Creator: Walton Henry Phillips
Title of Collection: Walton Henry Phillips Papers
Dates: 1943-1947
Extent: .05 linear ft.
Abstract: Walton Henry Phillips, served as the county agent for Marion County until 1925, Navarro County from 1925-1931, Milam County from 1932-1939, and Navarro again from 1941-1943. In 1944, he came to PVAMU to teach his knowledge, and he lectured to more than 3,200 people in the first year. He continued working as a professor of agriculture until his retirement in 1949. The Walton Henry Phillips collection documents correspondences pertaining to Cooperative Extension field agent work between the years of 1943-1947.
Biographical Note: Born on August 3, 1882, Walton Henry Phillips grew up in McLennan County, and he married Minnie L. Chavens in Waco on October 6, 1918. He registered for military service in World War I while living in Waco, Texas and working as a waiter in a hotel, and also registered to fight in World War II. He served as the county agent for Marion County until 1925, Navarro County from 1925-1931, Milam County from 1932-1939, and Navarro again from 1941-1943. In 1944, he came to PVAMU to teach his knowledge, and he lectured to more than 3,200 people in the first year. He continued working as a professor of agriculture until his retirement in 1949. He moved back to McLennan County in 1950, and he died on November 5, 1969. He is buried alongside his beloved wife, Minnie, in Greenwood Cemetery in Waco, Texas.
Arrangement: Records are arranged in one series chronically by date.
Series I Correspondence
Identification: UA 0017
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0017
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: Walton Henry Phillips Papers. UA0017. Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University.
Agricultural extension work—Texas
Agricultural field agents
Prairie View University. Agricultural Extension Service
Correspondence
Phillips, Walton Henry
Series 1 Correspondence
Box Folder
1 1 Correspondence; 1942-1943
2 Correspondence; 1944
3 Correspondence; 1945-1947
2 1 Correspondence; N.D.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
