The John B. Coleman Library mission is to enhance the scholarly pursuit of knowledge, to foster intellectual curiosity, and to promote life-long learning and research through our innovative services, resources, and cultural programs, which support the Prairie View A&M University’s global mission of teaching, service, and research.
~ Our Mission ~
PRAIRIE VIEW A&M UNIVERSITY: JOHN B. COLEMAN LIBRARY- Services for Students: Undergraduate and Graduate
About the John B. Coleman Library
John B. Coleman Library (homepage)
John B. Coleman Library Hours
Librarian Faculty and Student Liaison Units
Request a Library Research Instruction Class
Quick Facts (John B.Coleman Library)
History of the John B. Coleman Library
Prairie View A&M University: Legacy and History Videos
Online and Print Researching: Materials
Library Live Chat Service
John B. Coleman Online Catalog (find the call numbers to books)
Library LibGuides (Subject area resource guides)
EBSCOhost- Search All databases (Online articles- journals, magazines, newspapers...)
A to Z Database List (Online: journals, magazines , books, newspapers, conference reports)
e-Journal Portal (Online access to Journal, Magazine and Newspaper titles)
InterLibrary Loan (Access to get library materials from other libraries)
Research Tools (Style Guides, RefWorks, Writing Lab)
World Cat | Area Libraries (Online Catalog of the world)
RefWorks (Citation management)
Use credit card to pay for library fines
Ask a Librarian
Access from Home
Help with Database Access
Library of Congress Classification System: Call Numbers
PVAMU Library Departments and Area Libraries
John B. Coleman Library Online Workshops/Presentations
John B. Coleman Library: Notes
- Interlibrary Loan – Books and articles that the Coleman Library orders from another library may be picked and dropped off at the Circulation Desk 1st Floor.
- Jazzman’s Café is located just left of the Circulation Desk – 1st Floor
- Lost and Found is located at the Circulation Desk – 1st Floor
- Photocopiers/Printer/Scanners are located in the Periodicals and Reference Departments – 1st floor
- Reference Desk is on the 1st floor to answer your research and reference questions. You may e-mail questions to askalibrarian@pvamu.edu or call (936) 261-1535.
- Electronic Reserves – You may put items for your class on Reserve. Circulation Desk – 1st Floor
- Library Public Events Room 108 is located on the 1st Floor after the Jazzman's Cafe on the left-side
Selected List of Popular John B. Coleman Library Online Databases
Articles: magazines, newspapers, journals
Databases A to Z List
- Database: ProQuest
- Database: Heritage Quest
- Database: SAGE
- Database: EBSCOhost/EDS Discovery
- Database: NewsBank
- Database: Statbank
- Database: Alexandra Street Music
- Database: ScienceDirect
- Database: African American Studies Center
- Database: ProQuest Digital Dissertations and Theses
- Database: eBooks- ProQuest and EBSCOhost
- Database: Grove Music Online
- Database: JSTOR
- Database: Lexis Nexis
- Database: NBC Learn
- Database: Project Muse
- Database: Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
- Database: Gale
- Database: Mental Measurement Yearbook
- Database: Taylor & Francis Online Journals
- Database: Engineering and Business and Chemistry
- Database: Agriculture and Sociology, Psychology, Social work
- Database: Juvenile Justice
- Database: Credo Reference: encyclopedia
- Database: Credo Reference: Mind Map
- Database: Kanopy psychological and counseling full length videos
