Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
John B. Coleman Library Ask A Librarian

Digital Commons@pvamu.edu: FAQ

Institutional Repository

Author FAQ

 

All work submitted to the Digital Commons must be submitted to the site administrator. Please contact your department in order to submit your work, and if you have any other questions please contact us.

Is adding my work to the PVAMU Digital Commons considered publishing that work?

No! As an institutional repository, the Digital Commons is really more of a online portfolio for your work. As long as your work is not peer-reviewed, it is not considered a published work.

Can I submit an article that was already published in another journal?

Yes and no. Some journals will allow you to repost work, while others will not. This all depends on the author agreement reached between you and the journal. If you're not sure about the permissions for the publisher, you can review the publishing permissions that are listed on the SHERPA/RoMEO database for publisher copyright policies and self-archiving.

If I submitted a working paper, but then it's published in a slightly revised form in another journal, what should I do?

Depending on the journal that you have submitted to, there can be no restrictions on working papers that were completed before the article was published through the journal. The author agreement with the journal can confirm that there is no issue with leaving the working paper in the Digital Commons, and having your work in a repository like digital commons would constitute noncommercial use according to copyright standards.

 

Authors FAQ

 

What is E-journal publishing through Digital Commons@ PVAMU?

The Digital Commons@Fairfield E-journal functionality provides the opportunity for any department, school or group on campus to publish an E-journal. 

Advantages of this include:

  1. Journal submission software which makes it easy for authors to submit articles
  2. A fully customizable interface that allows the journal to create a unique look and feel.
  3. A well-structured site including journal structures that include volumes, issues, etc.
  4. Full-text indexing by bepress and search options that include browsing the issues, simple searches within the journal and full-text searching of the content.
  5. Flexibility of the system allows the creation of open access journals or a journal by subscription.
  6. A full fledged workflow for editors and reviewers and contributors that makes the publishing process easy.

 

What materials can I contribute to Digital Commons@PVAMU?

Digital Commons @PVAMU plans to achieve very broad collection development goals for our digital collections.  However as noted above, upon initial launch, content and contributors will be prioritized.

Appropriate content may be added following the guidelines below:

  • The work must be original, produced and submitted, or sponsored by a faculty, student, staff, department, program or center of PVAMU University. 

  • The work must be creative, scholarly in nature, research oriented, or of institutional significance.

  • The author must own the copyright to all components and content within the work, or have received and shown permission to have the material available on Digital Commons @PVAMU. Upon initial launch, library personnel will check for publisher copyright policies on behalf of faculty.

  • If your work contains images, music, data sets, or other accompanying material that is not original work created by you, you must include permission from the original content provider or those items will not be included in the IR submission.

  • If your work includes interviews, you must include a statement that you have permission from the interviewee(s) to make their interviews public.

  • Once self-submission is available, the content producer must sign a permission form prior to material being uploaded to the repository, granting the University the right to distribute and preserve the material via Digital Commons @PVAMU.

  • Contributors may include non-affiliated scholars if they are co-authoring with Prairie View A & M University authors or are affiliated closely with the University.

  • Because deposits are intended to be permanent contributions to the repository, works that are in progress or ephemeral in nature will not be accepted.

    Additional Information:

  • Some material may be available only to current faculty, staff and students.

  • At present, there is no formal limit to size of material.

  • Most file formats are acceptable.

  • Textual files are automatically converted to PDF format during the upload process.

 

John B. Coleman Library
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 519, MS 1040, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Physical Address: L.W. Minor St. / University Drive, Prairie View, Texas 77446
Reference: (936) 261-1535, Circulation: (936) 261-1542
Email: askalibrarian@pvamu.edu

Library Hours