Library Guides: Scholarly Communication & Institutional Repository: Public Domain Resources

Public Domain Films

Public Domain Movies
A website of links to films in the public domain by genre: Feature, Comedy, Drama & Romance, Science Fiction & Horror, and Cartoons.
Wikipedia: List of films in the public domain in the United States
"...a non-definitive list of films in the public domain in the United States."

Public Domain Artworks

National Gallery of Art
With the launch of NGA Images, the National Gallery of Art implements an open access policy for digital images of works of art that the Gallery believes to be in the public domain. Images of these works are now available free of charge for any use, commercial or non-commercial. Users do not need to contact the Gallery for authorization to use these images.
Library of Congress: Free Use Images
"This page features items from the Library's digital collections that are free to use and reuse. The Library believes that this content is either in the public domain, has no known copyright, or has been cleared by the copyright owner for public use. Each set of content is based on a theme..."
Reusable Art
Reusable Art has a collection of copyright free images chosen for crafters by a crafter. These free vintage drawings, paintings, and illustrations have been rescued from old print materials in the hopes that a new generation of artists and art lovers can enjoy them.
Wikimedia Commons
This is a collection of over 52 million freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.

Public Domain Texts

The Public Domain Review
The majority of the digital copies featured are in the public domain or under an open license all over the world, however, some works may not be so in all jurisdictions. On each Collections post they’ve done their best to indicate which rights they think apply, so please do check and look into more detail where necessary, before reusing. All articles published under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 license.

more... less...

Follow them on Twitter @PublicDomainRev
Internet Archive: African-American Collection (eAudio texts)
LibriVox recordings of selected poems and essays by African-American authors being read aloud.
Public Domain Poems
Poems from famous writers that have entered the public domain on Poets.org.
List of Black Writers in the Public Domain by Project Gutenberg
A list of black writers in the public domain by Project Gutenberg with linked texts.

Internet Archive

Internet Archive: Digital Library
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Internet Archive -- News Announcements

(Feb. 16, 2019)

"The Internet Archive will be part of a team that is working to address a key challenge for students with disabilities: getting books in accessible formats. This participation aligns with an existing Internet Archive program to make materials available and accessible to readers with disabilities...."

Scholarly Communication & Institutional Repository: Public Domain Resources

Sample Gallery of Free Use and Public Domain Works

Public Domain Films

Public Domain Artworks

Public Domain Texts

Internet Archive