Mental Health Research and Resources: Helpful Books for Mental Health Research

The aim of this practical and user-friendly A to Z handbook is to enable the interested reader to gain quick and easy access to entries relating to or associated with emotional and behavioral difficulties. It focuses on adult problems as well as those of children and adolescents. The entries clearly and succinctly define and explain emotional behavioral terms and some of the different ways in which emotional and behavioral problems can be approached or treated. Where appropriate, entries are accompanied by a brief bibliography. Useful addresses and contact phone numbers are also provided where appropriate. This guide is useful for all teachers, mentors, social workers, educational social workers, educational psychologists, counselors, care workers, students and other professionals and voluntary workers in allied fields. It will also be of interest to parents and carers.

Featuring new chapters on bullying, sexual assault, natural disasters, eating disorders, and cultural considerations, the second edition of this highly popular Handbook provides a one-stop reference for mental health professionals who face a bewildering variety of school-based crises. Key features include a focus on both prevention and intervention and ongoing discussions of the research that underlies best practice. Like the first edition, chapters follow a parallel structure that includes: •the incidence, prevalence, and impact of the crisis; •theories regarding precipitating factors; •discussion of who is at risk for encountering the crisis; •primary prevention activities; •methods of working with high-risk clients; •developmentally-appropriate methods and intervention activities for individuals; and •developmentally-appropriate methods and activities for groups. The result is an unusually coherent volume that is suitable for graduate work in school psychology, school counseling, school social work, and school nursing, or as a reference work for in-service practitioners.

The narratives of the children and young people, school teachers and school leaders, parents and carers, policy makers and service managers, and mental health workers and professionals, presented in this book, should provide an invaluable resource for all those involved in mental health promotion in school. The insights drawn from these direct field experiences may help to inform policy and good practice and serve as an inspiration to schools in their efforts to introduce and promote mental health for their communities. Most of the chapters present original research carried out in schools, services, universities and other contexts across different cultures. Through various qualitative studies carried out in different cultural contexts, Mental Health Promotion in Schools provides a platform for children, teachers, school leaders, parents, professionals, policy makers and teacher educators, to express their views on what works and does not work in mental health promotion in school. In our continued quest for evidence based research, we may tend to underestimate the value and significance of capturing the views and experiences of those most directly involved in mental health promotion, such as children and young people, school teachers and parents/carers, in seeking to enhance policy and practice in the area. This book should be of particular interest to those involved in mental health promotion in school at practice, training and research levels and we are sure that among these chapters, they will discover many new and stimulating insights into the promotion of mental health in such complex systems as schools. “This is a timely book since mental health difficulties among children and young people are on the increase across the world. The editors, Carmel Cefai and Paul Cooper, are passionate about the crucial role to be played by schools in creating safe spaces in which to learn, develop and socialise. They have spent many years in the development of creative initiatives for the promotion of emotional health and well-being amongst young people. The editors bring an international perspective to the issue of mental health and youth and show how important it is to collaborate and share expertise and knowledge. Cefai and Cooper have assembled an impressive range of authors to share their knowledge and to show how initiatives can be adapted to a range of cultural contexts.” – Helen Cowie, Professor, Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences, University of Surrey, UK

The educator's go-to reference for important psychiatric health topics! This concise, well-researched volume provides school psychologists, counselors, administrators, and teachers with a balanced perspective on the most relevant psychiatric issues in schools today. The book covers: Neuropsychiatric conditions that commonly affect children and questions frequently directed to educators Psychopharmacology, including the use of atypical antipsychotics and autism, the treatment of tardive dyskinesia, the medical management of ADHD, and side effects of common health medications Dietary control and supplement use, the identification and treatment of eating disorders, and use of steroids in adolescence

Teaching is an extremely stressful job and while stress can never be completely eliminated it should not be accepted as inevitable. There is much that can be done to remove the unnecessary stress caused by excessive workload, paperwork, and indiscipline. The author deals with four major topics to reduce stress:• A clear and concise explanation of the essential nature of stress• Reducing your stress with ARC (Avoid, Reframe, Cope)• The basic essentials for good physical health and resilience• The basic essentials for good mental health and resilience.