Guides: Scholarly Communication & Institutional Repository: Best Practices and Disciplinary Guidance

Data management

10 Simple Rules for the Care and Feeding of Scientific Data
Abstract: "This article offers a short guide to the steps scientists can take to ensure that their data and associated analyses continue to be of value and to be recognized. In just the past few years, hundreds of scholarly papers and reports have been written on questions of data sharing, data provenance, research reproducibility, licensing, attribution, privacy, and more, but our goal here is not to review that literature. Instead, we present a short guide intended for researchers who want to know why it is important to "care for and feed" data, with some practical advice on how to do that."

less...

Goodman, Alyssa, Alberto Pepe, Alexander W. Blocker, Christine L. Borgman, Kyle Cranmer, Mercè Crosas, Rosanne Di Stefano, et al. “10 Simple Rules for the Care and Feeding of Scientific Data.” arXiv:1401.2134 [astro-Ph], January 9, 2014. http://arxiv.org/abs/1401.2134.
DataONE Primer on Data Management: What You Always Wanted to Know
From their website: "Data Observation Network for Earth (DataONE) is the foundation of new innovative environmental science through a distributed framework and sustainable cyberinfrastructure that meets the needs of science and society for open, persistent, robust, and secure access to well-described and easily discovered Earth observational data."
DMPTool Data Management General Guidance
Guidelines for Responsible Data Management in Scientific Research
Data management is one of the essential areas of responsible conduct of research. This educational course will educate new investigators about conducting responsible data management in scientific research. This course includes background information on the topic, best practice guidelines, how to define roles and responsibilities of research staff regarding data management, how to develop and implement a communication plan for dealing with data management issues among the research team, and how to utilize the information featured in the course to implement a system for conducting responsible data management.
Guide to Social Science Data Preparation and Archiving: Best Practices Throughout the Data Life Cycle
From Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). "ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences." The guide is also available as a website at http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/content/deposit/guide/
Managing and Sharing Data: Best Practices for Researchers
Created by the UK Data Archive, "the UK's largest collection of digital research data in the social sciences and humanities."
NIH Data Sharing Workbook
Workbook to show how investigators working in a variety of scientific areas have shared their data.

Data Citation

Data Citations

Citing research data in a manner similar to traditional scholarly works can help ensure proper attribution, improve reproducibility, improve discoverability, and help provide credit for data as a scholarly output. According to Force11'sexamples of Joint Declaration of Data Citation Principles and the Digital Curation Centre's How to Cite Datasets and Link to Publications Data should be cited as follows:

Include an in text citation near the claims relying on the data in the form of the citation style required by publisher. Additional information may also be included in the in text citation, such as portion of data set used. Force11 gives the example: [Author(s), Year, Portion or Subset of Data Used].
Full citations should be included in the reference list, following the format of the required citation style. Ball and Duke provide a comprehensive list of data citation elements. If no format exists, Force11's examples recommend: Author(s), Year, Dataset Title, Data Repository or Archive, Version, Global Persistent Identifier.
Give permanent identifiers, such as DOIs or ARKs, in the form of a linked URL if possible.
Cite data sets at the most detailed level possible and provide version if appropriate.
When citing a dataset, notify the repository so a link can be added to your paper if possible.

Further Resources

Data Citation and Linking

Data Citation and Linking briefing paper from the Digital Curation Centre in the U.K. Includes information on benefits, roles and responsibilities, current issues, and more.
DataCite

Organization dedicated to helping make data more discoverable, accessible, and reusable.
How to Cite Datasets and Link to Publications

Guide to citation and linking from the Digital Curation Centre in the U.K. Includes required elements for a data set, samples in major citation styles, recommendations on where to include the citations, and more.
Joint Declaration of Data Citation Principles

List of eight guiding principles for the purpose, function, and attributes of data citations. Includes example slides on implementation of the principles. https://www.force11.org/node/4771