Creator: Mt. Corinth Missionary Baptist Church Staff
Title of Collection: The Mt. Corinth Missionary Baptist Church Collection
Dates: 1973-2023
Bulk Dates: 1985-2007
Extent: .5 linear feet (1 box)
Abstract: The Mt. Corinth Missionary Baptist Church Collection mainly contains annual Homecoming Service programs and Sunday service bulletins dating back to 1973. It also contains miscellaneous documents, a pastor's curriculum vitae, newspaper article clippings, and other documents. The items are housed in eight other Waller County Churches collections until unique accommodation becomes necessary.
Biographical Note:
Mt. Corinth Missionary Baptist’s exact origin date is unknown. The congregation's first formal organization was established under the leadership of Reverend I. S. Campbell, but the date of organization and length of tenure are undetermined. He began actual services once a month in 1858.
The first church building began services under the leadership of Reverend Wash Walton, but the timeline for this is still unknown. In 1891, a new church building was constructed under the pastorate of Reverend F.L. Lights, but it was destroyed by a storm in 1900. The new building had Reverend Lights as its pastor until 1908. In 1915, a tornado severely damaged that building, and repairs were made under the leadership of Reverend Joe Balfour. Many pastors were ordained at Mt. Corinth until the construction of the currently standing building in 1959, under the leadership of some pastors that have been at the helm of Mt. Corinth, including Reverends L.B Bryant, J. Roland Hicks, and Lloy H. Crosby, among others. The congregation still stands today under Reverend Clarence Talley, Sr.
Sources:
Waller County Historical Survey Committee (1973). A history of Waller County, Texas. Waco: Texian Press.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged chronologically in the order in which the items were created. No series was needed since the items are all related to services. The collection consists of 30 folders, mostly of church services, bulletins, Homecoming services booklets, and some article clippings and newsletters from the Mt. Corinth Missionary Baptist Church services. Some of the materials were found among items from the Woolfolk Collection.
Identification: MSS 0031
Related Material:
Inventory of the Clyde McQueen Papers, Cushing Memorial Library and Archives, Texas A&M University
Waller County Historical Survey Committee (1973). A history of Waller County, Texas. Waco: Texian Press.
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Complied by Idalia Avezuela, March 2024
The Mt. Corinth Missionary Baptist Church Collection mainly contains annual Homecoming Service programs and Sunday service bulletins dating back to 1973. It also contains miscellaneous documents, a pastor's curriculum vitae, newspaper article clippings, and other documents. The items are housed in eight other Waller County Churches collections until unique accommodation becomes necessary.
The collection is arranged chronologically in the order in which the items were created. No series was needed since the items are all related to services. The collection consists of 30 folders, mostly of church services, bulletins, Homecoming services booklets, and some article clippings and newsletters from the Mt. Corinth Missionary Baptist Church services. Some of the materials were found among items from the Woolfolk Collection.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification:MSS 0031
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The Mt. Corinth Missionary Baptist Church Collection, MSS0031, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
African American churches--Gulf Coast--Texas--History.
African American churches--Texas, Central--History.
Waller County (Tex.)--History.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
