Creator: The Anti-Apartheid News
Title of Collection:The African American Newspaper Collection: The Anti-Apartheid News
Dates: circa 1971-2004; Bulk Dates: 1976-1983
Extent: 1 Linear Ft. (1 box)
Abstract: The Anti-Apartheid News is a monthly publication based on the Anti-Apartheid movement in London, UK. The Anti-Apartheid Movement was instrumental in initiating an academic boycott of South Africa in 1965. The declaration was signed by 496 university professors and lecturers from 34 British universities to protest apartheid and associated violations of academic freedom. There is not much biographical information available about the newspaper from the movement.
Biographical Note: The Anti-Apartheid News is a monthly publication based on the Anti-Apartheid movement in London, UK. The Anti-Apartheid Movement was instrumental in initiating an academic boycott of South Africa in 1965. The declaration was signed by 496 university professors and lecturers from 34 British universities to protest apartheid and associated violations of academic freedom. There is not much biographical information available about the newspaper from the movement.
Arrangement: The collection is arranged in alphabetical order by publication title and chronological order by volumes and years of each newspaper.
Identification: UA 0034
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
The Anti-Apartheid News is a monthly publication based on the Anti-Apartheid movement in London, UK. The Anti-Apartheid Movement was instrumental in initiating an academic boycott of South Africa in 1965. The declaration was signed by 496 university professors and lecturers from 34 British universities to protest apartheid and associated violations of academic freedom. There is not much biographical information available about the newspaper from the movement.
Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.
Identification: UA 0034
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from the Special Collections/ Archives Department and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
Preferred Citation: The Anti-Apartheid News Newspaper Collection, UA0034, Special Collections/Archives Department, John B. Coleman Library, Prairie View A&M University
African Americans.
African American newspapers.
African American newspaper editors.
Anti-apartheid movements.
Anti-apartheid movements--England--London--Periodicals.
Anti-apartheid movements--South Africa.
Apartheid.
Newspapers.
Race relations.
South Africa.
South Africa--Johannesburg.
| Box No. | Title/Description | Date |
| 1 | Anti-Apartheid News | 6/1/1979 July/Aug 1979 12/1/1979 Jan/Feb 1980 3/1/1980 4/1/1980 5/1/1980 6/1/1980 July/Aug 1980 9/1/180 10/1/1980 11/1/1980 12/1/1980 Jan/Feb 1981 3/1/1981 4/1/1981 5/1/1981 1/1/1983 3/1/1983 5/1/1983 July/Aug 1983 9/1/1983 10/1/1983 11/1/1983 12/1/1983 Jan/Feb 1984 3/1/1984 4/1/1984 5/1/1984 6/1/1984 July/Aug 1984 9/1/1984 10/1/1984 11/1/1984 Jan/Feb 1985 3/1/1985 4/1/1985 July/Aug 1985 9/1/1985 10/1/1985 11/1/1985 12/1/1985 |
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
