Best Bets!
African American Biographic Database (AABD)
Best Bet
The Largest Electronic Collection of Biographical Information on African Americans. 1790-1950.
African American Historical Serials Collection
Best Bet
This collection was developed in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as part of an effort to preserve endangered serials related to African American religious life and culture. The product of more than 10 years of organizing and collecting materials, the African American Historical Serials Collection is a complete, centralized and accessible resource of formerly fragmentary, widely-dispersed and endangered materials—titles were collected from 75 institutions, including small institutions that had not previously participated in preservation projects. 1829-1922
African American Newspapers, Series 1
Best Bet
A century and a half of the African American experience
A one-of-a-kind record of African American history and culture
African American Newspapers, Series 1:
African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998, provides online access to 280 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. Newly digitized, these newspapers published by or for African Americans can now be browsed and searched as never before.
• Supports African American Studies, American Studies, Ethnic Studies, US History
• Titles, drawn from more than 35 states, provide a one-of-a-kind record of African American history, culture and daily life
• Covers life in the Antebellum South, the spread of abolitionism; growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; rise of the NAACP; the Harlem Renaissance; the civil rights movement; political and economic empowerment; and more.
• Teachers and students will find firsthand perspectives on notable Americans from Frederick Douglass and Booker T. Washington to W.E.B. Du Bois and Martin Luther King, Jr., as well as obituaries, advertisements, editorials and illustrations.
1-MINUTE VIDEO African American Newspapers:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VaLCp1ILHJo
Best Bet
The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1
Best Bet
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1820 presents over 500 titles from 1691 through 1820. Representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic, Series 1 is first of the five series created from periodical holdings from one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The entire AAS collection features over 7500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 1 is broad in scope and covers all aspects of American society during this time period.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2
Best Bet
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 2 presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. The series two is second of the five series created from serials holdings belonging to one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society and featuring about 6500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 2 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3
Best Bet
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. Series 3 is the third of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4
Best Bet
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. Series 4 is the fourth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: A Selection of Primary Sources (Open Source)
Best Bet
A curated selection of primary sources for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, this resource is freely available on the web and to libraries for anyone studying U.S. Black history. Open Source.
Black Studies Periodicals Database
Best Bet
This database draws its current content from international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies and contains full-text coverage of core Black Studies titles. It covers a wide array of humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology.
Coverage: 1900 - current
Civil War Primary Source Documents
Best Bet
This unique archive captures various accounts of the Civil War as it was experienced on land and at sea. The collection provides firsthand perspectives from hospitals and prison camps and reactions to the War from the home front. While focus is placed on the War years, this resource also includes important contextual documents in the crucial years leading up to the War and after the fall of the Confederacy. 1861-1865
Best Bet
The ProQuest Ebook Central offers full text access to over 50,000 ebooks.
Films On Demand - Digital Educational Video (Academic Master Package)
Best Bet
Films On Demand - Digital Educational Video streaming database includes Master Academic Package and Nursing Videos. The database includes the Academic Master Package with subjects including anthropology, art & architecture, communication, counselling and social work, criminal justice and law, education, English, history, music and dance, philosophy, religion, political science, psychology, sociology, technology and society, world languages, biology, engineering, earth science, environmental science, geography, mathematics, physical science, business, economics, and health science, and the Nursing Video Collection.
Best Bet
Govinfo is free U.S. Government information for all, a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch, providing free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Can browse all government resources from A to Z. Open Source
Best Bet
HeritageQuest Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s—that can help people find their ancestors and discover a place’s past. The collection consists of six core data sets: U.S. Federal Censuses, Genealogy and local history books, Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Revolutionary War Records, Freedman’s Bank Records, The LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set
Best Bet New
The Nation’s Largest African American Video Oral History Collection.
Hot Topics (via Access World News)
Best Bet
Current research topics covering key global issues, and people about business, economics, crime, politics, science, health, sports, the arts and more. Can be viewed by month/year.
International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text
Best Bet
IIBP Full Text covers a wide array of humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology among others. See the Title List for periodicals included. Every IIBP Full Text record in the current file (1998 forward) contains an abstract.
Best Bet
Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Updated weekly, with a wire-service newsfeed providing the latest headline stories, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles designed to inspire thought-provoking debates and research papers. Since its inception in 1995, Issues & Controversies has been a core student and educator resource for understanding and writing about contemporary events and conflicts, as well as for debate prep. It also provides comprehensive coverage and analysis every year of the National High School Debate Topic.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Best Bet Popular
Over 1,750 images, more than 300 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 150 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content. 150 charts and tables offer information on everything from demographics to government and politics to business and labor to education and the arts. 16th century to current.
Portal to Texas History (Open source)
Best Bet
The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Created and maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries, the Portal leverages the power of hundreds of content partners across the state to provide a vibrant, growing collection of resources. Open source.
Best Bet
Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 49,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Best Bet
Discover and explore centuries of primary sources: books, pamphlets, newspapers, government documents, and more through one search across 14 databases: America's Historical Imprints,America's Historical Newspapers, African American Newspapers, Caribbean Newspapers, Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation, Early American Newspapers, Series 2: The New Republic, Early American Newspapers, Series 3: From Farm to City, Early American Newspapers, Series 4: The Rise of Industry, Early American Newspapers, Series 5: An Emerging World Power, American State Papers, Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, and U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Best Bet
Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, part III: The Institution of Slavery, and part IV: The Age of Emancipation. Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
This database contains:
5.4 million cross-searchable pages: 12049 books, 170 serials, 71 manuscript collections, 377 supreme court records and briefs and 194 reference articles from Macmillan, Charles Scribner's Sons and Gale encyclopedias.
Links to websites, biographies, chronology, bibliographies, and information on key collections, to give users background and context for further research.
Collections published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, the Bibliothèque nationale de France, the British Library, the National Archives in Kew, Oberlin College, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, the University of Miami, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and many other institutions.
Best Bet
includes articles from more than 80 journals and books about Texas and Texans. Topics include history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business, home, garden, sports and leisure.
Best Bet
The Texas Standard was the official publication of the Teachers State Association of Texas (TSAT) and supported the work of the African American teachers of Texas to gain equality in salaries and working conditions with their white peers. A collection from The Portal to Texas History. Open source
TexShare Databases Portal from Texas State Library & Archives Commission
Best Bet
This databases portal webpage from Texas State Library & Archives Commission provides a complete list of Texshare databases. The links from this page are accessible from PVAMU campus network computers only.
The Independent Digital Archive, 1986-2012
Best Bet
The Independent is a UK daily national newspaper. Since its launch in 1986 it has been one of the most innovative papers available in terms of design and avenues of investigation, while its freedom from party political affiliation and neutral ownership make it unique in British journalism. 1986 - 2012
Twentieth-Century African American Poetry 1901 - 1999
Best Bet
A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
Coverage: 1901 - 1999
Best Bet
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. WorldCat grows every day thanks to the efforts of librarians and other information professionals.
Best Bets!
Best Bet
The world’s largest and most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5.3 thousand full-text periodicals, including 4.4 thousand peer-reviewed journals. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9.3 thousand journals and a total of 10.9 thousand publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. 1866 - current
African American Biographic Database (AABD)
Best Bet
The Largest Electronic Collection of Biographical Information on African Americans. 1790-1950.
African American Historical Serials Collection
Best Bet
This collection was developed in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as part of an effort to preserve endangered serials related to African American religious life and culture. The product of more than 10 years of organizing and collecting materials, the African American Historical Serials Collection is a complete, centralized and accessible resource of formerly fragmentary, widely-dispersed and endangered materials—titles were collected from 75 institutions, including small institutions that had not previously participated in preservation projects. 1829-1922
African American Newspapers, Series 1
Best Bet
A century and a half of the African American experience
A one-of-a-kind record of African American history and culture
African American Newspapers, Series 1:
African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998, provides online access to 280 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. Newly digitized, these newspapers published by or for African Americans can now be browsed and searched as never before.
• Supports African American Studies, American Studies, Ethnic Studies, US History
• Titles, drawn from more than 35 states, provide a one-of-a-kind record of African American history, culture and daily life
• Covers life in the Antebellum South, the spread of abolitionism; growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; rise of the NAACP; the Harlem Renaissance; the civil rights movement; political and economic empowerment; and more.
• Teachers and students will find firsthand perspectives on notable Americans from Frederick Douglass and Booker T. Washington to W.E.B. Du Bois and Martin Luther King, Jr., as well as obituaries, advertisements, editorials and illustrations.
1-MINUTE VIDEO African American Newspapers:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VaLCp1ILHJo
Best Bet
The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1
Best Bet
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1820 presents over 500 titles from 1691 through 1820. Representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic, Series 1 is first of the five series created from periodical holdings from one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The entire AAS collection features over 7500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 1 is broad in scope and covers all aspects of American society during this time period.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2
Best Bet
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 2 presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. The series two is second of the five series created from serials holdings belonging to one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society and featuring about 6500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 2 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3
Best Bet
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. Series 3 is the third of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4
Best Bet
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. Series 4 is the fourth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5
Best Bet
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 presents over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877. Series 5 is the fifth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 5 reflect a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances: a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: A Selection of Primary Sources (Open Source)
Best Bet
A curated selection of primary sources for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, this resource is freely available on the web and to libraries for anyone studying U.S. Black history. Open Source.
Black Studies Periodicals Database
Best Bet
This database draws its current content from international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies and contains full-text coverage of core Black Studies titles. It covers a wide array of humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology.
Coverage: 1900 - current
Civil War Primary Source Documents
Best Bet
This unique archive captures various accounts of the Civil War as it was experienced on land and at sea. The collection provides firsthand perspectives from hospitals and prison camps and reactions to the War from the home front. While focus is placed on the War years, this resource also includes important contextual documents in the crucial years leading up to the War and after the fall of the Confederacy. 1861-1865
Credo Complete Cole Collection
Best Bet Popular
Credo Reference is an information skills solutions provider that serves libraries worldwide. Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research, homework, and other reference needs. Gather background information on your topic from over one thousand full-text encyclopedias, subject handbooks, and current events resources, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. Credo promotes knowledge building, problem solving and critical thinking to give people the information skills necessary for success throughout their academic, professional and personal lives.
Search Tips for Credo Reference
EBSCOhost (Search all EBSCO databases)
Best Bet Popular
EBSCOhost’s Collection provides coverage of more than 500 full text peer-reviewed journals. Covers social behavior, human tendencies, community development, culture and social structure. Updated daily.
Best Bet
Explora is EBSCO's interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with the following features:
Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results
Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic
Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research
Colorful, mobile-friendly design with feature areas that provide context to students
Reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content
Text-to-speech for HTML articles to assist struggling readers or those learning English
Topics included in Explora - Public Libraries:
Arts and Literature, Biography, Business and Careers, Current Events, Geography and Culture, Health, History and Social Science, and Science and Math.
Films On Demand - Digital Educational Video (Academic Master Package)
Best Bet
Films On Demand - Digital Educational Video streaming database includes Master Academic Package and Nursing Videos. The database includes the Academic Master Package with subjects including anthropology, art & architecture, communication, counselling and social work, criminal justice and law, education, English, history, music and dance, philosophy, religion, political science, psychology, sociology, technology and society, world languages, biology, engineering, earth science, environmental science, geography, mathematics, physical science, business, economics, and health science, and the Nursing Video Collection.
Best Bet Popular
All databases subscribed through Gale.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Best Bet
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues
Best Bet
Contemporary Women's Issues features current full text and pertinent backfile coverage of topics relevant to women around the world, including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
Best Bet
Diversity Studies Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. The database is a must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework.
Best Bet
Govinfo is free U.S. Government information for all, a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch, providing free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Can browse all government resources from A to Z. Open Source
HeinOnline -- Criminal Justice & Criminology
Best Bet
HeinOnline’s Criminal Justice & Criminology offers an historical overview of these ever-changing disciplines and their various expressions in American and English law over time. Collecting Bureau of Justice statistics, memoirs of retired Scotland Yard investigators, congressional hearings on drug control policies, accounts of prison life in days long past and much more, this collection explores how criminal justice has changed in America and the effect criminology has had on those changes. It collects government documents as well as rare or hard-to-find pamphlets, memoirs, and books written by ordinary law enforcement officers and not-so-famous criminals. To help users navigate the content spanning these two wide-reaching disciplines, all titles in this collection have been subject coded into 16 subject areas. Log in now to check out the updated collection and new content.
Best Bet New
The Nation’s Largest African American Video Oral History Collection.
Hot Topics (via Access World News)
Best Bet
Current research topics covering key global issues, and people about business, economics, crime, politics, science, health, sports, the arts and more. Can be viewed by month/year.
Best Bet
Infobase Learning Resources: Issues & Controversies, World News Digest, Films On Demand/Digital Educational Video, Nursing Videos, available for PVAMU on and off campus.
International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text
Best Bet
IIBP Full Text covers a wide array of humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology among others. See the Title List for periodicals included. Every IIBP Full Text record in the current file (1998 forward) contains an abstract.
Best Bet
Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Updated weekly, with a wire-service newsfeed providing the latest headline stories, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles designed to inspire thought-provoking debates and research papers. Since its inception in 1995, Issues & Controversies has been a core student and educator resource for understanding and writing about contemporary events and conflicts, as well as for debate prep. It also provides comprehensive coverage and analysis every year of the National High School Debate Topic.
Best Bet
JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. Full runs of more than 2,600 top scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR works with a diverse group of nearly 1,200 publishers from more than 57 countries to preserve and make their content digitally available. More than 2 million primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. The artifacts, specimens, and documents in the collections are scanned at high resolution to enable detailed inspection of each item. 60,000 DRM-free ebooks from scholarly publishers. 18th century to present.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Best Bet Popular
Over 1,750 images, more than 300 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 150 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content. 150 charts and tables offer information on everything from demographics to government and politics to business and labor to education and the arts. 16th century to current.
Portal to Texas History (Open source)
Best Bet
The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Created and maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries, the Portal leverages the power of hundreds of content partners across the state to provide a vibrant, growing collection of resources. Open source.
Best Bet
Full text access to over 600 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from Johns Hopkins' University Press, as well as a growing number of other University Presses and scholarly publishers. Coverage is current with years of back issues varying by title.
Published by: Johns Hopkins University Press
Best Bet
Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 49,500 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Best Bet
Discover and explore centuries of primary sources: books, pamphlets, newspapers, government documents, and more through one search across 14 databases: America's Historical Imprints,America's Historical Newspapers, African American Newspapers, Caribbean Newspapers, Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation, Early American Newspapers, Series 2: The New Republic, Early American Newspapers, Series 3: From Farm to City, Early American Newspapers, Series 4: The Rise of Industry, Early American Newspapers, Series 5: An Emerging World Power, American State Papers, Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, and U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Best Bet
Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, part III: The Institution of Slavery, and part IV: The Age of Emancipation. Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
This database contains:
5.4 million cross-searchable pages: 12049 books, 170 serials, 71 manuscript collections, 377 supreme court records and briefs and 194 reference articles from Macmillan, Charles Scribner's Sons and Gale encyclopedias.
Links to websites, biographies, chronology, bibliographies, and information on key collections, to give users background and context for further research.
Collections published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, the Bibliothèque nationale de France, the British Library, the National Archives in Kew, Oberlin College, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, the University of Miami, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and many other institutions.
Best Bet
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Special Reports (via Access World News)
Best Bet
This portal contains current news resources on topics of people in the news, women's history, sports, political science, social issues, and places in the world. Updated monthly.
Best Bet
includes articles from more than 80 journals and books about Texas and Texans. Topics include history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business, home, garden, sports and leisure.
Best Bet
The Texas Standard was the official publication of the Teachers State Association of Texas (TSAT) and supported the work of the African American teachers of Texas to gain equality in salaries and working conditions with their white peers. A collection from The Portal to Texas History. Open source
TexShare Databases Portal from Texas State Library & Archives Commission
Best Bet
This databases portal webpage from Texas State Library & Archives Commission provides a complete list of Texshare databases. The links from this page are accessible from PVAMU campus network computers only.
Twentieth-Century African American Poetry 1901 - 1999
Best Bet
A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
Coverage: 1901 - 1999
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Best Bet
U.S. Declassified Documents Online, formerly Declassified Documents Reference System, offers access to more than 750,000 pages of government documents. Covering major policy issues from the period before the Second World War into the twenty first century, the archive serves as a convenient source for documents from government departments including Defense; State; Treasury; CIA; and the White House. USDDO supports the study of history, politics, international relations, and journalism, among other fields.
Best Bet
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. WorldCat grows every day thanks to the efforts of librarians and other information professionals.
John B. Coleman Library |
Library Hours
|
