Creator: Dawson, Alma M.
Title of Collection: Alma Dawson Papers
Dates: 1976-1981
Extent: 3 folders
Abstract: Alma M. Dawson was the head Serials Librarian in the W. R. Banks Library at Prairie View A&M University. The Alma Dawson Papers documents the W.R. Banks Library from 1976-1981 and includes a library self-study written by the collection creator.
Biographical Note: Alma M. Dawson was the head was the head Serials Librarian in the W. R. Banks Library at Prairie View A&M University. Born February 4, 1943, she earned her B.S. degree from Grambling State University in secondary education, and she taught in the Natchitoches Parish School System. She earned a master's degree in library and information science from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. After she earned a PhD in Library Science and Higher Education from Texas Women’s University, became the librarian at Library at Prairie View A&M University. In 1977, she was selected by The Association of College and Research Libraries of the American Library Association as one of six persons to participate in the Mellon-ACRL Internship Project. Her internship took place at the University of Wisconsin Library, in Milwaukee, January-June 1978. Dawson worked for Louisiana State University Libraries as the library and information science librarian in the early 1980s. She was promoted through the academic ranks to a named professorship: Russel B. Long Professor. She retired as Russell B. Long Professor at the School of Library & Information Science, Louisiana State University in 2014 and was awarded Emeritus status in 2015. In 2019, Dawson received the Essae Marth Culver Distinguished Service Award from the Louisiana Library Association for her professional service, achievements and lifetime accomplishments.
Arrangement: Arranged in one series by subject and format. Series 1: W.R. Banks Library
Identification: UA 0010
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Complied by: Sheena Wilson, March 2022; Revised by Evelyn Davis, March 2024
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0010
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: Alma Dawson Papers. Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
Related Material: W.R. Banks Library Collection
W.L. Banks Library.
Dawson, Alma (1943-)
Prairie View A & M University.
African American librarians.
African American women--Texas.
| Box | Folder | Description |
| 1 | 1 | W.R. Banks Library |
| 2 | Newspaper clippings | |
| 3 | Funeral Program | |
| 4 | Miscellaneous Documents |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
