshire, Texas, and later became the principal of Cameron High School. He was the first minority in graduate school to pursue his terminal degree (Ph.D.) at the University of Maryland at College Park in 1955. In 1958, he accepted an appointment to the Washington, D.C. Unemployment Compensation Board, recommended by Senator Lyndon B. Johnson. He later worked with the Washington, D.C. public schools, serving as a teacher for delinquent children, a counselor and assistant principal. He completed additional post-graduate study at D.C. Teachers College and George Washington University. He served on a task force to do research at Bank Street College in New York, N.Y. on curriculum development for integrating schools. In 1967, he left the public schools to enter the Federal Government as the first Employment Policy Officer for Federal Housing Administration developing employment policies for hiring minorities. After a merger of FHA and Housing and Urban Development, he became Deputy Director of Special Personnel Programs at HUD, until asked to go to Indiana and assist in organizing the HUD Indiana State Area Office as the first Director of Administration. During his tour of duty in Indiana, he was awarded his terminal degree at the University of Indiana. He remained in Indiana for three years, and he returned to the staff of Assistant Secretary for Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity as a Fair Housing Examiner until retirement. He returned to Texas in 1980 and became involved in an investigation of abused and neglected children where he began the first juvenile program in Waller County, Texas. He was active in the Urban League, N.A.A.C.P., chairman of the Criminal Justice Advisory Board for G.G.A.C., served as Vice Chairman for the Statewide Advisory Board for Texas Commission for Alcohol and Drug Abuse University Teachers Center Educational Council at Prairie View A&M University and member of the Local Board of the Selective Service Board for the Texas Region IV. He is a Phi Beta Kappa, a member of the American Society for Public Administration and a National Citizen He is a veteran of WWII, a member. He died on November 24, 2017, in Prairie View, Texas. He rests at the Arlington National Cemetery, in Arlington, Virginia.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in two series by format and subject.
Series 1 Correspondence, 1932-1942
Series 2 Cooperative Extension Work, 1934-1947
Identification: UA 0022
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
The John Henley Williams papers document his activities as an extension service worker in Texas from 1932 to 1947. Most of the materials are correspondence with county agricultural agents concerning farm and demonstration activities. Other materials are certificates, annual reports, meeting minutes, and agricultural, livestock, and farm reports from the U.S. War and Food Administration related to farm labor, employment, and ongoing issues. There are no materials related to his personal life or his employment in the Federal Housing Administration or the Unemployment Compensation Board.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0022
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: John Henley Williams Paper. UA 0022. Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
Williams, John Henley, 1921-2017
Negro 4 H clubs
Agricultural extension work--Texas
Farming--Texas
Correspondence--1930-1950
Prairie View University. Agricultural Extension Service
Series 1 Correspondence, 1932- 1942
Box Folder
1 1 Correspondence March 11, 1932
2 Correspondence March 9, 1934
3 Correspondence April 8-15, 1935
4 Correspondence April 16-20, 1935
5 Correspondence December 18, 1940
6 Correspondence February 27- December 31, 1941
7 Correspondence January 1-9, 1942
8 Correspondence January 20-30, 1942
9 Correspondence February 1-20, 1942
10 Correspondence February 21-27, 1942
11 Correspondence March 1-10, 1942
12 Correspondence March 11-31, 1942
13 Correspondence April 1-18, 1942
14 Correspondence April 19-30, 1942
15 Correspondence May 1-8, 1942
16 Correspondence May 9-30, 1942
17 Correspondence June 1-13, 1942
18 Correspondence June 15-30, 1942
19 Correspondence July 1-8, 1942
20 Correspondence July 9-31,1942
21 Correspondence August 1-10, 1942
22 Correspondence August 16-31, 1942
Box Folder
2 1 Memorandum, Annual Report, Prairie View, Texas, 1941
2 Correspondence September 1-30, 1942
3 Correspondence October 1-10, 1942
4 Correspondence October 11-19, 1942
5 Correspondence October 20-30, 1942
6 Correspondence November 3-30, 1942
7 Correspondence December 1-30, 1942
8 Correspondence January 6-31, 1943
9 Correspondence February 1-8, 1943
10 Correspondence February 10-25, 1943
11 Correspondence March 1-30, 1943
12 Correspondence December 31, 1943
Series 2 Cooperative Extension Work, 1934-1947
Box Folder
2 13 Short Course Luling Foundation Tri-County, Luling, Texas, July 24, 1934
14 Agriculture Research Bulletin February 1935- October 1941
15 U.S. Extension Service Special Standing Committee Organization in County Home Demonstration Councils. [Washington, D.C.], 1936
16 Farmers Congress, Prairie View, Texas Paid Registration, 1939-1941
17 U.S Department of Agriculture- Plans of Farm Buildings for the Southern States, Washington, D.C., 1940
18 Combined Annual Report Sothern District, Prairie View, Texas, 1940
19 (Memorandum Annual Report) December 18, 1940
20 Training Lather, Prairie View, Texas, 1941
21 Training Leather [College Station], 1941
22 U.S. Extension Service- General Information and Regulations Governing Exhibit and Awards During State Short Course, Washington, D.C.,1941
23 U.S. Extension Service- Instructions for Making Annual Reports- County Agricultural Agents [Washington, D.C.], December 1, 1941 to November 30, 1942
24 Letter, College Station, Texas to Chairmen of County USDA Defense Boards, January 15, 1942
25 Texas Negro 4-H Club Boys and their Part in Production for War Needs. Prepared for Radio Broadcast [Prairie View, Texas], April 18, 1942
26 Tri-County 4-H Boy’s Encampment and Defense Rally Luling Foundation Farm, Luling, Texas program, August 6-7, 1942
27 Producing Heavy Weight Hogs for Greater Profits. Prepared for Radio Broadcast [Prairie View, Texas], October 17, 1942
28 Letter Caldwell County, Texas to J.H. Williams, Prairie View, Texas, July 25, 1942
29 War Letter Washington, D.C. to Farmers, July 27, 1942
30 Sketch of Plan and Summary of Results. Fort Bend County, Texas 1942
31 Request for Authority to make Trip in Interest of Extension Work, Caldwell County, Texas, to John H. Williams, Prairie View, Texas, 1942
32 Texas Agricultural and Mechanical College Extension Service County Meeting for Expanding Leadership to meet War Emergencies, College Station, May 9, 1942
33 U.S. Selective System- Affidavit to Support Claim for Occupational Deferment of J.H. Williams, Washington, D.C., 1942
34 Texas Agricultural and Mechanical College Extension Service Circular Studies in Family Life, College Station, Texas, 1942
35 Letter to all Extension Agents College Station, Texas, December 12, 1942
Box Folder
3 1 Directors for Training, 1942
2 Applications for War- Food Demonstrations, 1943
3 Protein Conservation, April 15, 1943
4 Protein Feed in Texas, 1943
5 Protein Feed Requirements, February 1943
6 Classification of Farm Labor Expenditures, 1944
7 Prisoners in Agricultural Work, March 1944
8 Farm Labor Camps, 1944
9 Minutes of Conference, April 4, 1944
10 Agents in Charge of Club Work, 1944
11 Farm Employment Rise, June 14, 1944
12 Loan Request, 1944
13 Council Forest in Arkansas, July 7, 1944
14 Current Issues on War- Food
15 EFL Form 16 (Revised), July 11, 1944
16 Preparation of Circular Letters, 1944
17 Federal- State Publication Program
18 Special Weather Forecast for Farmer, 1944
19 Handing of Penalty Mail, July 29, 1944
20 Planning Meats for Home Supply, 1944
21 Farm Defense Plans, September 29, 1944
22 Maintaining Employee Wave, 1944
23 Field Instructions, December 15, 1944
24 Farm Labor Agreements, 1944
25 Current News Developments, December 23, 1944
26 Farm Labor Extensions,1944
27 Current Developments, December 20, 1944
28 Post-War Homemaking Education, 1944
29 Promoting War Bonds, 1944
30 Extension Work with Negroes, 1945
31 Emergency Productions & Preservation Work in Texas, 1944
32 Approved Fertilizers for Texas in, 1943- 1944
33 Responsibility of Citizens Groups (Wartime Program), 1942
34 Tydings Amendment, 1945
35 Expenditures in Foreign Countries, 1945
36 Current Extensions Service News, 1945
37 Newsletter (Farm Service), April 5, 1945
38 Food Rationing, 1945
39 Certificates (Victory Farm Corp), 1945
40 Extension Farm Program, 1945
41 Hiring Prisoners of War labor, August 14, 1943
42 Maintaining World Peace, 1946
43 The Bust of Booker T. Washington, May 23, 1946
44 Food Preservation, 1946
45 Atlantic Coast Migration Movement, August 15, 1946
46 Annual Extension Agents Conference, 1946
47 Plan of Work for Agents During, November 20, 1946- 1947
48 Agricultural Outlook, 1947
49 Texas Demonstrations Flock (Poultry Calendar),1947
50 Panel Discussion (Agricultural Outlook), 1947
51 Agricultural Situation Outlook,1947
52 Agricultural Farms (Lager and Fewer), 1947
53 Fruits & Vegetables Rationing (Volunteer Workers), 1943
54 Current Developments, 1947
55 Agricultural Saving Program (Suggestions)
56 Schedule of County Poultry Shows
57 Data on White 4-H Club Work,1942-1943
58 List of Equipment on Materials for County Agents' Work
59 Tanning Demonstration, Prairie View, Texas
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
